Free Shipping

Vortex Razor HD 16-48x65 Angled Spotting Scope

Our Price: $1,199.99
List Price: $1,599.00
You Save: $399.01 (24%)
  • Customer Rating: (9 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Standard Overnight FedEx Shipping (not available for all zipcodes) to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 24% $1,199.99

The Razor HD far exceeds performance expectations and earns high praise in the field. You are sure to appreciate the Vortex HD system with a sophisticated triplet apochromatic lens system that incorporates precisely ground HD optical glass to enhance image resolution and eliminate virtually all chromatic aberration. That means you get an amazing distortion-free view with impressive edge-to-edge sharpness. The Razor's tough magnesium alloy body is lightweight, the optics are waterproof and fogproof, and the Vortex VIP warranty will keep the Vortex Razor in the field for generations.

Optical Features
High-density (HD) Glass Enhances resolution, color, and contrast.
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces. Broadband lens coatings.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission through the prisms.
Construction Features
Porro Prism Offer maximum image quality and durability in a traditional design.
Angled Body Design Is favored by users of different heights for viewing without adjusting the tripod height as frequently. The angled design works well when viewing at an upward angle.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Dual Focus Allows for precision with coarse and fine adjustments.
Magnesium Alloy Body Is sturdy and resistant to corrosion.
Adjustable Eyecup Twists up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Sunshade Reduces glare and shields the objective lens from raindrops.
Rotating Tripod Ring Allows greater flexibility when positioning the spotting scope.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the spotting scope.
Fogproof Barrel is filled with argon gas to inhibit internal fogging.
ArmorTek Lens Coating Repels oils on outer glass surfaces.
Magnification 16-48x
Objective Lens Diameter 65 mm
Body Style Angled
Field of View 138-75 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 20-18 mm
Close Focus 11.5 feet
Weight 48.4 ounces
Length 14.1 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • 16-48x eyepiece
  • 65mm angled spotting scope body
  • Eyepiece cap
  • Objective lens cap
  • View-through case

Total Reviews: 9

Average Rating:

My First Scope - 09/23/2015

by Anna from Kalamazoo, MI

I realized that after a few years of birding it was time to get a scope. Price and weight were two very important considerations for me. I was willing to spend $1K plus, but not much more than that. The Vortex Razor had good reviews in my price range. I went back and forth on whether to get the 65 or the 85, and finally decided that the lower weight and price of the 65 would win the day. The scope seems very solid, with clear images. I like the case that fits over the scope, which you leave on. I've been on a bit of a learning curve, having never owned a scope before. I have to remind myself that when I first got binoculars three years ago I wasn't an expert using them immediately. I won't pretend to know more than I do about scopes and tell you that this one is so much better than others. I can only tell you that I don't regret buying it, and hope to get more comfortable the more I use it. Check youtube for videos about this scope...they were helpful to me.

Vortex Razor HD 16-48x65 Angled Spotting Scope - 05/01/2015

by Larry M. from texas

I recently purchased the razor hd gen II scope for my gun and was so impressed with glass quality, I wanted to try one of these. I replaced a swav 80mm spotting scope with this because the swav was too big and heavy. The swav was not HD, but I don't notice any difference in glass clarity.
I thought I'd made a major mistake, because the tripod attachment would not attach to the scope. I'd bought this for a hunting trip coming up in 1 week, so called Vortex, and as soon as they heard my predicament, they got me an overnight shipping label, fixed the scope and had it back to me in 3 days total. outstanding service from vortex.

Everyday Spotting Scope - 03/13/2015

by Karen A. from El Cerrito, CA

As an amateur birder, I have long thought about getting a spotting scope. As I approached my retirement, I began to research options. Years ago I had been referred to Eagle Optics to purchase binoculars, and over the years I have accumulated several pairs, most recently, the Vortex HD Vipers. I have been impressed not only by the quality and price of Eagle Optics products, but also with the service and patience with my questions.

In a spotting scope I was looking for quality at a price I could afford, and I narrowed my search to the Vortex Razor, but which one? After a conversation with an Eagle Optics service rep, I chose the Vortex HD 16-48x65 angled. Perfect for my birding in marshes and along water, not too heavy to carry, and able to see the moons of Jupiter! It has surpassed my early expectations and enhanced my birding experiences, all without depleting my wallet. And the warranty is awesome.

great scope - 08/27/2014

by Craig from st simons island ga

I recently moved to a house with expansive marsh views. on way to a Wisconsin bike trip, I stopped by eagle optics. they recommended the vortex scope. it is perfect for marsh birding. also light enough to take on bike and kayak forays.

Great Value and Excellent Quality - 06/18/2014

by Jan from United States

I purchased the Vortex Razor HD 65mm as a travel scope and have a premium 88mm scope for home use. Although I haven't used it extensively yet, I am very pleased with the brightness and clarity, the smooth operation and responsiveness of the focus knobs and the field of vision. The quality of this scope is excellent especially for the price. I kind of wish it had a 60x zoom but I'm satisfied with the view at 48x. I highly recommend it as a travel scope if you don't need a compact or as an everyday scope at a reasonable price.

Amazing Spotting Scope - 05/13/2014

by Terry L. from Elmhurst, IL

The Vortex Razor HD is amazing. I've used it extensively for birding since buying it last month. A recent visit to Horicon Marsh in Wisconsin allowed me to field test it with great results. I was able to see sharp, bright images of normally shy birds at great distances. With the Vortex Razor, I felt like I was right next to the birds without disturbing them. As usual, the Eagle Optics staff was great in helping me choose the right equipment. Nina even talked me into buying this less expensive alternative to the one I had intended to purchase.

Glad I waited for the 65mm Razor scope - 07/09/2013

by Kathleen from Colorado

I had been reading scope reviews and waiting for a scope that would not set me back $3K, but would rival the better optics on the market. The Vortex razor received good ratings, were lower priced than the European made scopes, an eyepiece is included, and Vortex's warranty is hard to beat. After a comparison of the 85mm Razor with an European scope, I could see why it got such great reviews; but I needed a lighter weight scope to carry around. Then, this spring, I saw Vortex was coming out with a 65mm Razor, so I bought one as soon as they became available in May 2013. It is easy to focus with the dual focus knobs and images are clear edge to edge. It is light enough to be taken afield and comes with a view through case. I bought the 23x eyepiece as well. l have not been disappointed with this purchase and look forward to many years of birdwatching with my Razor.

Best Scope on the market! - 05/31/2013

by Steve from San Francisco CA Bay Area

I have owned one of these for about two months now. In my opinion you cannot find a better scope for the money. Cost is half what the Swarovski, Zeiss, Lecia, Kowa's cost and you can hardly tell the difference especially for my older eyes. It is fairly light, well built and Vortex offers the best warranty in the industry. I had a Swarovski, but returned it in favor of this scope and saved myself a whole bunch of bucks. It is clear and sharp all the way out on the zoom. In short I love it and everyone who has looked through it agrees.

Razor 65mm angled spotting scope - 05/25/2013

by Hector G. from Vermont, USA

For some time now I have been looking round for a 65mm travel scope to take the place of my excellent, but large and heavy, Kowa 88 prominar. I do a lot of birding in the neotropics and lugging the Kowa up and down mountain trails can be a bit wearing. Also, it takes up a lot of room in my carry-on. So, I was looking for a light 65mm scope with a good zoom lens that preferably zoomed down to less than 20 ( to provide the wide fov necessary for picking out birds in the canopy). At first I thought of a swaro 65, but was put off by the sticker shock for what would be essentially a scope that I'd use only sporadically. Then, I heard good things about vortex and decided to try one out. I ordered the 65mm angled with a zoom from 16 to 48 power and took it for a spin. I was blown away by the quality of the instrument. Not only does it meet my specs in terms of size, weight, fov, and magnification, but the sheer quality of the image is astonishing for a scope that is half the price of the bigger ticket kowas, zeiss, leicas, or swaros. It has me asking myself - how can the latter justify their much higher prices. So, would I recommend this scope ? My answer would be an unqualified yes. It now has me thinking that if the quality of the vortex scopes is so good maybe I should also be checking out their binoculars!

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: