Free Shipping

Vortex Diamondback 8x42 Binocular

BIN-VT-D248
Our Price: $219.99
List Price: $269.00
You Save: $49.01 (18%)
  • Customer Rating: (53 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Standard Overnight FedEx Shipping (not available for all zipcodes) to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 18% $219.99

The 42mm Diamondback delivers the best of everything in a rugged package at a suprisingly affordable price. Phase corrected, BaK-4 prisms and fully multi-coated optics deliver bright views with distinctive detail and sharp resolution. Customers approve of the comfortable eyecup design and the ergonomically balanced feel. With waterproofing and fogproofing, you won't worry about rain, snow, heat, or cold. Vortex's VIP Warranty means your Diamondback is meant to last for generations.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Adjustable Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with argon gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 420 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 18 mm
Close Focus 4.5 feet
Weight 25.2 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.9 x 5.6 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Custom molded case

Total Reviews: 53

Average Rating:

Happy with new binoculars - 08/25/2011

by Bancroft from Chagrin Falls, OH

Thank you for the new binoculars. They were recommended by a friend and I am very happy with them.

Good all around binos - 08/11/2011

by Sergio from Miami, Fl

I was in the market for a relatively inexpensive pair of binos that could do a little bit of everything. I am glad to say that these Vortex Diamondbacks fill the bill quite nicely. I used them at the zoo where they got me much closer to the animals. The views were crisp and clear and they were also really comfortable. I also got to use them during my recent vacations to Canyonlands National Park where I did a little bit of binocular astronomy. I would recommend these to someone like myself who is not a hard core birder and is looking for an all around good pair of binos for many applications. Can't wait to use them at Miami Dolphins games.

one wasn't enough - 08/10/2011

by patricia from cooperstown, ny

This is, in fact, the second Vortex Diamondback I have bought from Eagle. The first pair were for me, and they were perfect. I never left home without them. Of course, when I took them to the shore to visit my sister and watch ospreys, I was the object of much envy. Everyone agreed they were dramatically better than any binoculars previously experienced, and so easy to use. So these were purchased as a 65th birthday present to my sister, who was overjoyed.

First Pair of Binoculars - 07/29/2011

by Stephen from White, GA

I just bought this pair of binoculars from Eagle Optics. They were delivered two days after my purchase; GREAT! I started narrowing my search to American made - Vortex met that criteria. Then I read tons of reviews on which magnification for bird watching - since that's what I plan on using my binoculars for. There seemed to be an overwhelming consensus among birdwatchers to go with 8x's. After 10 minutes of use I wish I had chose 10x's. My feeders are between 20 and 30 yards from my porch and I just don't get as much detail as I was hoping for.

Now for the quality of build: very clear, nicely bright, easy to adjust,and feel extremely well constructed.With the wide view of the 8x's - following birds is easy to do. I can even follow my hummingbirds a little bit.

I think I made a good choice in brand and will soon buy another pair of Vortex but at a 10x's magnification.

Vortex Diamondack 8 x 42 Bino Review - 07/10/2011

by Rick from Indianapolis IN

Rec'd for Father's Day (my family loves me). I was looking for a smaller general purpose bino for birding, sporting events, etc. I've owned a pair of Celestron 9 x 63 binos for about 6 years (really awesome)that I use for astronomy, but they're a bit too big to take to a football game in December. I just completed a side by side comparison of the V-Diamondacks vs. my Wife's Celestron Noble 8 x 42's that she's had for 2 and 1/2 years, binoculars that we absolutely love. The comparison was done in bright sunlight in my backyard, looking in and around our three bird feeders from 75 feet or so. General comments:
1) The Vortex binos are thicker, not really heavier, but easier to hold as a result. Both are wrapped in a rubbery coating and are easy to hold. The Vortex D's have a much more comfortable neck strap. It's about 3/8" wider that the Celestron strap and much softer. It has a rubberized insert that contacts your neck/shirt collar and it stays right in place.
2) Both center focus knobs turn easily but controlled. Both were easy to focus.
3) The center swivel was stiffer on the Vortex binos. Many might prefer this as, once they are set for your eyes, they stay put. I like that. However, if you're handing them back and forth between two people, then I'd probably find the Celestron's easier in this area. They move more easily and VERY smoothly.
4) Both binos have connected eyepiece covers, but the Vortex fit more snugly and stay on more solidly.
5) The objective covers are better with the Vortex binos. Two individual caps cover the Celestron objectives, they're not connected to anything or each other, and they simply fall off way to easily and frequently. The Vortex bino caps are tethered to the binocular with a rubbery O-ring. The caps themselves, of the same material, fit snuggly around the outside of the objective and stay in place. I like these a lot. When you take them off the objective, thay hand down off the front of the bino. Again, this is good since you don't have to figure out where to stash them, or when you want to put them back on, which pocket you stuck them in. They can be easily removed, though, if you just don't like the look of them hanging off the bino.
6) The views through both of these binoculars are bright and crisp. As I said, we love the Celestron Nobles, but I did find the Vortex D's to be crisper at focus. It was noticeable to my 53-year old eyes. Both of these, though, are very pleasing to look through. Also noteworthy was the sharpness toward the edges; the Vortex D's had a bit of an advantage as you move your eye away from dead center of the image vs. the Celestron binos. However, in field use, as objects move away from the center of the field of view, I always seem to move the bino and not my eye, so I personally don't think this is much of a issue. I tend to look through the middle 50% of the glass ( I think we all do) and both were sharp.
7) Both of these binos have excellent eye relief. I have to wear my glasses when viewing through a binocular, and I can comfortably and easily see the entire field of view through both.
8) Light reflection/scatter - this is one area where I found the Celestron's superior. As I said, I was in my backyard in bright sunlight, which was roughly 70 to 80 degrees up and to my right. This allowed very bright sunlight to hit the very inside front lip of the bino, near the objective, and bounce the light back into the glass. Both binos showed circular light reflections in the bottom left of the view. But, here's the difference: the Vortex D material is grooved, shiny black and the Celestron is grooved, matte black. As a result, the reflected light was more diffuse and less objectionable with the Celestron. It certainly didn't wreck the view, but in that lighting scenario, which is as harsh as it gets, the Celestron's had an edge. When I looked at objects where direct sunlight didn't hit the edge of the bino, naturally all reflections were gone in both binoculars. This was a difference noted under extreme lighting, but worth mentioning. It is something I think the Vortex folks should consider improving, i.e. eliminating reflective material right beside the objective. The Celestron folks got this one figured out. Oddly, outside of the glass, it's the only reflective material anywhere on the Vortex D bino. I think this is one that slipped past the Vortex design team.

Conclusion:
The Vortex D's are not cheap, but they're not $850 either. If you're looking to give someone a high-quality product at a reasonable price that will satisfy them for many, many years, I absolutely recommend these binoculars. I told you my family loves me!

Great Choice - 06/24/2011

by Pat from Oregon

The binocs are light and easy to have around my neck. I like the covers over the lenses which make it easier not to get them lost. The case is sturdy and good protection for the binocs. The view is clear and wonderful for bird watching. I actually could see a beautiful eagle that was very far away on the top of a tree the other day. I will recommend to friends.

good for wife - 05/17/2011

by Glenn K. from United States

I bought the Vortex Diamondback 8x42 binoculars for my wife who has always had problems looking through binoculars. She was able to follow the easy to use instructions, adjust them to her needs, and begin using them immediately. A good and recommendable purchase.

Excellent Birding Binoculars! - 05/13/2011

by Rob from Michigan

I have now purchased two pairs of Vortext Diamondback 8x42 binoculars. The first were for me, the next for my undergraduate research students to use during their field research this summer. The optics are clear and crisp, focusing is not super fast like some binoculars, but the fine focus ability is fantastic and really makes the birds pop into focus. The objective lens covers can slip off when working through brushy cover, but that's minor. I would highly recommend these binoculars to any level of birder.

Nice!!! - 04/11/2011

by Raptors Rule from New Mexico

I bought these to use as a "house" binocular. We have several pair of good binos in the house incl West Germany Zeiss 10x40 and Nikon Monarch. These binos are really good and fantastic for the price. I'd have no issue at all using these as my only binoculars. They are very bright and clear with generous eye relief (I wear glasses). They are ergonomically nice, too, and fit the hand comfortably.

Tambopata/Diamondbacks - 03/11/2011

by Spence from Missouri

Went to Peru birdwatching with my Vortex Diamondbacks and a pair of Vipers. At the end of the trip our jungle guide was so impressed with the Diamondbacks he made me an offer to buy so I sold and I'm back to buy another pair.The guide looks at birds and other wildlife day in and day out and his impression with the Diamondbacks speaks volumes.

Clarity, value, and excellent price - 01/04/2011

by Dominick from Elgin, Texas

On recommendation from a professional birder, I purchased the Vortex Diamondback as a Christmas gift for my fiance. We had been using my 10-year old Nikon 8X42 binocular which were good, but image clarity was not at a level good enough to accurately identify birds at more than 6- or 700 feet.
We compared our new Diamondback with the my Nikon and were blown away with the crisp clarity of images at far greater distances, even on cloudy days. Light weight, easy focus and facial adjustment all add up to exceptional quality, function, and fit at an exceptional price. Could not beat the value for the price tag.

Thanks Santa - 12/25/2010

by matthew from United States

I have been wanting to upgrade my binoculars for some time now.And got some help on xmas!I have had steiner safari 8x22's for years now and like the compact size for bowhunting. But they lack big time in low light and clarity. So I did some research and landed on the diamondbacks. Wow what a up grade. I know its not comparing apples to apples. But its still good to see a u.s based company make a great product with a really great warranty. Its good to know you don't have to spend a grand or more to get great quality that the company stands behind.

Excellent Value for All The Features - 12/10/2010

by Glenn from Pacifica, CA

So were these Diamondback possibly an upgrade to an excellent pair of Eagle Optics Denali binoculars? Yes! The Denali's are certainly moderately less expensive and a terrific value on their own. So I wondered for a year if the Diamondbacks were worth the difference. This year I made the jump (wondering all the time if I'd notice any real differences) and am very glad I did.

So to really compare the low light differences, I compared these at night, looking at stars, clouds, distant city lights, and the halo around the moon. These Diamondbacks are noticeably better in low light (e.g. clearer faint clouds), so either the glass and/or coatings are better. I also noticed in interior lighting that their color rendition is cleaner (less yellowish) than the Denali's.

The very close focus (4.5 ft. vs. 7 on the Denali's) and the really wide field of view (420 vs 408) make this an excellent value and a true upgrade. Love the rounded eye cups but, as others have noted, Vortex really needs to create tighter lens covers for both ends.

DIAMONDBACK VORTEX REVIEW - 07/28/2010

by TED EATON from CHICAGO

EXCELLENT BINOCULARS. CLOSE FOCUS-GOOD OPTICS-GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE-THEY WERE A GIFT FOR MY DAUGHTER-SHE LOVES THEM.
I WAS SURPISED TO SEE THEM THE DAY AFTER I ORDERED THEM I WILL GET ANOTHER PAIR THIS FALL.

Vortex Diamondback binoculars - 06/23/2010

by Barbara Cole from Orlando Fl

Just ordered these as a birthday gift to myself. Excellent binoculars for the price. Image is very bright, clear and sharp. The focus knob is a little stiff in turning but I have arthritis so that probably doesn't help much. Very satisfied and highly recommend them!

New binocs for my son - 06/19/2010

by Mary Belle Royer from Cedar City, Utah

I purchased the Vortex Diamondback 8 x 42 for my 18 year old son. He is doing a lot of outdoor activities and needed a better, more reliable pair of binoculars. He is very happy with his new binocs. I have borrowed them and may purchase a pair for myself soon.
I would recommend this pair of binoculars for a non-professional naturalist.

Great for Birding - 05/20/2010

by Dave from Illinois, Chicago Suburbs

My neighbor, who is an environmental engineer, recommended Eagle and Vortex.

He is working with my daughter (12) and I to get into birding.

Great upgrade to what we were using. Beautiful clarity and field of vision.

Helps to find the little birds hidden in the trees.

We have identified 60 birds since March for her Life List.

Eagle was great to work with.

We're thinking of a second pair so we won't have to share.

ps: Check out Peterson's Bird app on the iStore. Best $2.99 I have ever spent.

Great Binos! - 04/25/2010

by Mike Martin from Mt. Carroll, IL

I'm an amateur astronomer and only recently a birder. I'm recently retired and wanted a nice (not too expensive) pair of binoculars for birding. These Vortex Diamondbacks are impressive for the money. The clarity of the optics was amazing. The padded neckstrap and zippered clamshell case were nice touches as well. Unfortunately the manual succumbed to my standard poodle puppy. I hope I can get another manual from Eagle Optics.

Excellent Binoculars! - 04/19/2010

by Len from Cranbrook, British Columbia

I bought the 8x42 Diamondback binoculars last year on the advice of a friend and have not looked back!
I use them primarily for hunting and they are awesome to look through for extended periods of time as your are spotting for animals.
They work great for those low light conditions at dawn and dusk.

Diamondback - 03/29/2010

by Bernard P. Giroux from S. Dartmouth, MA

These binoculars deliver more than expected in terms of clarity, ease of use, field of vision, field weight and other factors. For the money, these glasses are exceptional. I am now thinking about a pair for myself, since this first pair were a gift.

Outstanding value for the price! - 09/10/2009

by Kevin Cross from New York

These are high quality binoculars and are ideal for eyeglass wearers. I used them while hiking & kayaking in the Adirondack Mts and their performance was superb. Images are very steady at distance and bright (even in subdued light). The neck strap is very comfortable. Minor problems; the tethered lens covers can detach easily if you're not careful and I watched one sink to the bottom of the lake. Luckily, replacements are readily available from Eagle Optics. Also the diopter wheel is stiff to operate. Overall I am very happy with my purchase.

Astoundingly good - 07/01/2009

by Michael Proseus from Upstate NY

I was looking for a quality roof prism bino for general nature viewing. I considered the Nikon Monarch and the Leupold Cascades before talking to one of Eagle's product advisors. He suggested the Vortex Diamondback, which costs 25%-30% less. I bought a pair. They are better than the Monarchs and the Cascades, in my opinion. They're very well made, smooth focusing, bright, clear, sharp throughout the entire field, and have great color rendition thanks to the phase correction. They're everything I was looking for, and at an unbeatable price. Eagle's customer service is top-notch, and their prices are great as well!

Crystal Clear - Easy Grip - 06/07/2009

by David Carrera4 from Canton, MI

I decided to upgrade from poro-prism binos to the Diamondbacks, what a smart move. These low priced roof prism binos are crystal clear and bright. Compared to my Nikon Naturalist binos, these are an order of magnitude better. Maybe the Razor is sharper or brighter, but I cannot see how. They have a nice wide field of view which was important to me. The twist down eye cups are firm with a detent in the middle position. I can use these with or without my glasses. The diopter adjust is nicely done and holds its position. There are grippy fingers molded into the rubbor armor that feel nice to the touch - these binos are well balanced and easy to grip and don't feel too heavy. The thumbwheel requires more than one rev to focus, but feels great and steady. The neck strap has a wide comfy area for the back of the neck. The lens caps can stay with the bino - which is a nice feature. For the price, these have to be at the top of their class - maybe surpassing many many higher priced products.

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: