Free Shipping

Vortex Diamondback 8x28 Binocular

COM-VT-D2808
On Sale!
Sale Price: $99.99
List Price: $189.00
You Save: $89.01 (47%)
  • Customer Rating: (19 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 47% $99.99

The 28mm Diamondback delivers the best of everything in a lightweight, rugged package. Distant details are enhanced through the phase corrected BaK-4 prisms and fully multi-coated optics. Customers approve of the comfortable eyecup design and the ergonomically balanced feel. With waterproofing and fogproofing, you won't worry about rain, snow, heat, or cold. Vortex's VIP warranty means your Diamondback is meant to last for generations.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Adjustable Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with argon gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 28 mm
Field of View 360 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 19.3 mm
Close Focus 13.1 feet
Weight 14.0 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 4.8 x 4.5 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 19

Average Rating:

Very nice binocular. - 05/17/2016

by Janet T. from Macedon N.Y.

I am very happy with my new Vortex 8x28 Binocular. I am also pleased with the experience with ordering them from eagle optics. The binoculars are great for bird watching, which is what I wanted them for. I will recommend this product and eagle optics to my friends and family.

Vortex Diamondback 8x28 Binocular - 05/13/2016

by Frank C. from Pennsylvania

Binoculars are well made. I like the rubber coating and how clear the lenses are. Excellent field of view for a compact binocular. Also they come with a nice nylon case.

Great small binoculars - 04/21/2016

by Birder north of Tulsa from Oklahoma

I bought my first pair of birding binoculars from Eagle Optics and was very impressed by their knowledge and service. So when I decided to get smaller, "travel" binoculars, Eagle Optics was my first choice. They did a super job of explaining again what all the data really means. These binoculars are light, compact and do a great job. But nearly as important, they are the only ones I found that have lens covers that attach. This is vital as I have lost lens covers in the past which weren't attached. I am very happy with them and also their lifetime guarantee is great.

vortex 8x28 Diamonback binocular - 03/30/2016

by James L. from Maryland

I love the size, weight and shape. The optics are bright and the field of view plenty large enough. I wear glasses and I could easily see the entire field of view but without seeming to be looking down a pipe. Probably my pair were faulty in that they had a large amount of slop in the focus. That focus was fast enough but not too fast - just right. The center resolution was almost equal to my Atlas Radians (very good and inexpensive) but the sweet spot was very much smaller. That was bothersome although the drop off in resolution was fairly gradual. I returned them primarily because of the focusing slop and the small sweet spot. What I have read about the viper version leads me to expect that it is much better - but at about twice the price. However, I liked the physical characteristics so much I may try them. EO is THE place to go for binoculars and their warranty is superb.

Nice binoculars for the price - 03/18/2016

by John M. from Tucson AZ

I wanted a second pair of binoculars for travelling as my 10x42 Nikons are pretty big. These Vortex 8x28 are perfect as they are compact and light. The optics are good too. I think I'll be quite pleased with them.

Good Quality Good Price - 03/16/2016

by James R. from Blair, Ne

We purchased two pair of the Vortex Diamondback 8x28 binoculars for bird watching and upcoming trips to Yellowstone and the Badlands. We do quite a bit of hiking/walking and wanted something that was light enough to pack around, good quality optics and ease of operation at a good price. The Vortex Diamondback met all of these criteria. We did a lot of research and found Eagle Optics price beat anything else we could find. Very pleased with our experience with them so far and look forward to getting a little closer look at those elk and wolves when we make our track through Yellowstone.

Outstanding Binoculars - 03/01/2016

by Bob from Hudson Valley, N.Y.

These Vortex Diamondback 8 x 28 mm binoculars are great ! For a compact binocular you can't beat them. Excellent eye relief, clarity and brightness (for a compact binocular) even in low light conditions. Of course they don't have quite the brightness of a larger objective lens but I was pleasantly surprised with these. I use them for birding and general viewing when hiking. I also have a pair of Vortex Diamondback 8 x 42 mm binoculars which I absolutely love. They give you a nice wide field of view, brighter image (better than the 10 x 42 mm) and less image movement. These are my main "go to" binoculars (excellent for birding and general viewing). Anyway, if you're looking for a nice compact binocular - I would highly recommend these 8 x 28's. I don't think you'll be disappointed.
One last thing. You can't beat the Vortex unlimited lifetime warranty. Free lifetime repair or replacement. Try finding that somewhere today.

A great little binocular - 02/25/2016

by Jeanne B. from Tucson, AZ

I was looking for a light-weight compact binocular that I could use for bird-watching. I did not want to spend over $200. This Vortex Diamondback 8x28 met all my requirements. The optical quality is quite good and the birds' colors are clear.
There are a few minor points, which I am sure I can get adjusted to. The eye relief is rather long, which means I need to hold the binocular out from my eyes a little more than I am used to. I wear glasses, and can get a good view using my glasses and the eyecups all the way in, but I get a wider view without my glasses. The focus knob is in a different place from where I was expecting to find it, but again this is a matter of getting accustomed to this binocular. It seems like the close focus is more like 10 ft.
It's really a great little binocular. The more I use it, the better I like it. It's small enough that I can put it in my purse and take it to the opera, or on the airplane. I really like the light weight also. I bought the harness at the same time, and using the harness with the binocular makes it easy to carry.

Vortex Diamondback 8x28 binoculars - 01/19/2016

by Joe V. from Brooklyn N.Y.

Very good optics, satisfied, these are my go-to binoculars in car. I would consider a pair of 8x42s, but I already have a pair of Carl Zeiss Terra for nature observation that I purchased from Eagle Optics.

Great for Beginners - 12/29/2015

by Nancy from FL

I have owned several Vortex binoculars and feel that the glass used in their equipment is better than most at this price range. A sale, gave me the opportunity to purchase three pair for use by two nieces and a nephew ranging in age from 10 to 19 They arrived just in time to be taken to the USMC boot camp graduation of the oldest niece. This family (not birders) are very happy with this product and I would buy again in a similar situation

Great Product for the Hiker - 12/28/2015

by Kathy L from Elma NY

Purchased these binoculars for my daughter for Christmas. She is an avid backpacker and is always looking to reduce the weight of what goes on her back. These binoculars came highly recommended based on the fact that they are lightweight and compact while still being a quality product. They're waterproof also and the Vortex lifetime guarantee cannot be beat. Perfect for her needs. Eagle Optics likewise offered the best pricing based on retail comparison. Their shipping was superb! Highly recommended product. Highly recommended distributor.

WOW, these are great - 12/12/2015

by Stephen B from Lower Michigan

This is my first new binocular purchase in over 50 years and all I can say is wow have optics improved. These are physically small and light, yet deliver a very high quality view. Eye relief is great as I wear glasses but have no problem leaving them on while I use the binoculars. I did a lot of on line research before I bought these and it was a combination of Vortex's warranty and Eagle Optics sale price that sealed the deal. Based on this pair I would highly recommend Vortex binoculars.

What's Not To Like? - 05/25/2014

by Michael from Ames, IA

I too am wring to disagree with the other low-ratings. As others have stated, these are not perfect binoculars, but you will be very hard pressed to find a similar product for the same price.

I looked into many brands and reviews and made a decision to buy the Vortex Crossfire II binocular. I drove to the local sporting goods store and they did not carry that model but had these. I tried them and immediately knew these were going home with me.

These are excellent binoculars for the money! They compare optically very similar to my 7x50 Celestron Pro's (not the pro version offered today) which cost twice as much. They are a perfect size for all day carry and are built to last a lifetime. I wear glasses and the eye relief is excellent - I feel. I can use these equally well without glasses.

Walking around our local park and lake, they performed beyond my expectation. Again, the carry size is awesome! I'll use them for track meets, hockey games and outdoor activities and am very confident they will perform without troubles.

I made a great choice and recommend these binoculars to anyone.

Good idea - poor execution - 03/02/2013

by Paul from Indiana

I recently bought a pair of these binoculars. The size and weight seemed ideal for my purposes. The binoculars were exactly as described and very well made. Eye relief was very good with two stops in the eye cups. Field of view is very good with an adequate sweet spot. Focusing was smooth with a stiff diopter adjustment as most users prefer.
The downside about these binoculars are 1)poor optical resolution (most evident at long distance) 2)a feeling of poor barrel alignment while viewing.
I really wish the optics performed better, as the field of view and physical size is ideal.
I returned the binoculars. Some people might find these binoculars fit their needs, so I cannot give them a don't buy evaluation. They do have some very good properties (size, build quality, field of view).

Nice binoculars for the price - 09/26/2012

by David from Menlo Park, CA

It's hard to believe you can find a better pair of compact binoculars for this price. Excellent eye relief, good contrast, close focusing, attached objective lens covers and an eyepiece cover, good case and strap.

Failed during second day of use - 09/07/2012

by Steve from Michigan

First day was great. Second day the diopter mechanism failed and the right eye can no longer be focused.

Better than that. - 08/30/2011

by Paul from Great Basin

I'm wring partly because I disagree with the other low-rating reviews. These are not perfect binoculars, but the eye relief is fine for me with or without glasses, optics are great, with just a little too much flare, and they are tough, lightweight and inexpensive. Perfect bins for bushwhacking or other situations where you don't want bang up your primary pair. I've carried mine into the field many times over three years, and they are the fist pair I grab to toss in the car or hike with (of the four different binoculars I own -- the other three pair were consideranbly more expensive and the difference optically is maybe 10%).

Eye relief just too long - 07/27/2011

by Jeff from California

I had the same problem as mentioned by other customer
The 19mm eye relief might work great for eyeglass wearers but you can't hold these anywhere near your eyes even with eyecups fully extended
They need a longer eyecup extension to be functional

Eye relief problems - 04/25/2010

by Esa Jarvi from Missouri

The optics ar just barely acceptable, though most people would not complain too much. But the eye relief is too long, I got black outs easily and found no easy way to place them near the eyes. So they went back. There may be some people whose facial features allow use of these.

The build is very nice on these, so I think the 8x32 Diamondback might be a better bino.

For comparison, the Bushnell Excursion 8x28 is OK, but I just glued the outer skin of the eye cups back for the third time. It is on a metal frame, the eye cup. I have these at home but rarely use them, mostly to look at the back yard.

I am getting a Vortex Vanquish 8x26 reverse porro for hiking etc activities where the binos are not the main activity. They fit in my coat pocket.

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: