Free Shipping

Vortex Diamondback 10x42 Binocular

BIN-VT-D241
Our Price: $229.99
List Price: $279.00
You Save: $49.01 (17%)
  • Customer Rating: (21 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Standard Overnight FedEx Shipping (not available for all zipcodes) to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 17% $229.99

The 42mm Diamondback delivers the best of everything in a rugged package at a suprisingly affordable price. Phase corrected, BaK-4 prisms and fully multi-coated optics deliver bright views with distinctive detail and sharp resolution. Customers approve of the comfortable eyecup design and the ergonomically balanced feel. With waterproofing and fogproofing, you won't worry about rain, snow, heat, or cold. Vortex's VIP Warranty means your Diamondback is meant to last for generations.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Adjustable Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with argon gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 10x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 345 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 16.0 mm
Close Focus 5.0 feet
Weight 24.4 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.9 x 5.6 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Custom molded case

Total Reviews: 21

Average Rating:

Mr. - 10/05/2014

by John O. from North Carolina

Absolutely fantastic product. I tested out the Diamondback 10X42 side by side to comparable binoculars manufactured by Leupold, Swarovski, Zeiss, and Bushnell. Vortex won out in every category, brightness, field of view, and ease of focusing. The size of the Diamondback 10x42's is perfect for several different applications. The build is very solid and tough and the warranty is fantastic. Most surprising to me was the price which was very affordable. I highly recommend this product.

Vortex Diamondback 10x42 Binocular - 08/05/2014

by Dan B. from St. Louis, MO

This is my second pair of this model binoculars from Eagle Optics. Both the binoculars and Eagle Optics are excellent! What more can I say?

wish i had purchased the talons hd - 11/27/2013

by james from ky

good binocular but i wish i would have spent the extra 200 dollars

Great experience - 09/11/2013

by Patrick B. from Central California

Very happy with purchase of Vortex Diamondback 10x42 binos. Fast shipping and great price. Binos met my price point and quality I wanted.

Great binos for the money - 05/22/2013

by Chris E. from United States

Bought these for my father-in-law's b-day and he could not be more pleased. The best binos for the money by far. Vortex makes a really great product, and you can't beat the warranty!

Very Decent 10x Binocs...! - 11/11/2012

by Jeff & Janet from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Finally had a chance to visit EO in person and they truly have the best customer service we've experienced.

My wife and I each bought a pair of these. We even got to watch some Sandhill Cranes (rare for WI area) just outside the EO store while testing the Diamondbacks. (Maybe these cranes are on EO payroll? LOL ^_^)

These are our first 10x and wish we'd got them instead of other 8x from the beginning. The 8x just didn't have that "extra reach" we wanted.

People advised us to get 8x cautioning that 10x would be too shaky. We find the 10x very solid and stable in our use without the need for tripods.

The short close focal distance (about 5') of these Diamondbacks even allow us to observe nature in densely wooded areas as well.

These are not 100% perfect, then again what binoculars are perfect at even 10x the cost?

Just like the other Vortex binoculars we use, these are of very good value and the VIP Warranty is a big bonus!

Vortex Binoculars-Diamondback - 07/17/2012

by Jim from Naperville, IL

Nice, clear binoculars for the money. Have not had them out in the field yet.

OK Bino - 06/30/2012

by James from New Mexico

these vortex Diamondback bino are ok for the money. Just a little blury around the edges, but are very light weight for a 10x42. You cant beat a vortex warranty or eagle optics customer service.

Vortex Diamondback - 03/27/2012

by SJ from Washington state

I bought these after using a pair of Diamondbacks from a friend. They are amazingly clear. I can't wait to use them for hunting. Highly recommend for anyone not wanting to pay top dollar but wanting a good pair of binos.

Awesome Glass! - 02/18/2012

by Swanny from Athens, GA

These binoculars feel extremely solid and they're very clear. The warranty is second to none I would highly recommend them.

Ease of warranty was my deciding factor - 02/07/2012

by John from Arkansas

These Diamondback 10x42s were my first bins above the typical $50 brand so I'm far from an expert. My standards were simple too.

After the typical research within my price range I narrowed my choices to the Monarch 3 and this Diamondback. In my area only the Monarch was available in store so I purchased the Diamondback for an in hand test of the two. From the test I learned, as far as my experience can tell, there isn't a noticible difference in the level of the optics. In certain low light conditions the Diamondback appeared better and certain low light the Monarch appeared better. Both, IMO, were as clear as the other. Honestly I don't get the clarity brags, because in regular light, most $50 bins appear quite clear. Low light is where things change.

So this tie, so to speak, left me with a different consideration. I called Eagle Optics with sort of a pointless complaint and I called Vortex about a different pointless complaint. After Eagle Optics knew who I was (my purchase was through Eagle Optics) they immediately corrected my pointless complaint. As for Vortex, even without checking who I was or where I purchased my bins, they corrected my pointless complaint. Both instances involved the respective company sending me an item and both did so immediately.

I called Nikon and got a phone tree. I called Vortex and got a real live person in Wisconsin. It's nice to talk to people in Wisconsin.

So now what I have is an excellent pair of binoculars that I don't have to worry about loaning to my son or whoever. I'm set for life.

Diamondback vs. AO Sky king - 01/22/2012

by Gatorpa from Florida

Not a usual reviewer but after looking for reviews wanted to put my 2 cents worth in. So not being a birder but needing quality mid priced (for binoculars) binoculars for an upcoming Alaska trip wanted to contribute. Found the diamondbacks locally but also read great reviews on the sky kings by atlas optics (which I had not heard of). The specs are amazing for the kings at this price. But this wouldn't be a comparison review if I stopped there. So......

Initially impressed with vortex d- backs over EO Denali and rangers ( not EDs) at the store,but saw online the specs and reviews of sky king, so ordered. Price was comparable and specs for king are a bit better with dielectric coatings. These are both great binos for the money. The major pro for the kings is that they are brighter and probably a bit sharper in clarity but that is a judgement call. They both offer lifetime warranties, however atlas optics are not an American company.

What I most liked about the d-backs is the hard case, the neck strap, how comfortable they were to look through, lighter, trueness to color, and feel. Most importantly the independent wife test confirmed the D-backs were the ones. With that being written you can't go wrong with either, but my money stays with vortex. Happy hunting!

A very good buy - 10/29/2011

by John from Vermont

These are excellent binoculars. I up-sized from a 10x26 and appreciate the improved light gathering power.

I also appreciate:-

1) the lens caps which are always available but not in the way while using the binoculars.

2) the easy conversion from naked eye to wearing glasses.

Great value - 05/21/2011

by Dan from St Louis

I bought these for my wife, but decided to keep them and gave her my old pair. These are great!

Highly Recommend - 02/04/2011

by Daniel from Rigby ID

These binoculars are a great buy. Optically they are on par with Leopold’s Green River binos (I was unable to tell any difference in optic quality between the two.) In addition the Diamondback binoculars are very sturdy and well made.Bottom line: I am very impressed with the binoculars and with Vortex’s excellent craftsmanship.

Would not recommend - 11/04/2010

by Louie from Bristol, VA

Service from Eagle Optic was great. These seem to be well built and the twist up eye cups are great. However I was disappointed in the clarity and edge quality is very poor, being very "milky" or cloudy around the edges. Would not buy again.

Clayton - 10/28/2010

by Clayton from Missouri

I recently purchased the Vortex Diamondback 10x42 binos. i bought these for deer hunting in the midwest. i am pretty impressed with the vividness of the optics especially for the price. the clarity of the optics in low light and at long distances is outstanding. i was surpirsed that at a half a mile away i could clearly count all the points of bucks and see every bit of detail. i beleive they would be effective at longer distances but haven't had the chance to test them. the most impressive thing about the binoculars is how clear they are looking through thick brush. the precision of the focus makes it seem like the brush isn't even there. waterproof, fog proof, great in low light and very clear at long distances make for the perfect whitetail binocular and you can't beat the price. i also recived them within three days of my order. Thanks eagle optics!

phenomenal optics - 11/09/2009

by Matt S. from oklahoma

Great price! Great optics! These optics really catch the light. You really have to look through them to appreciate how fantastic they are. Way better than more expensive binoculars i know first hand. The warranty is also top notch night and day ahead of the competition.

A good value - 08/05/2009

by WolfSoul from Tucson, AZ

My neighbor just got a pair of these and I compared them to my Pentax WP II 10X42 binoculars while watching four great-horned owls on the mountain behind our homes. While the Pentax produced a brighter image, the Vortex seemed to draw the birds in closer leading me to believe that the 10X claim is not quite right for one of the two. The difference is noticeable enough that I hesitate to make too many comparisons in the way of image quality. Though the Vortex image was not as bright, the image quality was excellent and the color true. The Vortex feel good in the hand. Given the choice, I would keep my Pentax WPs over the Vortex Diamondbacks, but still, I was impressed with the Vortex Diamondback, and would have no qualms about recommending them to someone who didn't want to spent the extra money for the Pentax. I would tell them to expect less light-gathering ability, and a lower build quality though.

Vortex Diamondbacks 10x42- excellent - 07/01/2009

by Brent from Oregon

Having a binocular-sampling-habit, I have to say this pair of Vortex Diamondback 10x42s are exceptional in fit, finish, clarity of optics, brightness and overall quality for the money. Side by side with Monarch ATBs for 2xs the price; these had sharper optics with better color and light transmission. In addition to great optic quality they were comfortable, lightweight and compact enough to carry all day. Used them elk hunting this year and they proved themselves worthy. I was able to pick out the bulls from the herd and judge size while by bro-in-law was trying to still make out if they were elk or not with his more expensive brand- I have turned on several friends to Vortex by letting them just take a Look Through for themselves; highly recommend if you are shopping.

Great Value in a good binocular - 07/01/2009

by Dick Hickson from Manning, SC

These binoculars were purchased to replace a more expensive pair. I was somewhat doubtful that they would live up to the quality of the more expensive pair. I was pleasantly surprised in that they not only equalled the quality, but exceeded it. For the price, I don't think you can find a better pair of binoculars. I have owned them over 6 months and they are used primarily for bird watching.

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: