Free Shipping

Vanguard Endeavor ED 8x42 Binocular

BIN-VG-ENDEAVOR-ED8420
Our Price: $289.99
List Price: $429.99
You Save: $140.00 (32%)
  • Customer Rating: (42 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 32% $289.99

Vanguard's Endeavor ED offers top-of-the-line quality at an affordable price. With the ergonomic,open-bridge design, a large, easy-to-adjust focus wheel and long eye relief, this binocular is built for comfort during long outings. Exceptional light transmission and remarkable color resolution and contrast comes from premium ED glass and fully multi-coated lenses. The Endeavor ED is waterproof and fogproof and comes with the Vanguard premium lifetime warranty.

Optical Features
Extra-low Dispersion (XD) Glass Enhances resolution, color, and contrast.
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Magnesium Alloy Body Is sturdy and resistant to corrosion.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Multi-position Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Locking Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of view 367 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 19 mm
Close Focus 8.2 feet
Weight 25.75 ounces
Dimensions (H x W) 6.1 x 5.8 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Neck strap
  • Case
  • Objective Lens Covers

Total Reviews: 42

Average Rating:

Vanguard Endeavor ED 8x42 - 07/06/2012

by Charles from Detroit, MI

This is the first pair of good binoculars I've purchased. So I can't compare them to anything. As for the binoculars themselves they are an outstanding purchase for their given price point. I would highly recommend them to anyone in this price range. They are just crystal clear, and have all the features you need, adjustments etc. I can't imagine what a pair of $1500 to $2000 pair of high end binoculars would be like.

Sharp image - 07/04/2012

by James from Northridge, California

I bought these because there were very highly rated in an earlier issue of Birdwatcher's Digest, and I'm very pleased with them. The image quality is excellent with no distortion or fuzziness. The rubber lens covers work very well and are very convenient. And, what I didn't expect is that they are so light-weight. The wide neck band feels good on the neck. Altogether, the Vanguard Endeavor ED 8x31 is a fine binocular without being expensive; I'm very pleased.

Vanguard - 06/18/2012

by Tammy from North Dakota

I purchased these for my 1st bird watching binoculars.
They are everything i wanted and more!


Fantastic field of view,the lens are bright and clear,very easy to focus and hold with one hand.


I have highly recommended them to my birder friends.
Plus Eagle Optics have great service and fast shipping.

Vanguard Endeavor a best buy! - 06/14/2012

by Ron S from Wood Dale, IL

I purchased the Vanguard Endeavor's to replace an 18 year-old pair of Bushnell Legend 10X40's that I use for work. I decided to take advantage of the dual rebates which dropped the price well under $300. To be honest, they are still a bargain at $350.
The Vanguards are bright with excellent edge-to-edge sharpness. Eye relief is very good and will be appreciated by eye glass wearers. They are relatively light for an 8X42 and the build quality seems high (time will tell). In head-to-head comparison, the Vanguards blew away the Nikon Monarch in my opinion. To be honest, they were very close in image quality to the Atlas Intrepid and Zen-Rays which I also considered. The determining factor were the ergonomics. The binoculars fit perfectly in hand and the focus wheel is the perfect diameter with just the right amount of tension.
I'm amazed at just how far binoculars have come in the under $500 range in the past 15 years. I paid $200 more for my old Bushnells and they are heavier, have a narrower field of view and less eye relief. Yes, I think the Endeavors are a best buy.

Very satisfying - 06/12/2012

by Margaret from Marietta, OH

I had (emphasis on the word had) a fabulous pair of Zeis mini binocs that were great, but they went missing and I didn't want to risk mislaying another expensive pair. The Vanguard Endeavor ED fits my needs very nicely. Natural and comfortable in my hands, easily adjustable, nice weight, an actual 6 ft near focus (despite it being advertised as 8.2), and little discernible distortion at the margins. Just really nice to grab and use without being very conscious of them being separate from my own hand and eye.

Just what I was looking for - 06/08/2012

by Karen from Laurel, MD

These binoculars are great - crystal clear, easy to use and a real bargain. I highly recommend them.

Vanguard ED Endeavor 8x42 - 05/25/2012

by Dee from Virginia

Purchased as a gift after many reviews of binoculars in the 8x42, 8x45 categories.
The feel of the binocular is solid, surfaces to grip are comfortable, eye pieces adjust easily between users (one with glasses, one without), the focus is quick and doesn't 'wander' once selected. The optics are clear and crisp almost to the edges of FOV, much better than other binoculars at this price point.
These were used extensively during a trip to the Gulf coast for both on-the-water observation of manatees, dolphins and water birds and for shorebird spotting/identification in April and May. Appreciate the waterproofing under beach conditions.

Great Binoculars - 05/22/2012

by david from Overland Park KS.

Purchased these Vanguard Endeavor ED 8x42 after reading they were top rated for mid-priced binoculars by Bird Watchers Digest in a recent field test. Clearly, they are as good as stated in the tests and met my expectations. Purchased for bird watching and to keep in my car and as a companion pair to my Swarovski EL's. Couldn't be happier with the Vanguards and Eagle Optics. Both price and customer service. Also purchased the Swarovskis from Eagle Optics. And, Vanguards Lifetime No Fault Warranty is just amazing in this era.

Present for my daughter - 05/15/2012

by John from Texas

My daughter was a taking a class on birds and was using some nice Vortex binoculars rented from the school. I wanted to get a good pair for after the class. I spent a couple of weeks researching and learning a great deal about bird watching binoculars. I settled on the $200-$300 8x42 range. I liked the eagle optics Rangers but it seem liked the reviews for the Vanguard were a little bit better. When they came in they were stunning. Much better than the more expensive (but older) Vortex glasses that my daughter was using. It was 3 days before I bought a second pair for my wife who has always been interested in birds. I do not know how long it will be before I buy a pair for myself.

I have zero complaints about this product. I am very happy and would recommend them to others.

Vanguard Endeavor ED Binocular - 03/23/2012

by Jan from United States

Was very happy with the Vanguard Endeavor ED binoculars that I purchased. Very bright and great field of view,The near focus is less than the 8.2 feet that is stated.I love the quick focus also.Would recommend this binocular to all

Great product, great price - 02/01/2012

by Ann from Missouri

My father is the avid birder and had read rave reviews in regards to the Endeavor. I was ready to upgrade from my old binoculars that are hardly worth carrying around. I wanted a nice solid pair without a huge investment. I can say I am utterly satisfied. Ease of use, comfort, and crisp images make this a great purchase.

Great set of binoculars! - 01/27/2012

by Luke from CA

I purchased this set of binoculars for hunting and occasionally for bird watching. For less than $300 after the $50 rebate, you'll be hard-pressed to find a better performing pair binoculars for the money. In my search for a good mid-price 8x42 binocular I went through a few set of binoculars from different manufacturers and finally settle on these. I am not one to claim that these perform as great as the binoculars costing in the thousands but I will say it is as close as you’ll get for the money. The only difference optically that I notice between these and the really expensive binoculars is that expensive binoculars exhibit a flat view and is sharp all the way to the edge will still maintaining a little wider FOV. The view of Endeavor ED is flat out to the tiniest ~5% of the outer edge where it exhibits a slight hint of curvature. Sharpness also seems extends all the way to the very edge with a small hint of reduction in sharpness in the extreme outer edge. I went what these instead of a few other Chinese ED binoculars with wider FOV around price range because those usually exhibits noticeable drop in sharpness at around the 75%-80% and beyond. Like other Chinese ED binoculars this set control chromatic aberration very well in the center and less outward but still good. The overall build quality of this binocular is really good and the texture rubber coating works wonderfully. I highly recommend these to those who want a really well built pair of binocular with really great optics but don’t want to break their bank.

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: