Free Shipping

Pentax Papilio 8.5x21 Binocular

COM-PX-62216
Our Price: $136.00
List Price: $200.00
You Save: $64.00 (32%)
  • Customer Rating: (21 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States
New Save 32% $136.00 - Out of Stock -

Just like a portable microscope, the Pentax Papilio is perfect for getting a complete view of the wondrous colors and patterns of butterflies, insects, or flowers. You will enjoy a mosaic of details with the outstanding 1.6 foot close focus. The fully multi-coated optics increase light transmission to deliver the subtleties of nature. The Pentax Worry-Free warranty guarantees enjoyment of this binocular for years to come.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Reverse Porro Prisms Generally offer a rich depth of field, compact design, and three-dimensional image.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Multi-position Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Magnification 8.5x
Objective Lens Diameter 21 mm
Field of View 315 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 15 mm
Close Focus 1.6 feet
Weight 10.2 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 4.6 x 4.3 inches
  • Rainguard
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 21

Average Rating:

Pentax Papilio 8.5x21 Binocular - 03/29/2014

by Connie C. from Weslaco, Tx

After seeing a few people with these binoculars at our Butterfly walks at Estero Llano Grande State Park, I decided to get a pair. WOW, is about all I can say. I should have purchased these a few years ago. Anyone that wants real close up views of Butterfly's and bugs, you should have these bins. Thanks Eagle Optics for another great product.

Pentax Papilio 8.5x21 - 11/15/2013

by Ben D from Oklahoma City

I purchased the Papilio binoculars for my wife, thought she might enjoy using them since she likes taking macro photos. These binoculars are a bargain! Very bright and clear, they show amazing detail up-close and also work well at distance.

Wow - 09/16/2013

by Nicholas T. from Indiana

We purchased the Papilio close up binoculars and are just blown away about how well we can now see closer in subjects such as butterflies, etc.

Pentax Papilio 8.5 X 21 Binos field review - 07/27/2013

by Rob Gross from Sonoma County, Ca

I am a field biologist and spend a lot of time in the wilds commonly. I use the Papilios for observing far and especially near. Of course these little gems work fine on distant objects. The 8.5 magnification could be higher, but the near focus feature makes it all worth it! I can look at wildlife tracks on the ground at my feet and see the finest details! I can count leg segments on some beetles near or far in great detail. See the scale color of shy and elusive snakes. These light binoculars are a great tool for far and especially near (18-inches) observations. Rate 9 out of 10. Exceptionally useful fro many users. Uncommon capabilities.
Rob Gross
D.T.
Middletown, CA

Handy binoculars for viewing birds up close - 03/20/2013

by Duane M. from Phoenix, Arizona

The instructor in my Beginning Birding class said that close-focus binoculars were especially good at looking at objects (birds, bugs, and so on) that were close, and since we have a hummingbird feeder just outside our kitchen window, I thought I'd give it a try. She recommended Eagle Optics, so I chose the moderately-priced Pentax Papilio 8.5 x 21. It has worked as advertised to my complete satisfaction.

The fact that the binoculars come with a belt holster, are small and can be easily used (even focused) with just one hand, prompted me to take the binoculars with me when walking the dogs in the morning, and that's been fun too.

Hunting Binoc w/ close focus - 11/16/2012

by Thomas from California

I bought these several years ago and can say they are my favorite amoung the 10 or so different binoculars I own. I hunt varmits with a guy who has $2000 binocs and I prefer the Pentax overwhelmingly. Looking through binoculars for maybe 8 hours a day requires glass that is light and not too tiring to the eyes. Most of my use is between 50 and 600 yards. Close focus is a bonus. These Pentex's have been through wind and sand and rain, thrown around, crushed and always perform. I'm sure I'll break or destroy them eventually but don't appear to be close yet. I am planning to buy a backup. Can't say enought about them!

WOW!! Love these glasses! - 10/02/2012

by Wild Plum from Spring Lake, Fl

I am having a blast!!! No, these are not for far away viewing. They are designed for close up viewing and they are wonderful. Just what I wanted. I can watch a dragonfly rotate its head, look at the hairs on spiders' legs, even check on bands on hummingbird legs just outside our window. They are specific in their purpose, and admirable in their ability. I'm beyond pleased. I recommend them for their purpose and their price. The case is useful...besides a strap it has a place for a belt to slide through.

Never expected such clarity! - 09/18/2012

by Christine from Spring Lake, Fl.

Wow! These binocs do exactly what they were intended for. I can get close up views...1.5 meters and even closer...of butterflies, insects, my dog's hair, you name it...plus check for bands on hummingbirds at my window feeder. And these glasses work better than any other for that. While not for distance birdwatching, for their intended purpose, they are fantastic!

great binocs - 07/03/2012

by Sue from Pagosa Springs, CO

Really good for bugs, flowers etc - as well as Indian cliff dwellings! Because they are compact and easy to use we take them hiking, etc. Love them - and they are a great value.

Looking Good - 09/24/2011

by Sue from Kentucky

Just what we needed; compact and easily transported. Especially enjoy the option of closer viewing for flowers, butterflies and critters.

Happy Customer - 07/01/2011

by M. from CA

I have been an avid bird watcher since college, this is the first pair of binoculars I have purchased for my favorite activity and they are phenomenal. It is important to be able to see close up as well as farther away and these fit the bill. I also appreciate how compact they are and I take them with me everywhere.

Good value for butterfly watching - 05/19/2011

by Jim from Florida Keys

First and foremost, these are a great value for the price - especially if used for butterfly watching or looking at anything that is just a bit out of reach. I think they may do nicely as Christmas gifts for budding naturalists who might be expected to lose or damage their first pair of binoculars, and the Pentax warranty covers almost everything but loss or theft.

Second, the 6.5 x 21 provides all the magnification I ever need to watch or identify a butterfly, and has a larger field of view making the object of interest easier to find and to follow if it moves. In fact, I wish Pentax had made a pair with less magnification, maybe 4x or 3x, instead of the 8x.

Mixed Review - 10/28/2010

by RK from California

I purchased the Pentax Papilio binocs mainly for the extremely close focus features for looking at plants, insects, butterflies, dragonflies, etc. For this these binocs are great. As a birdwatcher I was also looking forward to using these as a readily accessible pair of binocs in my work truck. For birding, however, they are just OK as the depth-of-field focus is very shallow. But for the price and the extremely close-focus features you can't beat them.

don't judge untill you have used this! - 10/15/2010

by JR from eastern New Mexico

I bought this for my wife. She normally uses 8x42 Pentax and Loves them. Only problem is, she is always backing up when wanting to look at something close. She Really didn't even want to try these but I ordered them anyway for her to try.. They arrived promptly and packaged well. She immediatly fell in love with the light weight, fast focusing, CLOSE focusing, and Bright views!! She also likes the screw down eyepiece design, versa the fold down on her older models. Pentax has a winner with this model! It is MUCH improved on the older 8x24's I got several years ago(which I liked).

Pentax Papilio 8.5x21 Binocular - 09/23/2010

by Dick from United States

I bought this binocular specifically for close focus watching of butterflies. It is great for that activity. It's not as good for more distant viewing.
It is lightweight and easy to handle.
It is exactly what I wanted.

New binoculars - 08/10/2010

by Dan from MD

The product [Pentax Papilio 8.5X21 binocular] and the service [Eagle Optics] are both excellent. Eagle's advertising is straightforward, representing the product clearly and honestly; their follow-up is excellent, too: even before I received my binoculars, Eagle e-mailed a film clip featuring two Eagle sales reps explaining how to adjust the diopters and lens cups---it was nearly as good as having an optics mentor here in person.

My previous binoculars [Nikon brand, of a similar size and magnification] did not have a close-focus capability, so I opted for the Pentax Papilio, with its 0.5 m/1.6 ft. near-focus feature, and I've been very favorably impressed with the rapidity and ease of focus possible, as well as the clarity of the image. Obviously, the light weight and compact size are advantages when going on birding trips or nature walks where "traveling light" is in order.

Having used Pentax cameras in the past during art school and in my subsequent graphic arts career, I already knew about Pentax quality and reliability, so the choice was essentially automatic.

Great, affordable binoculars - 08/07/2010

by Lynne from Vermont

I recently purchased the Pentax Papilio 8.5x21 Binoculars to use on a car trip that my husband I just took to Atlantic Canada from Vermont. From my online research/consumer reviews I was leaning toward purchasing the Pentax Papilio 6.5x21 Binoculars, and found them on the Eagle Optics website for $119. However, I decided for $10 more to purchase the 8.5x21 model. The package arrived in a few days, so before our trip I tried them out to watch birds in our yard and deer visiting our pond. I was impressed with the clarity of the view, and the compact, lightweight design. On our trip we used them to view whales in the Bay of Fundy off Campobello Island, to spot eagles soaring over Saint John, NB and enjoy closeups of ships in Halifax harbor and lighthouses along the rocky, wave swept South Shore of Nova Scotia. What a great purchase! I highly recommend the Pentax Papilio 8.5x21 Binoculars. Good quality at an affordable price.

High praise for the Pentax Papilio - 08/03/2010

by Tucson Mattie from AZ

The Pentax Papilio binocular I recently purchased have more than lived up to my expectations. Originally purchased for close up views of lizards, I have been having fun with close ups of spiders, arthropods, birds and butterflies. It is now so much easier to identify each because of so many details I was unable to see previously. I would recommend this product to any one that needs extreme close up views.

Great for Close-up Mediocre for Distance - 08/03/2010

by Fred from Santa Barbara, CA

The Pentax Papilio 8 power is great for butterfly watching at very close range and is compact and lightweight; but, is poor for general birding at medium and long range. Ducks and passerines lack definition under those conditions. Not being waterproof is also somewhat limiting. Fortunately, they are relatively inexpensive!

better than expected - 04/13/2010

by warren from louisville KY

I'm a bird watcher with much experience using high end binoculars. I wanted these for close focus viewing: spring wild flowers, snake watching, etc. My Leica's force me to step back from close items. I was prepared to give up optical quality, but was surprised at the sharp, contrasty image these provide, all the way down to the claimed eighteen inches. I doubt I will get the physical durability of my $1000 Leica's. I am entirely pleased with these binoculars.

enhance any hike - 03/29/2010

by Peter Griffith from Baltimore

My wife and I enjoyed observing macro views of desert wildflowers and distance views of migrating hawks and vultures with these binoculars. The 8.5's are a little challenging to hold steady, but the extra magnification over the 6.5's, especially in macro views, is wonderful.