Free Shipping

Eagle Optics Shrike 8x42 Binocular

BIN-EO-SHK-4208
Our Price: $99.99
List Price: $149.00
You Save: $49.01 (32%)
  • Customer Rating: (43 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 32% $99.99
Promotion

Polar Vortex Special:
Receive a FREE Eagle Optics Knit Stocking Cap with the purchase of a 32mm or larger Eagle Optics binocular. To redeem this offer, enter coupon code itstoocoldoutside at checkout. Offer good while supplies last.


Just because the Eagle Optics Shrike sells for a budget-friendly price doesn't mean you'll suffer with dark, fuzzy images. As a matter of fact, the Shrike's image quality, strong build, and ample field of view will surprise you! Waterproof and fogproof protection means you don't have to pamper this binocular. Best of all, the Shrike comes with the Eagle Optics Platinum Protection unlimited, unconditional lifetime warranty.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Adjustable Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 341 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 17.6 mm
Close Focus 13.1 feet
Weight 23.2 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.9 x 4.9 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 43

Average Rating:

Excellent Value, Very Functional - 09/05/2012

by Bill from Newburyport MA

I purchased this binocular in advance of volunteering at a golf tournament. I was going to have to identify players in the distance and follow their golf balls in flight. Because I have vision problems and wear glasses with prisms in them I have never been able to get a binocular to work comfortably. The difference between this binocular and others I have tried are the retractable sites, which enable you to put the binocular magnifying lens right on your glasses. This made my experience with the binocular excellent.

The only thing I can complain about is that they don't open as wide as I would like them to, thereby not accommodating fully my eye separation. Still comfortable enough.

Magee Marsh - 07/10/2012

by paul from ohio

I had heard of Eagle Optics binoculars from the owners of Birdwatcher's Digest, when I attended a class they taught on birding; but it was not until visitng Magee Marsh on Lake Erie that I experienced your binoculars; the staff at the visitor's center loaned us a pair of the Shrikes, and I was sold! we purchased 4 for our family members and ourselves when returning home; thanks for a great product

Great! - 06/14/2012

by DAVID from Syracuse NY

I purchased the Shrike 8x42 Bino's for my wife. We are occasional birders. It was time to go beyond the $19.95 stuff and see what we were missing. I looked at glasses around this price range in local sporting goods stores but was not satisfied. I took a chance on Eagle Optics and am very glad I did. The difference is remarkable! My wife is very,very happy to finally be able to see such details on the birds. I have already recommended these to all our friends. I don't know what $300+ binos would do, but for the price I would say that these are tops for beginners and occasional bird watchers. I will be buying another pair for myself.
PS. Customer service was also great, and very helpful. Thanks to you all.

great binoculars - 05/16/2012

by Jeff from Durham, NC

We bought a pair of the Eagle Optics Shrike 8x42 and liked them so well we bought another so we would not have to share! great glasses for the price + lightweight. I definitely would recommend.

Great for the price - 04/21/2012

by Ben from Costa Rica

These were purchased as a gift for a friend who is getting into bird watching. They are light, bright and appear well made. I was very impressed with the image clarity for binoculars of this price range. Chromatic aberrations are present in areas of high contrast but are reasonably well controlled - they don't jump out at you. The field of view could be a bit wider to make it easier to locate the subject, but I knew that when making the purchase. I didn't have a chance to use them in the rain to see if they fog up. All in all very good for the price.

The purchasing experience was very good. I paid through Google checkout and the item was shipped promptly and well packaged to avoid any potential damage.

Eagle Optics Shrike 8X42 Binocular - 03/22/2012

by Janie from San Francisco, California

Being new to birding, I read the reviews and talked to other people about what to buy. I made absolutely the right choice as I find this binocular to be very easy to focus, it is light weight, and can be used with or without my eyeglasses - a real plus. I recommend it highly.

My new Shrike 8x42 Binocular purchase - 03/14/2012

by Diane from Santa Margarita, California

I love, love, love my new Shrike binoculars. First time owner of a pair of Eagle Optics binoculars, found them on sale on the Eagle Optics site, and I am very happy with them. Just the right size too.

Great binocs for the price - 02/08/2012

by Ken from Monterey, CA

I am a beginning birder and these are perfect. The image is bright and crisp and the binoculars feel solid and well made. The price at $99 including shipping seems very reasonable.

Eagle Optics Shrike, 8 x 42 Binocular - 01/26/2012

by Edith from Newnan, GA

Very satisfied with binocular quality and ease of use - main use is identifying back yard birds for Cornell's Project Feeder Watch. I compared this product with other more expensive binoculars having the same 8 x 42 magnification and found it to provide images that are very bright/clear with sharp focus and essentially no distracting distortion. I am a casual user who finds this product exceptional for the price.

Eagle Optics Strike 8x42 - 01/21/2012

by Gene from Newport N.C.

This has been one of the best pair of binoculars that I ever bought. Very easy to use and understand the functions and crystal clear viewing

THE Woman's Binocular - 01/03/2012

by Jamie from Temple, TX

First and foremost, this binocular has excellent clarity! Additionally, the eye relief cups come out further than most so my eyelashes don't touch the lenses! Also, it fits nicely in a woman's hands and is very light. I highly recommend this binocular, especially to other women for the reasons stated!

Good service from Eagle Optics - 12/20/2011

by Louis from Verona, NJ

The binocular arrived on time and was just as described in your website. I am well satisfied with your product

Good beginner binoculars - 11/10/2011

by Abrahm from United States

I've been surprised by the quality of these binoculars. I've had no problem going from my warm car to the cold fall air due to them being fog and waterproof. I have also been very happy with the optical quality of the binoculars, the colors look good and the image is nice and sharp.

I've really enjoyed using these binoculars in the field. The focus knob moves nicely and I have no problem tracking birds in flight. The focus does take a few spins if you want to move from the minimum focus to closer to field distances but otherwise the movement required is minimal. The eye relief on these binoculars is also excellent as a glasses wearer. I really love these binoculars.

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: