Free Shipping

Eagle Optics Ranger ED 8x42 Binocular

BIN-EO-RGB-202
Our Price: $329.99
List Price: $399.00
You Save: $69.01 (17%)
  • Customer Rating: (63 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 17% $329.99
Demo   $299.99

Proven high-tech features in the Eagle Optics Ranger ED guarantee to impress this generation and the next and continue the Eagle Optics tradition of offering optical excellence at a price you can afford. What defines optical excellence? When well-seasoned professionals look through the superbly bright and amazingly sharp Ranger ED and exclaim, “Wow!’’ By taking the consistent reliability of Ranger binoculars and incorporating high-quality, extra-low (ED) dispersion glass with dielectric and phase-corrected prism coatings, and fully multi-coated lenses, the Eagle Optics Ranger ED exceeds today’s expectations in this price range. Whether you need a good close focus for observing nature’s dainty delights, a wide field of view for spotting those speedy warblers, or extra magnification and light gathering for long-distance viewing, the Ranger ED helps you reach new heights in your viewing pursuits.

Optical Features
Extra-low Dispersion (ED) Glass Enhances resolution, color, and contrast.
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
Dielectric Prism Coatings Optimize light transmission.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Polycarbonate Body Is lightweight.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Adjustable Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Locking Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 341 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 19.5 mm
Close Focus 5.2 feet
Weight 23.6 ounces
Dimensions (H x W) 5.8 x 5.1 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 63

Average Rating:

Didn't know birding could be such fun - 05/24/2016

by Lois K. from Arizona

I have been birding for years but never with a really good pair of binoculars. It was like a whole new world when I tried out my Eagle Rangers.

Near-perfect - 05/17/2016

by Sean from VA

Love the clarity and brightness of the optics. The construction is solid and robust. The accessories (strap, bag, cleaning cloth) are all great, too.

My main complaint is the weight. It's ~30% heavier than its competitor in this price class, the Nikon Monarch 5. It's also larger and less comfortable to hold than the Nikon. But, the superior lenses and accessories make it a better product overall, and, for me, they're worth the $30 price difference.

Great - 05/12/2016

by Phil from Michigan

I have purchased three pairs of this model for my family for birding. Very pleased.

Very happy with my purchase - 05/06/2016

by Sue from Bothell, WA

I've only had my new Ranger ED 8x42 Binoculars for a few days but so far I really like them. The center focus wheel turns easily so you can quickly refocus from close up to far away. I haven't had a chance to use them while watching birds that are moving around a lot so I can't provide an opinion on the field of view but I'm guessing it's about the same as my old Bushnell 8X40 binocs. I found another brand of binocs with a larger field of view but they were $150 more so for the price and what I'll be using them for, I think these were the best choice for me. My Bushnells served me well for years but I'm heading to Alaska this summer and wanted something more compact and the Rangers are definitely that. Perhaps a tiny bit heavier then my Bushnells, but the difference is negligible. I also bought the Eagle Optics harness and I'm glad I did because it's really comfortable and keeps the binocs nice and snug against the body. That will definitely save my neck when I'm using them for long stretches. I would recommend this product.

Value for money - 05/05/2016

by Helen S. from USA

I am new to birding and asked several members of my birding club what they would recommend for binoculars. Several people suggested Eagle Optics and also the Cornell review. Based on the Cornell review I have purchased the Optics Ranger ED 8 by 42. I have enjoyed using them, they are lightweight and easy to handle. What a difference from the old clunky ones I was using. Your sales associates were very helpful and it was a pleasure to interact with your company,s representatives. My binoculars arrived just in time for me to use them on my trip to Virginia. I also appreciated the environment friendly packing. Thanks so much.

Recommended! - 05/05/2016

by Denise from Ann Arbor, MI

I am new to birding, and spent quite a bit of time online checking out the options. I am very pleased with this purchase. The details and colors that I can pick up with these binoculars are incredible. I have neve been able to see such clarity with my own eyes! I am tremendously excited about my new hobby, and recommend the ED 8x42 to anyone interested in bird watching. I am hooked!

Binocs - 05/05/2016

by Jim K. from FL

These binoculars came highly recommended by a fellow naturalist. I like them, they are clear and crisp. I like the close focusing and ability to quickly sight in birds far away. The price is also quite good.

EAGLE OPTICS RANGER ED 8x42 - 05/05/2016

by Anette R. from Warren MI

LOVE LOVE LOVE my rangers. I bought a pair 10 years ago and called to get some service. Unbeknownst to me, I have a lifetime warranty. So off they went for minor dusting and cleaning. In the meantime, I couldnt live without them so I bought another (backup) pair !

THE BEST FOR THE MONEY

Really good beginner's binocs - 04/15/2016

by E. Pan from IL

That's what the leader of a local birding group told me, telling me in no uncertain terms to get this product. I have been using it practically every day for six weeks, and I love it. Now I can easily zero on on the bird, even in flight, and in low light. Focusing is really easy. I don't notice any dispersion. The only quirk is a little squeaking when I turn the focus knob. This started a week ago.

I have not tried other brands, so I don't know how they compare, but I have no difficulty recommending the Ranger ED.

Eagle Optics Ranger ED 10X42 - 03/24/2016

by Barry B. from Fayetteville, Arkansas

I began birding in March 2015 with a $50 pair of binoculars that my father bought decades ago for deer hunting. Maybe that's not a usual beginning for a product review, but I was 53 years old. After spending decades in the outdoors rock climbing, backpacking, canoeing, camping and hunting, a number of events finally led me to birding. My father hadn't used these bins in years & he gladly let me have them.

The thrill of seeing new species of birds on almost every birding excursion last year seemed to offset the weight & bulkiness of those clumsy bins. It was my first spring as a birder & I was finally getting acquainted with dozens of species of migrants that were passing through my neighborhood in the northwest Arkansas Ozarks.

As spring turned into summer I began to have a lot of extra pain in my arms & hands whenever I was out birding for more than an hour or so. I was also often very disappointed & frustrated with viewing in the early morning or late evening lighting conditions.

Finally, I began researching other binoculars & asking some birding friends about alternatives. A birding friend who knew about my problems with chronic pain told me about his pair of Eagle Optics Ranger ED 10x42 binoculars.
He said that the Ranger ED are some of the lightest & fastest focusing of any pair of bins that he has ever owned. He was absolutely right. I bought my E.O. Ranger ED's in August 2015 just in time for the fall shorebird migration.

I could not have made a better decision. These were perfect bins for all my birding throughout last fall & winter. I was stunned at the clarity. This clarity was particularly helpful for learning the many species of sparrows that overwinter here in Arkansas. Right now, in March 2016 I am using them every day. I can't imagine ever buying another pair of binoculars

Wonderful binoculars - 03/08/2016

by Val E. from Florida

These are really excellent binoculars and perfect for looking at the amazing Florida bird life. They are not too heavy but I bought the harness too and this makes wearing them all day, ready for use, very easy and comfortable.

Love the Ranger ED - 03/08/2016

by ANNIE S. from Southern Sierras

I got the Ranger ED 8x42 Bino for my birthday from my husband. I could tell immediately how much better it is from my cheap Bushnell's just by looking out the window once at a pair of Red tail Hawks. I intend to use them for birding field classes and birding our backyard. I feel like a real birder now!

Quality and Price comparison of two binoculars! - 02/24/2016

by Dale G. from Shady Grove, PA

I have three other binoculars besides the Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 which cost me 5 times what the Ranger cost. Unless you are very technical in your comparisons the Ranger is an exceptional binocular in cost savings and so close in quality that I have found very people can see any difference between them. They are sturdy, weather resistant and the weight is very competitive.
I would highly recommend these binoculars to anyone for bird watching especially.

Exceeded our expectations - 02/22/2016

by jeff from Indiana

My wife and I shopped hard to find the best value out there. Wow!! The Eagle Optics 8x42 Bins exceeded our expectations!! Do yourself a big favor and buy a pair.

Great but... - 02/09/2016

by Karyn from Cartheys Valley

I love them. Too bad Eagle Optics flavors in general seem to land on the side of a wider/larger IDP (Inter Pupillary Distance). None of their products work for me. I prefer the Ranger to other products in that price range, and even the Kowa BD XD, supposedly a step up in optics, are not as good as the Rangers. They rule for brightness, comfort, and clarity. But they will never get an excellent rating from me until they start making binoculars with a IDP less than 58mm.

Great binoculars - 01/16/2016

by Sharyl H. from LeRoy IL

I was happy with these binoculars the minute they arrived. Use them almost exclusively for birding and am totally pleased with the clarity of picture whether the bird is 10 feet away or at a distance. My second pair of Eagle Optics, very affordable and I will stay with this brand

Great customer service, quality, and price - 01/16/2016

by Lorna from California

I am very pleased with the Eagle Optics Ranger binoculars that I purchased from you. Although I originally got them as a gift for my son, I liked them so much that I decided to keep them for myself and ordered a second pair for him! These binoculars are great for birding, bringing in lots of light. I like how the protective covers for both the ocular and objective lenses are attached to the binoculars so they will not be lost, as was the case with my previous binoculars. I am also very pleased with the ease with which the eyecup twists to accommodate a viewer wearing or not wearing glasses. In fact, I called Eagle Optics customer service and spoke to Mike who gave me very helpful advise concerning recommended binoculars for eyeglass wearers. In addition, the shipping was free, the price was right, and the protection plan is an added bonus.

Love at First Sight - 01/12/2016

by Lisa from Virginia

I bought these for my husband for Christmas on the recommendation of a birder friend. They are easy to focus even with glasses on. The lens caps being attached are a big improvement over our last binoculars. We can see the sheep on our farm from the kitchen window more clearly than we can see them in person.

Ranger ED 8x42 - 01/04/2016

by Chris J. from Hope, Maine

Buying a good pair of birding binoculars for my wife was quite a task. So many choices.
Great information and reviews made the task easier.
Very happy with my choice and my wife, whose opinion counts the most, is even happier!
Thank you Eagle Optics for making a great midrange pair of binoculars for the average person!!

Excellent bins, excellent service! - 01/04/2016

by Hugh L from Eugene,OR

We purchased 2 EO Ranger ED bins based on reviews posted here as well as specs suggested by several friends. These were replacements to our old Swifts that we had purchased years ago from EO. We are extremely happy with these bins after using them in Panama in December and now for the local annual X-mas bird count. The lighter weight, the brighter optics, and the various weather-resistant features have all proved their worth in hot and humid jungles and freezing rains of wintery Oregon. In fact, they may be our replacements for our smaller Nikon bins we use when bike touring despite their slightly larger size.

As with our previous purchases, Eagle Optics' service was also very good. The bins shipped when EO said they would. Their price and quality are extremely hard to beat. It's no wonder to us that we are completely satisfied customers.

Awesome!!! - 12/22/2015

by Steve H. from Lake City,Fl

All I can say is "Wow":! You will know what I mean when you put these up to your eyes. The clarity is amazing. Thank you Eagle Optics for such a wonderful product.

I love my Ranger - 12/15/2015

by Pamela G. from Vancouver, Wa

I am very happy with my new Ranger ED 8x42. So far, no problems at all. The focus is clear and the weight of the bins is perfect, not too light or too heavy. I did have to add two metal circles to the handles so that I could attach my bin harness. This was not a hassle and works perfectly, however, it would have been nice to have the attachments a tad farther out from the bins so that the harness could have just attached directly. I love them so far!

A whole new view - 12/05/2015

by Nancy from Batavia, OH

I am very happy with these binoculars. They are lightweight and easy to focus. The broad neck strap makes them comfortable to wear. They work well in dim light as well as bright direct sunlight.

Picture - 11/27/2015

by John from Milwaukee

Clear picture, like having eagle vision!

Eagle Optics Ranger ED 8 x 42 — A Splendid Choice! - 11/08/2015

by Robert S. from Bainbridge Island, WA

I just got my new pair of Eagle Optics (EO) Ranger ED 8 x 42s, and I gotta say they are absolutely superb— by every measure. These binocs are totally wonderful. I chose them based on reading many, many reviews and opinions, but finally, settled on the EO Ranger EDs because of their outstanding optics (birding), their close focusing (think dragonflies), their water-proofing, their ergonomic design, and having the best price-point for the combination of these criteria. (The Nikon Monarch 5 finished a close second— with a very long list 3rd placers.) I've only had a week of testing and evaluation, but so far, these the Rnager EDs are gems! I would certainly recommend these glassing masters to serious birders and dragon hunters!

Beautiful optics - 10/26/2015

by brian m. from Orlando, FL

Beautiful optics. I took this on a recent fall beach vacation and was amazed at how beautiful the birds were looking. Great experience.

Great binoculars, great service - 09/20/2015

by Victoria from Arcata, CA

This was my first pair of binoculars and I love them. I was seriously torn between these and the Celestron Granites and I'm very satisfied with my choice. I rented Vortex Diamondbacks before getting these in the mail and there was a huge difference between the two. The ED glass is worth the extra money, as it makes everything clearer and there's a noticeable reduction in the chromatic aberration. They really are worth the $300+ price tag and looking through these binos looks a lot clearer and better than looking with your eyes. The only complaint I have about them is that the case could be a bit bigger but really, that problem is fairly trivial. The rangers are a nice size, not heavy at all, look (and feel) fantastic and I'd recommend them to anyone. Eagle Optics also has wonderful customer service and are quick in response and shipping!

Eagle Optics Ranger ED 8 X 42 for hunting - 09/15/2015

by Kevin F. from Indianapolis, IN

My big dilemma in choosing binoculars was whether to get 10x or 8x. I have had these binoculars for a couple of months now and have used them many times. My conclusion is that 8 power was the right choice. Any more magnification and I would need a tripod. I use these to scan the edges of fields for game. Typical distance is 100 to 500 yards. I can hold these steady and see what's going on at the edge of the trees. These are great optics for the price and I would buy them again. Good, sharp image. Easy to focus. Plus they are sturdy and compact. I also bought the Eagle binocular harness with them and that works well.

Eagle Optics Ranger ED 8x42 Binocular - 09/11/2015

by GEE from Florida

Excellent Binoculars. Excellent service
Carrying case a bit tight

Eagle Optics Ranger ED 8x42 Binocular- Solid! - 09/08/2015

by JR from San Francisco

Eagle Optics Ranger ED 8x42 Binocular are excellent value. The optics are very clear. The binos and accessories are solid. Everthing has a nice feel and the binos are not as heavy as they look. I'm glad I got these. I can't really imagine a pair of Leica or Swarovski being 3-5X for their price.

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: