Free Shipping
Sibley Promotion

Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular

BIN-EO-RGR-4208
On Sale!
Sale Price: $249.00
List Price: $399.00
You Save: $150.00 (37%)
  • Customer Rating: (238 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 37% $249.00
ABA

Take a big step on your birding path by joining the American Birding Association! For a limited time, Eagle Optics makes it even easier and more affordable by giving you a $45 annual membership for just $15! To add a $15 membership to your purchase of this binocular, use the coupon code ABAMEMBERSHIP during checkout.


A nature enthusiast's desire to provide others with quality optics at a reasonable price resulted in the long-popular Eagle Optics Ranger binocular. Well known for its high-performance, the Ranger now includes dielectric coatings that jump reflectivity to more than 99% across the full visible range. That means optimal light transmission and excellent color fidelity. Ranger owners especially favor the superior edge-to-edge sharpness, light weight, durable body, close focus, and affordable price. Eagle Optics provides a Platinum Protection lifetime, no-fault warranty. See for yourself why our customers love taking the Ranger on a hike down the road or a trip around the world.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
Dielectric Prism Coatings Optimize light transmission.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Multi-position Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 341 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 19.5 mm
Close Focus 5.2 feet
Weight 21.8 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.8 x 5.1 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 238

Average Rating:

Ranger 8x42 - 02/14/2012

by David from Texas

My new Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular has lived up to my expectations. For someone who wears glasses, this binocular is terrific. I wanted a binocular that would work well with glasses and be easy to carry. I also wanted to be able to quickly focus on something of interest, including something that was within a few feet. Finally, I wanted to easily be able to keep the binocular close at hand in the front of my SUV without taking up a lot of room or being obtrusive. All of my expectations have been met. I love this binocular.

Amazing - 02/07/2012

by Mary from London, Ontario

I bought these Last Spring for my Birthday for birding cause My boyfriend has a pair of binoculars but I always had to share them with him, he doesn't own Eagle Optics but now he wishes he had Eagle Optics, he finds there is no shake and the quality of glass is so much more clearer, I am going to buy him a pair of Eagle Optics for his Birthday come fall as he just loves mine, but mine have been discontinued so I will have to get him the next ones up from mine,we both belong to a nature club and some members cannot get over the quality of Eagle Optics, last fathers day, my dad tried to sneak my pair in his gift bag but I caught him and ended up buying him a pair of Eagle Optics a month later, everyone just loves my binoculars and I would never buy anything else, I have looked through many binoculars that my birding friends have and just don't care for them, with Eagle Optics there is no shake at all like I mentioned before and I have 10 x 42 as most birders have 8 x 42, but mine are perfect, very very happy with mine and I strongly recommend them to the people of my camera club that I also belong to. I bought mine at Bird's Unlimited here in London and will buy more Eagle Optics, no question about that at all,thanks for making great bin's.
Happy Birding
Mary

Excellent Binocs! - 02/06/2012

by Dana from Michigan

I have been issued a pair of these binoculars for the past two years during the field season, and I finally decided to get a pair of my own. Working in northern Michigan has its fair share of weather changes and habitat changes, and these binoculars have stood the tests of the elements time and time again.

Pros:
- Have never fogged up during early morning work.
- Have never gotten water-logged from rain or dropping in puddles.
- "Fast" and easy to focus when chasing small birds and other critters through the woods.
- Great for scanning/focusing on anything from 4 ft away (like small butterflies) to across fields (I've taken them out hunting as well).
- Rugged enough to withstand being dropped several times and no scratches, chips, or cracks, and they clean up pretty easily too (they've fallen in mud and have been completely covered in tree pollen on a few occasions).

Possible Con:
The only thing that's bugging me about my new binocs vs. my issued set is that the neck strap seems to be shorter on my new set. While in the field, I wear them bandolier-style so they don't hit me in the gut while navigating through nature. They hang at my side then, allowing me to simply pull them right into position when I need them. I'm having a harder time pulling them into position with my new set than I remember with my issued set. But maybe it's just me; I can always buy a longer strap if I really want it. (I say "seems" because I don't yet have my issued set to compare them to.)

All in all, these are some great, tough binocs that have served me well recreationally and for my wildlife field position. You definitely get your money's worth. :)

Winter Texan - 01/31/2012

by David from Mercedes, Texas

Our second pair of birding binoculars from Eagle. Was so impressed with the first order.

These are just as good - great ordering and shipping process (free within US . We are Canadian so real bonus to have a temporary warm winter US address.)

Only disappointment with this pair was the "Made in China" label on the product. I really thought it would be a US product.

Great Travel Bincoulars - 01/17/2012

by Robert from Oregon City, OR

Used as travel replacement for heavy and expensive Swarovski EL. Resolution and brightness are so good that I don't miss the extra weight around my neck. Nice waterproofing to be able to rinse them off after hiking & sliding in mud all day to see gorilla's. They still look new and work perfectly!

Great Value - 01/15/2012

by Liddy from Cape Cod

I have been avoiding buying a decent pair of binoculars for awhile, but these seemed like a good deal for the price. These were purchased somewhat on a whim, based on advice from a former colleague, but I couldn't be more satisfied. They seem very sturdy yet relatively lightweight, and the light gathering ability is amazing. Certainly not as amazing as a pair of Swarovskis, but for the price they are pretty darn close.

Great - 01/13/2012

by Shirley from Traverse City, MIchigan

This is the 4th pair of Eagle Rangers for my family and they all perform with the clarity needed for great everyday birding.

Binoculars - 01/12/2012

by Jill from Houston

Great product. Arrive safely and on time as promised. Thank you!

8x42 Ranger - 01/06/2012

by David from Rainier, Oregon

I have a pair of Nikon 8x42 and I purchased a pair of Ranger 8x42 for my wife. We are both pleased with the amount of light, sharpness of color and clarity of these binoculars. They are better than my Nikons.

Best I have ever had - 01/05/2012

by Cynthia from Kerrville, Texas

The Eagle Optics is the best I have ever had and I have a closet of others to prove it. I love the ease of focus, use and light weight. I have been a birder for over 30 years and have gone through my share of binoculars but have finally found the best for me. A friend whose wife has one of those extremely expensive pairs used mine on a recent trip to the Texas Coast and on return ordered the 10X42. We kept comparing the two and decided we both like the Eagle Optics best. I hope to order the 10X42 in the near future.

She knows what she wants - 12/21/2011

by Diane from Albuquerque

The Ranger 8 x 42 binocs were the number one item on my daughters Christmas. Specifically she liked the weight and the range for her work monitoring environmental impacts. It seems that these are gold standard as far as her co-workers are concerned. Priced right as well.

great for glasses - 12/18/2011

by Brooke from Walla Walla, WA

I can wear my glasses with the new binoculars with no compromise to the view, which is exactly what I was looking for. The ranger is a great pair of binoculars and has improved my birding experience immensely.

BEST EVER - 12/09/2011

by KATHY from WALNUT CREEK CALIFORNIA

I LOVE MY EAGLE OPTICS RANGER. IT FOCUSES QUICKLY AND EFFICIENTLY, IT IS A COMFORTABLE WEIGHT. THE FIELD OF VIEW IS CLEAR AND THE COLORS I SEE ARE EXCELLENT.

Review - 12/06/2011

by J L from Hattiesburg, MS

Good binoculars, good price, good service.

All that I expected - 11/29/2011

by Kathy from Belton,TX

These were recommended to me by a well known birder and met my expectations. I like the ease of the focusing knob. The padded strap is comfortable. The case seems superfluous because the lenses are so well protected by the attached covers. They seem to be good quality for the price.

New Binocs - 11/08/2011

by Marsha from Wichita, KS

The binocs arrived timely and in good condition. I'm enjoying using them, although haven't been out too much because of inclement weather =- and drought that has kept a lot of migrants moving.

Do the job well - 11/08/2011

by Tracy from Florida

I monitor Florida Scrub-jays. I need to be able to read the leg band codes when the birds are in a tree as well as when they are on the ground in front of me. These 8x42 binonculars do both well.

great! - 10/26/2011

by pam & ron from bend, oregon

these binocs are great!! they are light around your neck and the neck strap is very cushy and comfortable. we use them on all our hikes and are very happy with the sharp "eagle eye" vision we have :)

Up close and crisp - 10/25/2011

by Susan from Eastern Shore VA

Been using these binoculars for a month now taking a naturalist class and watching the major bird migrations here on the eastern shore of VA. For the 'moderate' price range I would very much recommend these for nature watchers. Best features for this area: crisp color focus, waterproof, close up focusing range. Wish they were slightly lighter weight but padded strap helps. I do like the fact that I can easily hold and focus with one hand if need be. Very satisfied.

For his 60th birhday - 10/19/2011

by Melissa from Easton, MD

My husband Bill turned 60 recently and we have been birding together for 35 years with the same pair of Swift binoculars so I thought a new pair of binoculars would be a perfect gift. But how to choose? I read through the Cornell University and Eagle Optics reviews for mid-priced binoculars for birders. I couldn't choose between the Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular and the Vortex Viper (both got great reviews). So I ordered each. After two weeks of birding with both, we selected the Eagle Optics Ranger. The optics in terms of clarity and light are amazing. They are light and easy to use. The Viper Vortex were a bit more comfortable to hold and the rubber on the lens covers was easier to manage on the Vortex, but for half the price of the Vortex, we selected the Eagle Optics Ranger. Thank you again Eagle Optics!!!

Everything I expected - 10/19/2011

by Adrian from Cape May, NJ

Purchased these after trying a pair of Swarovski.I like most, couldn't justify the high price of the Swarovski even though they are awesome.
I am no expert and I did not try a side by side comparison, but after using the Eagle Ranger's now for a few weeks I can say to me there is very little in it. They are ultra clear and give that 3D effect when viewing that makes bird identification so much easier. Extremely happy with the purchase.

Very happy with my new binoculars - 10/18/2011

by Frank from Arkansas

I ordered my Ranger 8x42 binoculars on-line directly from Eagle Optics and received them very promptly. I based my selection solely on a recommendation I had received from some prominent birders here in Arkansas. I am very happy with the quality of these binoculars. I wear glasses and they adjust nicely to give very clear images with lots of brightness. I love them. Thanks.

Great Buy! - 10/06/2011

by Valyn from Oak Park, IL

These binoculars are an excellent value. Took them out for the first time birding in Duluth and the clarity was awesome. I highly recommend them.

great binocs - 09/08/2011

by Bill from Oakland, CA

I have had my 8x42 Rangers for over two years and I absolutely love them. The close focus range is great for birding and their light weight makes hauling them around easy. Oh, I forgot to mention that the clarity of the optics are impressive for the price. Great buy!

Love them! - 09/01/2011

by Cindy from southwest

I've wanted to upgrade my binoculars for years - my problem though, is that I was totally spoiled. My parents are passionate birders and have $2,000 bionculars. I wasn't going to pay that, but then anything else I looked through was a letdown.

I was out with a local birding group when someone lent me a pair of these and pointed out another serious birder who also was using them. They are so easy to focus, have a nice feel and weight and the light gathering ability is wonderful. They aren't as good as the $2,000 binocs - but they don't miss it by much! Excellent, excellent bargain. I am so happy I bought these and use them everyday!

I Can See Clearly Now! - 08/30/2011

by Sharon from Front Royal, VA

The Eagle Optics Ranger 8X42 provide a clear image at an affordable price. The focus is easy to use. Previously, my choice in optics was limited to compact binoculars due to my eyes being close together. These are the first full size binoculars that adjust for individuals of all sizes!

I am headed to the Cloud Forest and Galapagos with confidence that I have the right optics. Thank you!

I own three pairs of Eagle Optics Binoculars - 08/09/2011

by Isabella from United States

I am a birder and I own three pairs of Eagle Optics, two 8 x 42's and one 12 x 50. I love to share a view of a bird through my binoculars with folks using other instruments because they are always impressed by Eagle Optic's speed of focus, light and clarity of detail.

Great binos and great warranty - 07/30/2011

by David from Delmar, NY

Just got back from a few days of intensive shorebirding on Cape Cod with my new Ranger 8x42s, and I have to say I love them - and love Eagle Optics.

I say I "love" Eagle Optics because I got my Rangers at no cost - Eagle honored its unconditional lifetime warranty on a pair of Eagle Platinum 8x42s (an old porro prism design, since discontinued) that I had bought years ago. I used those Platinums happily until this spring, when some idiot (me) left them out in the rain and they fogged up. Since they were marked "waterproof" (even though that's harder to do with porros than with roof-prism binos like the Ranger) I sent them back to Eagle for repair. They replied that they didn't have parts so they were shipping me a new pair of Ranger 8x42s under the Platinums' lifetime warranty - and since the warranty was unconditional it didn't matter that it was my fault.

These new Ranger 8x42s are just wonderful - sharp and bright, easy to handle, focus close. In all-day use they proved light and well balanced, and my eyes stayed relaxed and comfortable staring through them for hour after hour. I couldn't be happier. I highly recommend them - and Eagle Optics' warranty, too.

Great Binocs - 07/26/2011

by Chris from York, PA

I had a pair of these several years ago, but I let someone take them to a concert,
and they disappeared.After a while, I really began to miss them. My Orion 7x50 and my
Pentax 8x24 compact binocs just couldn't take their place. I researched and re-thought
what to get, and eventually decided on the Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 again.
I think the old ones didn't have the dielectric prism coating as these new ones do,
but otherwise, they're the same binocular. They're very sharp center to edge,
good eye relief, which is a must for me, since I have about 3-4 dipoters of astigmatism,
adequate angle of view, light, sturdy, well-aligned, and contrasty.
The ability to focus to almost 5 feet is a real plus.

My runner up choice would have been the new Eagle 8x42 ED Ranger,
but the increased cost, weight and size were factors against them, although they do have the ED optics and a wider field of view. I'm very happy with my choice for the second time, and if
I lost these, I'd kick myself, then get a third pair.

Good, but wear-and-tear issues - 06/30/2011

by Jim from Corvallis, Oregon

The pair I purchased was the second pair I got of the 8x42 ranger model, and I got it because I was happy with the first pair I got. I haven't had any issues with the new pair yet, but when I'm in the field I often switch between viewing birds with sunglasses on and off. I've found that over time the eye cups that screw up (to use without glasses) and down (to use with glasses) are no longer smooth, move up and down unevenly, and sometimes get stuck in place. Since I've needed the pair for this summer (I do research on birds) I haven't bother to send them in and, for that matter, I'm not sure that is covered under the warranty; if it is, please let me know. I've also had the rubber central dial cap come off a couple times which has made it a bit difficult to focus. Perhaps I should send them in when the field season is over.