Free Shipping

Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular

BIN-EO-RGR-4208
On Sale!
Sale Price: $249.00
List Price: $399.00
You Save: $150.00 (37%)
  • Customer Rating: (264 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 37% $249.00
Promotion

Receive a FREE Eagle Optics hat with the purchase of an Eagle Optics binocular. To redeem this offer, enter coupon code EOHAT at checkout. Offer good while supplies last.


A nature enthusiast's desire to provide others with quality optics at a reasonable price resulted in the long-popular Eagle Optics Ranger binocular. Well known for its high-performance, the Ranger now includes dielectric coatings that jump reflectivity to more than 99% across the full visible range. That means optimal light transmission and excellent color fidelity. Ranger owners especially favor the superior edge-to-edge sharpness, light weight, durable body, close focus, and affordable price. Eagle Optics provides a Platinum Protection lifetime, no-fault warranty. See for yourself why our customers love taking the Ranger on a hike down the road or a trip around the world.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
Dielectric Prism Coatings Optimize light transmission.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Multi-position Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 341 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 19.5 mm
Close Focus 5.2 feet
Weight 21.8 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.8 x 5.1 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 264

Average Rating:

value - 05/24/2012

by ken from alameda, ca

I'm not sure how they do it, but the quality of the Eagle brand binoculars is just amazing. I looked at higher priced models from many others, including Nikon and Alpen, and nothing came close. They feel nice in your hands and are as steady as can be. Excellent.

Big Bang for the Bucks - 05/24/2012

by Jane from PA

I bought these binoculars for my husband's birthday. He is a beginner who accompanies me on some forays and is getting more interested so I wanted to encourage him. And, he loves them! They are very bright and clear and easy to focus. Quite a nice binocular for the price. Highly recommended!

I love my new binoculars - 05/18/2012

by Jean from LaSalle Colorado

I've been using my dads binoculars for the last forty years (thinking if they were good enough for him they're good enough for me). Well I wish I would have bought these sooner. They are wonderful! It's amazing how much light comes in and how far off I can view and identify birds. I'm sure my dad would have up-graded earlier. Highly recommend my Eagle 8 x 42 binoculars.

Thanks

We're fans of Eagle Optics! - 05/16/2012

by Judith from Rockford, IL

Our 2 binoculars arrived right on time; just as our Scope had when we ordered it. They are
wonderful! It is like seeing all of our 'life birds' all over again - - with the new found clarity and
color accuracy of our new Eagle Optics Ranger!
We took them on vacation, in the Saint Louis, MO area, and did a lot of exciting bird watching with them. Birds were easy to ID even in dim lighting! We'd recommend The 8X42 Eagle Optics
Ranger to anyone! If birds aren't plentiful, check out the butterflies! They worked great for
those too!

Must Have - 05/04/2012

by Rob from Northwestern WI

These binos are every bit as good as their $600 counterparts. I ordered these for birding and wildlife watching and have not been let down. I ordered these Tuesday morning and was birding with them Wednesday night...granted only about 200 miles on the Fedex truck. If you are looking for a clear, crystal clear set of binos, the Ranger will not let you down...plus warranty alone is worth $300.

Great Service! - 05/01/2012

by JPOB from Oklahoma

Received my order very quickly. Nicely packaged and in great shape. I'm very happy with the quality of the optics and the service. The warranty is awesome. Thank you.

Love the binoculars - 04/25/2012

by Jerry from Tennessee

My wife and I love the Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 binoculars which we bought a month ago. Their image, brightness, and clarity are so much better than our other old standard and still adequate binoculars, which are a compact 10x25 and a zoom 7-15 x 35. Wildlife is viewed quite clearly even during semi-darkness at daybreak and dusk. Besides the normal ability to focus at moderate-to-long distances, the Eagle Ranger binoculars have a very close-up focus (5.2 feet), which is great for birds very close up when in the back yard or on hikes, and for wildflowers or other flora not easily viewed close up on hikes. They are comfortable to hold while hiking, and also the neck strap is very comfortable.

Its one serious disadvantage is that its carry-case (able to be worn on the belt) is not designed to fit with the binoculars’ neck strap attached. I like to keep the binoculars in the belt carry-case on long hikes and only take them out to wear them around my neck in those portions of hikes when in areas to view nature sites, wildlife, and flora. With great difficulty, I cumbersomely get the binoculars (with the neck strap attached) in and out of the belt carry-case. Moreover, there’s no place to store the neck strap when the binoculars are simply being stored in the case at home or in the car. Nevertheless, I am very pleased with the binoculars themselves.

Great Binoculars - 04/25/2012

by Denise from Apex NC

I have purchased at least 8 of these binoculars over the years for my family.Without exception everyone finds them easy to use for bird watching. Our Ranger 8x42 binoculars have been to Europe, Costa Rica, the Galapagos, Alaska and most of the western states.They have dealt with the humidity here in the south, dust storms out west and being packed everywhere. They have handled everything without a problem.

A new esperience ! - 04/23/2012

by Frank from Orosi Costa Rica

I receive my Ranger this week-end, a friend brought them for me from Miami, he had them since mid February (maybe he enjoyed them) and i was excited to probe my new bin's !
Excellent product ! I had before marine 7x50 binoculars with individual adjustment (stolen, that's why i ordered the Rangers) and having the central knob for adjustment is amazing and you can adjust very quickly.
I mainly use them for bird and nature watching, the optic is very crispy and has a lot of luminosity.
I appreciate too the very near focus range.
Very good product (I'm not specialist but not see so much difference with an old Swarovski i try one day) for the price.
Only Con's : Made in China ...

Eagle Optics Ranger 8X42 - 04/19/2012

by Rebecca from Indianapolis

Excellent value for the money I wanted to spent. The same quality for 'name brands' was significantly higher.

Great Views - 04/18/2012

by Jim from Oviedo, FL

Bought these for a small boat cruise in Alaska later this Spring, so they have not had their trial by fire, yet. In the meantime they have been sea kayaking twice and performed flawlessly. They are light, reasonably compact, amazing clarity and easy to focus. As the EO rep suggested, when they came back salt encrusted from the kayaking trips I would just dunk them in a pail of clean water, dry them off and they were ready to go. They are rugged, fit my needs and inexpensive for the quality of the optics.

Birding Joy - 04/15/2012

by Doris from Ithaca, NY

I purchased these binoculars for a birding class and have been delighted with the size, clarity and ease of care. The company reputation and the price made this purchase a great investment for a beginning birder.

What a Joy! - 04/10/2012

by Rebecca from San Diego, CA

The binoculars are wonderful! Love that the lens
protectors easily dangle and the front ones are
one piece to quickly store in my pocket. I had
instant adaptability to my new closeness with our
shore birds. Looking forward to enjoying the stained
glass of the Gothic cathedrals in Europe. Thank
you for this totally useful design and comfortable
case & strap!

Great beginner pair of binoculars! - 03/29/2012

by Janet from Bergen County, New Jersey

I am an amateur birder that has been using a cheap pair of binoculars that I've had for years. Then, I decided to splurge and spend $200 for a better pair. Well, it's like night and day. These binoculars are so clear and crisp! I can't believe what I've been missing. The neck strap is quite comfortable, as well. Seeing how well these work, I can't imagine what a $500 pair would be like! These bins are well worth the money.

Excellent product and service - 03/28/2012

by Louise from 92637

Excellent product and service......I couldn't expect more!

Outstanding value for the price - 03/25/2012

by Dwight from Hastings, MN

Needing to buy better binoculars for bird-watching, I researched a variety of brands at a range of prices. I'm not willing to spend the kind of money a good friend and fellow birdwatcher did, but I really like his 8X42 Leicas. The Ranger 8X42s are excellent; clarity and easy focus comparable to much more expensive glasses, and quickly adjustable for different users. The close focus is actually better than my friend's Leicas. I've used them on a number of outings in different conditions, and their performance in low-light is particularly good. Their weight makes them easy to hike with for hours. They are an excellent price-to-quality value.

ranger 8x42 - 03/20/2012

by melarie from california

A great binocular for a novice birder. Easy to set up and focus.

Ranger 8X42s - 03/13/2012

by Charles from Landenburg, PA

Great value; optics as good as my 8X40 Leitz (Leica) Trinovids and they are lighter and focus closer in.

Excellent Value - The "Always With You" Binocs - 03/10/2012

by P. Durkin from Chicago, IL

For years I have been out and about in the car, and wishing I had a pair of binoculars with me for a walk in a preserve or park, or where ever. But my Leica's were at home, and I would as often as not pass on the walk.

I finally purchased this pair of binoculars, and they are great! Good eye relief. Good magnification and field of view, great color rendition. I keep them in a bird kit in the car.

The warranty is exceptional.

Now I never feel that I can't take that walk because of lack of equipment. And any one who has dealt with Eagle Optics can have confidence in the experienced sales staff, great prices, and excellent customer service. These folks are dedicated birders and serve the birding community exceptionally well.

Love, love, love this binoculars! - 03/02/2012

by Diane from York, Maine

Shipping time was right on for these binoculars. I have been birding for many years with less than par binoculars. I ordered the Ranger 8x42 to arrive just in time for the Great Backyard Bird Count which I have taken part in for about 6 years. Living near the ocean gave me a great chance to count sea birds that I could finally see well enough to identify. The clarity and quick focus are just ideal. I would recommend these to anyone who enjoys birding.

Miracle Eyes - 03/01/2012

by Mary from Bryan, Texas

I am a newbie to the bird watching and my older binoculars were ok but after using This Pair I am astounded at the ease of focus and the SPECTACULAR CLEARNESS. I CALL THEM MY MIRACLE BINOCULARS!!!

Best i have ever used - 02/29/2012

by Phillip from Woodstock Ga

These optics are the best I have ever used in my life. I would highly recommend them to anyone that does bird watching. I have always had more inexpensive pairs but I have now learned that you get what you pay for.

Dh review - 02/29/2012

by Diane from Lewisville, Texas

I am enjoying them!

Ranger 8 X 42 Binoc - 02/28/2012

by Richard from Port Aransas, TX

Bird coloring really becomes vivid. Great optics.

Great optics! Light weight!! Easy to aim and focus!!! - 02/20/2012

by Alice from McLean, VA

Because I am planning to go on a trip on the Amazon River, I just bought an Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 binocular.

Actually, I had been quite satisfied with my Bushnell Legend 9x25 binocular, but since we will be viewing nature under a canopy of trees, the trip leader suggested that I buy a new binocular with a wider aperture for better light transmission.

When I took my new Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 binocular on an early morning walk to see familiar birds in a local park, I immediately noticed that increasing the aperture size from 25mm to 42mm had made everything appear significantly brighter. As expected, this new binocular had all the other features that were advertised!...nice sharp focus, bright colors, fog proof, light weight, etc. This binoculars will not only provide me with better viewing of birds, but also better close-focusing for flowers and butterflies!

But, there was a wonderful surprise feature. I could quickly aim and focus the Ranger, even with one hand! This feature came as a total surprise, since I am a petite lady with small hands.

P E R F E C T! - 02/16/2012

by Gabriel from New Hope, Virginia

I have had my Eagle Optics Range 8X42s for almost a year now and I look forward to go out with them everyday. I've had various binoculars in the past and they've all had one problem or another. Too dark, don't focus right, or whatever. Not the Eagle Optics! These are bright, clear, in one word PERFECT! And best of all, the guaranteed lifetime warranty, very nice for me being a 12-year old who has previously dropped his spotting scope and a different pair of binoculars.

In my mind, best binocs out there!

Ranger 8x42 - 02/14/2012

by David from Texas

My new Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular has lived up to my expectations. For someone who wears glasses, this binocular is terrific. I wanted a binocular that would work well with glasses and be easy to carry. I also wanted to be able to quickly focus on something of interest, including something that was within a few feet. Finally, I wanted to easily be able to keep the binocular close at hand in the front of my SUV without taking up a lot of room or being obtrusive. All of my expectations have been met. I love this binocular.

Amazing - 02/07/2012

by Mary from London, Ontario

I bought these Last Spring for my Birthday for birding cause My boyfriend has a pair of binoculars but I always had to share them with him, he doesn't own Eagle Optics but now he wishes he had Eagle Optics, he finds there is no shake and the quality of glass is so much more clearer, I am going to buy him a pair of Eagle Optics for his Birthday come fall as he just loves mine, but mine have been discontinued so I will have to get him the next ones up from mine,we both belong to a nature club and some members cannot get over the quality of Eagle Optics, last fathers day, my dad tried to sneak my pair in his gift bag but I caught him and ended up buying him a pair of Eagle Optics a month later, everyone just loves my binoculars and I would never buy anything else, I have looked through many binoculars that my birding friends have and just don't care for them, with Eagle Optics there is no shake at all like I mentioned before and I have 10 x 42 as most birders have 8 x 42, but mine are perfect, very very happy with mine and I strongly recommend them to the people of my camera club that I also belong to. I bought mine at Bird's Unlimited here in London and will buy more Eagle Optics, no question about that at all,thanks for making great bin's.
Happy Birding
Mary

Excellent Binocs! - 02/06/2012

by Dana from Michigan

I have been issued a pair of these binoculars for the past two years during the field season, and I finally decided to get a pair of my own. Working in northern Michigan has its fair share of weather changes and habitat changes, and these binoculars have stood the tests of the elements time and time again.

Pros:
- Have never fogged up during early morning work.
- Have never gotten water-logged from rain or dropping in puddles.
- "Fast" and easy to focus when chasing small birds and other critters through the woods.
- Great for scanning/focusing on anything from 4 ft away (like small butterflies) to across fields (I've taken them out hunting as well).
- Rugged enough to withstand being dropped several times and no scratches, chips, or cracks, and they clean up pretty easily too (they've fallen in mud and have been completely covered in tree pollen on a few occasions).

Possible Con:
The only thing that's bugging me about my new binocs vs. my issued set is that the neck strap seems to be shorter on my new set. While in the field, I wear them bandolier-style so they don't hit me in the gut while navigating through nature. They hang at my side then, allowing me to simply pull them right into position when I need them. I'm having a harder time pulling them into position with my new set than I remember with my issued set. But maybe it's just me; I can always buy a longer strap if I really want it. (I say "seems" because I don't yet have my issued set to compare them to.)

All in all, these are some great, tough binocs that have served me well recreationally and for my wildlife field position. You definitely get your money's worth. :)

Winter Texan - 01/31/2012

by David from Mercedes, Texas

Our second pair of birding binoculars from Eagle. Was so impressed with the first order.

These are just as good - great ordering and shipping process (free within US . We are Canadian so real bonus to have a temporary warm winter US address.)

Only disappointment with this pair was the "Made in China" label on the product. I really thought it would be a US product.