Free Shipping

Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular

BIN-EO-RGR-4208
On Sale!
Sale Price: $249.00
List Price: $399.00
You Save: $150.00 (37%)
  • Customer Rating: (277 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 37% $249.00

A nature enthusiast's desire to provide others with quality optics at a reasonable price resulted in the long-popular Eagle Optics Ranger binocular. Well known for its high-performance, the Ranger now includes dielectric coatings that jump reflectivity to more than 99% across the full visible range. That means optimal light transmission and excellent color fidelity. Ranger owners especially favor the superior edge-to-edge sharpness, light weight, durable body, close focus, and affordable price. Eagle Optics provides a Platinum Protection lifetime, no-fault warranty. See for yourself why our customers love taking the Ranger on a hike down the road or a trip around the world.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
Dielectric Prism Coatings Optimize light transmission.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Multi-position Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 341 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 19.5 mm
Close Focus 5.2 feet
Weight 21.8 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.8 x 5.1 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 277

Average Rating:

Don't mess with a good thing! - 11/02/2012

by Ronald S. from Washington

We bought our first "Eagle Optics Ranger Platinum Class" 8x42 about 10 years ago. We, my wife and grandchildren all use these and in all kinds of weather conditions. One pair isn't enough and we couldn't find any that compared to the bright image,ease of operation and feel. We even looked at binoculars costing over $2,000. I went on-line and was able to buy the "Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42" and other then a very slight change in the outer design they are the same. The field of view is excellent giving you the ability to use them for long periods of time without eye fatigue. We always share the view with others and everyone always ask, who makes these? We tell them and couldn't be happier. We bought them again, you should try a pair! Next pair will be the new "ED" version.

strap failed - 10/09/2012

by Donna from Olympia, WA

I bought the binoculars for my trip to Africa. I spent 11 full days on a Land Cruiser on bumpy roads on safari drives. I installed the strap per the instructions. While riding in the vehicle, the strap slipped through the buckle two times and the new binoculars almost fell to the floor. I finally fixed the problem with safety pins at both ends to hold the strap around my neck. They certainly need to find a better way to hold the strap secure.

Eagle Optic Ranger review - 10/02/2012

by Ann from MN

I was looking for some binoculars as a gift for my husband. An avid birder told me about Eagle Optics. Gave them a call and described how the binoculars would be used. The employee told me that the 8 x 42 Ranger would suit my needs. He was correct and so far they have been the best pair of binoculars we have owned. Thank you!

stands up to student use - 09/21/2012

by glenn from southern vermont

we purchased several pair of 8x42 rangers a few years ago for our high school science dept. they are a joy to use and have held up quite well unlike so many binos we have had in the past. when it came time to add more, we went with 8x42 rangers again. these new ones have the dielectric coatings and yes, they are noticeably brighter, especially in low light conditions. not that i'd ditch the old ones, but this is a major improvement. a rugged, reasonably priced binocular with very good performance and an excellent warranty. thanks eagle!

Pleased so far - 09/14/2012

by K Millward from Seattle, WA

I'm becoming more serious about birding and chose this binocular on a friend's advice. I tried it on a birding trip 2 weeks ago, and it worked well.

Good binocular, right price - 09/07/2012

by Kelly from United States

I bought these after using a similar pair in one of my field courses in college. It's a great pair of binos at the right price. They are simple to focus and adjust, and high quality. The warranty makes them worth it too.

I field tested Atlas Intrepid, Vanguard Endeavor and EO Ranger - 08/15/2012

by Susan from Minneapolis, MN

I found EO Ranger to be the best for me.

Atlas Intrepid
Pros:Nice feel for thumb indentations, open hinge design.
Cons: Heavier than other binocs, slack in focus wheel, drag in focus wheel, lens caps too loose.

Vanguard Endeavor
Pros: Focus wheel very smooth, nice thumb indentations, comfortable grippy enterior, open hinge design, long strap for over the shoulder, very nice case.
Cons:heavier, slight slack in focus wheel, too short focus travel(270 degrees)

EO Rangers
Pros:light weight, nice feel, smooth focus wheel, comprable optics for me
Con : short strap

Special thanks to Ben at Eagle Optics.

Great for Biding - 07/27/2012

by Jeff from Colorado

As a birder, I have about five pair of bino's of all sizes, however, my ranger is the best. BAK4 prisms, waterproof, they are great for any outing. Very sharp optics! Highly recommend.

Nice - 07/17/2012

by Ben from Illinois

Definitely a good purchase and highly recommended. Solid build quality, nice focal range (I can even focus on the pebbles at my feet), clear and bright.

Bird Trip Review - 07/01/2012

by Hazel from Virginia

Took my new Rangers on a 3-day trip in eastern Virginia...they were wonderful. Clear vision, light-weight but provided a wide field of vision. Thanks, Eagle Optics.

8x42 binocular - 06/21/2012

by david from saipan northern mariana islands USA

We can now see the name on the ships that are entering the port of Saipan , from our house. Very pleased with them.

Ranger 8 X 42 Good Stuff - 06/14/2012

by Greg from West Michigan

I've had my Ranger 8 X 42 Binoculars for several years and I like them a lot for birding. My most recent purchase was a similar pair for a friend so he could give them as a gift to his email snooping wife. She's crazy about them. They are her first serious optics. I'm soon to transfer my 8 X 42s to full time in-car status and will probably buy the 10 X 42 model as my next birding binocular since my birding habits and targets have changed a bit. Great binocular, great price....two thumbs up.

Just ok - 05/25/2012

by Ann from DE

I thought adding a few $$ would be an improvement on a set of binoculars, I already have. Not so. I own a 10x42 Master Pro set and like them much more. We fight over who gets the 10x42 set! Paid about $169 for them.
Would recommend looking thru them first. The Eagles are a good backup!

value - 05/24/2012

by ken from alameda, ca

I'm not sure how they do it, but the quality of the Eagle brand binoculars is just amazing. I looked at higher priced models from many others, including Nikon and Alpen, and nothing came close. They feel nice in your hands and are as steady as can be. Excellent.

Big Bang for the Bucks - 05/24/2012

by Jane from PA

I bought these binoculars for my husband's birthday. He is a beginner who accompanies me on some forays and is getting more interested so I wanted to encourage him. And, he loves them! They are very bright and clear and easy to focus. Quite a nice binocular for the price. Highly recommended!

I love my new binoculars - 05/18/2012

by Jean from LaSalle Colorado

I've been using my dads binoculars for the last forty years (thinking if they were good enough for him they're good enough for me). Well I wish I would have bought these sooner. They are wonderful! It's amazing how much light comes in and how far off I can view and identify birds. I'm sure my dad would have up-graded earlier. Highly recommend my Eagle 8 x 42 binoculars.

Thanks

We're fans of Eagle Optics! - 05/16/2012

by Judith from Rockford, IL

Our 2 binoculars arrived right on time; just as our Scope had when we ordered it. They are
wonderful! It is like seeing all of our 'life birds' all over again - - with the new found clarity and
color accuracy of our new Eagle Optics Ranger!
We took them on vacation, in the Saint Louis, MO area, and did a lot of exciting bird watching with them. Birds were easy to ID even in dim lighting! We'd recommend The 8X42 Eagle Optics
Ranger to anyone! If birds aren't plentiful, check out the butterflies! They worked great for
those too!

Must Have - 05/04/2012

by Rob from Northwestern WI

These binos are every bit as good as their $600 counterparts. I ordered these for birding and wildlife watching and have not been let down. I ordered these Tuesday morning and was birding with them Wednesday night...granted only about 200 miles on the Fedex truck. If you are looking for a clear, crystal clear set of binos, the Ranger will not let you down...plus warranty alone is worth $300.

Great Service! - 05/01/2012

by JPOB from Oklahoma

Received my order very quickly. Nicely packaged and in great shape. I'm very happy with the quality of the optics and the service. The warranty is awesome. Thank you.

Love the binoculars - 04/25/2012

by Jerry from Tennessee

My wife and I love the Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 binoculars which we bought a month ago. Their image, brightness, and clarity are so much better than our other old standard and still adequate binoculars, which are a compact 10x25 and a zoom 7-15 x 35. Wildlife is viewed quite clearly even during semi-darkness at daybreak and dusk. Besides the normal ability to focus at moderate-to-long distances, the Eagle Ranger binoculars have a very close-up focus (5.2 feet), which is great for birds very close up when in the back yard or on hikes, and for wildflowers or other flora not easily viewed close up on hikes. They are comfortable to hold while hiking, and also the neck strap is very comfortable.

Its one serious disadvantage is that its carry-case (able to be worn on the belt) is not designed to fit with the binoculars’ neck strap attached. I like to keep the binoculars in the belt carry-case on long hikes and only take them out to wear them around my neck in those portions of hikes when in areas to view nature sites, wildlife, and flora. With great difficulty, I cumbersomely get the binoculars (with the neck strap attached) in and out of the belt carry-case. Moreover, there’s no place to store the neck strap when the binoculars are simply being stored in the case at home or in the car. Nevertheless, I am very pleased with the binoculars themselves.

Great Binoculars - 04/25/2012

by Denise from Apex NC

I have purchased at least 8 of these binoculars over the years for my family.Without exception everyone finds them easy to use for bird watching. Our Ranger 8x42 binoculars have been to Europe, Costa Rica, the Galapagos, Alaska and most of the western states.They have dealt with the humidity here in the south, dust storms out west and being packed everywhere. They have handled everything without a problem.

A new esperience ! - 04/23/2012

by Frank from Orosi Costa Rica

I receive my Ranger this week-end, a friend brought them for me from Miami, he had them since mid February (maybe he enjoyed them) and i was excited to probe my new bin's !
Excellent product ! I had before marine 7x50 binoculars with individual adjustment (stolen, that's why i ordered the Rangers) and having the central knob for adjustment is amazing and you can adjust very quickly.
I mainly use them for bird and nature watching, the optic is very crispy and has a lot of luminosity.
I appreciate too the very near focus range.
Very good product (I'm not specialist but not see so much difference with an old Swarovski i try one day) for the price.
Only Con's : Made in China ...

Eagle Optics Ranger 8X42 - 04/19/2012

by Rebecca from Indianapolis

Excellent value for the money I wanted to spent. The same quality for 'name brands' was significantly higher.

Great Views - 04/18/2012

by Jim from Oviedo, FL

Bought these for a small boat cruise in Alaska later this Spring, so they have not had their trial by fire, yet. In the meantime they have been sea kayaking twice and performed flawlessly. They are light, reasonably compact, amazing clarity and easy to focus. As the EO rep suggested, when they came back salt encrusted from the kayaking trips I would just dunk them in a pail of clean water, dry them off and they were ready to go. They are rugged, fit my needs and inexpensive for the quality of the optics.

Birding Joy - 04/15/2012

by Doris from Ithaca, NY

I purchased these binoculars for a birding class and have been delighted with the size, clarity and ease of care. The company reputation and the price made this purchase a great investment for a beginning birder.

What a Joy! - 04/10/2012

by Rebecca from San Diego, CA

The binoculars are wonderful! Love that the lens
protectors easily dangle and the front ones are
one piece to quickly store in my pocket. I had
instant adaptability to my new closeness with our
shore birds. Looking forward to enjoying the stained
glass of the Gothic cathedrals in Europe. Thank
you for this totally useful design and comfortable
case & strap!

Great beginner pair of binoculars! - 03/29/2012

by Janet from Bergen County, New Jersey

I am an amateur birder that has been using a cheap pair of binoculars that I've had for years. Then, I decided to splurge and spend $200 for a better pair. Well, it's like night and day. These binoculars are so clear and crisp! I can't believe what I've been missing. The neck strap is quite comfortable, as well. Seeing how well these work, I can't imagine what a $500 pair would be like! These bins are well worth the money.

Excellent product and service - 03/28/2012

by Louise from 92637

Excellent product and service......I couldn't expect more!

Outstanding value for the price - 03/25/2012

by Dwight from Hastings, MN

Needing to buy better binoculars for bird-watching, I researched a variety of brands at a range of prices. I'm not willing to spend the kind of money a good friend and fellow birdwatcher did, but I really like his 8X42 Leicas. The Ranger 8X42s are excellent; clarity and easy focus comparable to much more expensive glasses, and quickly adjustable for different users. The close focus is actually better than my friend's Leicas. I've used them on a number of outings in different conditions, and their performance in low-light is particularly good. Their weight makes them easy to hike with for hours. They are an excellent price-to-quality value.

ranger 8x42 - 03/20/2012

by melarie from california

A great binocular for a novice birder. Easy to set up and focus.

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: