Free Shipping

Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular

BIN-EO-RGR-4208
On Sale!
Sale Price: $249.00
List Price: $399.00
You Save: $150.00 (37%)
  • Customer Rating: (267 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 37% $249.00

A nature enthusiast's desire to provide others with quality optics at a reasonable price resulted in the long-popular Eagle Optics Ranger binocular. Well known for its high-performance, the Ranger now includes dielectric coatings that jump reflectivity to more than 99% across the full visible range. That means optimal light transmission and excellent color fidelity. Ranger owners especially favor the superior edge-to-edge sharpness, light weight, durable body, close focus, and affordable price. Eagle Optics provides a Platinum Protection lifetime, no-fault warranty. See for yourself why our customers love taking the Ranger on a hike down the road or a trip around the world.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
Dielectric Prism Coatings Optimize light transmission.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Multi-position Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 341 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 19.5 mm
Close Focus 5.2 feet
Weight 21.8 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.8 x 5.1 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 267

Average Rating:

Top-notch binoculars - 04/23/2013

by Susan C. from Roswell NM

I am very satisfied with my purchase. As an amateur birder, I was so happy to find something with a close focus and eye relief for such a reasonable price. The videos on the website were surprisingly helpful, and I had never seen anything like them before from another manufacturer.
The customer service response time via e-mail was quick, and the people were very helpful and courteous in answering a rather silly, aka stupid, question.

Good job - 04/16/2013

by V. S. from Johnston, IA

I was very pleased with my new Eagle Optics Ranger 8 x 42 binoculars. I called before my purchase and received a prompt answer and helpful information from your staff. My new binoculars arrived very quickly after I placed my order, and I'm very pleased with them.

I certainly would recommend Eagle Optics to my friends.

Great buy! - 03/31/2013

by Amber from Charlotte, NC

I love these binoculars. Purchased them in January 2013 and I have gotten so much great use out of them. Considering the price I am very very happy! I know there are better binoculars out there but they are also $2,000-3,000.

I don't think I've missed out with these and use them daily.

Highly recommend them.

Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular - 03/28/2013

by Marilyn H. from Camden Maine

Haven't used them a lot yet but so far excellent. Only problem was that I also got the harness and the strap wouldn't go through the side of the binocular where it should. Not enough space. Had to jury rig the thing.

8x42 Rangers - 03/24/2013

by Roy Y. from San Antonio,Tx

These were recommend to me by a friend and am very pleased with them.
They are light and easy to adjust. I would recommend this product to anyone.

EO Ranger Excellent for Field Work - 03/19/2013

by Linnea from United States

I have used the Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 for 7 years now - primarily for avian field research. They are made well and are very durable - my pair has withstood many falls, rainstorms, sand, etc. The lifetime warranty is a huge perk - I've sent in my binoculars a few times for small repairs, and they are returned in near-perfect condition to me. I have 2 small complaints - one is that the glue holding the eye cups on wears out with heavy/wet/field use, and the eye cups spin freely. My other complaint is that in cold or rainy weather, the anti-fog lenses do actually fog up. Overall, well worth the price.

Great Bino's - 02/26/2013

by Don R. from Florida

Being a retired wild life biologist I have very often used much more expensive Bino's. These glasses are surprisingly close to them in quality. Great for eyeglass wearers.

Great product and customer service - 02/23/2013

by Beth from Knoxville

My husband wanted binoculars for his birthday to start bird watching. A friend suggested eagle optics. I researched online and called. Website is easy to navigate and customer service was helpful and professional. I would suggest eagle optics to anyone that wants binoculars.

Great Buy - 02/22/2013

by Fran from Wisconsin

Bought the Ranger 8X42 binoculars based on excellent reviews from birding sites. I am a newbie birder but these are such a joy to use compared to two other old and relatively cheap pairs. I wear glasses and these are very accomodating. I really appreciate the greater peripheral vision. It would be nice if the distance amplified was a bit farther.

Eagle eyes - 02/21/2013

by Billie S. from Montrose, CO

My $300 Eagle binocular has changed my life and plunged me deep into birding madness. It's so easy to set and readjust, it's almost ridiculous. One reviewer complained about some flimsiness in attaching the strap that links binocular to neck, so I just double-knotted mine on each side to sidestep any risks. (I don't even know if there truly is a risk, but I love this binocular too much to chance it. Thanks Eagle!

eagle eyes - 02/14/2013

by donna from central virginia

I really love the Eagle Optics Rangers! They are easy to focus and use! Bird watching will be lots of fun now! i can't believe what I've been missing all these years using low grade binoculars! High quality! great price, now if could just pry them from my husbands hands, i may get to use them!

excellent upgrade - 02/13/2013

by Bill P. from oklahoma

This is my 2nd pair of eagle binoculars. The 1st pair was Denali but the were stolen. I replaced them with the Ranger 8x42. These are a good upgrade in optics for clarity and low light situations. They are about the same in weight and the case is much better.

Eagle Optics Ranger 8X42 Binocular - 02/02/2013

by Bob B. from Nayarit, Mexico

My 8X42's have opened up a whole new world!! Initially, my fingers tended to slip off the material on the focus knob, but I learned to use two fingers instead of one, an easy adjustment. I ordered from Mexico, using a credit card win an ID address, and requested that my binos be shipped to a CO address. I received immediate notification to call Eagle to verify my order, a degree of security that I very much appreciated. These binoculars are perfect for me.

Binoc Review - 01/24/2013

by Judy A. from Walnut Creek, CA

I am very happy with my Eagle Optics binoculars. I have been using them for about a week preparing for an African safari. They are easy to focus and the lighting seems excellent. At first I was concerned with the weight but the more I use them it does not seem to be an issue. I think they will be perfect for this trip.

Extremely pleased - 01/24/2013

by Carolyn from West Lafayette, IN

A biology professor and his wife, both avid birders, recommended these to me and I am extremely pleased. The depth of focus is phenomenal and they are comfortable and fairly lightweight in my hands (very lightweight compared to my Dad's expensive Bosch and Lomb pair). I was floored when they showed up at my doorstep in about 24 hours (WI to IN) through normal shipping rates. Eagle even has a birding blog which I follow.

Great Christmas Gift!aintiTi - 01/09/2013

by Norman R. from Bryn Mawr, PA

My wife's binoculars had been deteriorating with age and I decided to buy her a new pair as a Christmas gift. I have owned a pair of Eagle Optics 12X50 Ranger binoculars for years and have been very pleased with both their quality and durability. My wife has been very pleased with her 8X42's since Christmas Day and I am sure she will be happy with them for many years to come.

A Great Value... A Great Choice - 01/08/2013

by PeaEye G. from Alaska

We purchased our first pair of Ranger 8X42 binoculars last May during the Kachemak Bay Shorebird Festival in Homer, Alaska. (Eagle Optics was a sponsor of the event and had a rep on hand with many samples to try.) We wanted a pair of good birding binoculars that could also serve for viewing the wildlife that frequents our property (mostly moose and black bear). We chose the Ranger 8X42s because of their light gathering ability, exceptional clarity, and ability to focus on very near objects as well as distant ones. We also felt they were a great value, given their features, and we have been tremendously pleased with our decision. Although we owned five other pairs of binoculars, and were not familiar with the Eagle Optics brand, we decided to buy these in hopes that they would become our "go to" binoculars for birding. This they quickly did. Although they are significantly larger than my Swarovski 10X25s, the Ranger 8X42s are still compact and lightweight. In addition, they are exceptionally durable with well-designed lens caps. I would highly recommend these binoculars without reservation. Recently, we looked to purchase a pair of quality birding binoculars as a Christmas gift. Although my wife and I were extremely pleased with our purchase from Eagle Optics, we thought we would also look at the Nikon Monarch 8X42s. After careful consideration, we purchased another pair of the Rangers as a gift and the recipient has been greatly pleased with our selection. As spring gets closer, with the migrants eventual return to Alaska, I am thinking it would be nice if my wife and I didn't have to always share the one best pair of binoculars we now own. I believe the purchase of one more pair of Ranger 8X42s may be in our future. I know I can buy these again with confidence and can reassure others that should feel that way as well.

Still Great Binoculars - 01/05/2013

by Dave K from Blythewood, SC

My wife and I are butterfliers and both of us own Eagle Optics binoculars. Her original Ranger 8x42 set has gotten pretty beat up over the years (she uses them almost daily) and had mentioned it might be nice to have a new set which she got for Christmas. We are both still amazed at the quality and close focusing capability (important when viewing butterflies) of these binolulars. We have recommended them to many other new and experienced butterfliers in the past and we will continue to recommend them in the future.

Great for birding - 01/04/2013

by Raleigh M. from Oakland, Ca

My wife and I have had our binoculars for well over a year. We have started birding and found these binoculars to be perfect. As I get older I was worried about getting enough light to see distant objects and found these binoculars to be a real comfort in their ability to gather light. They have seen quite a bit of service, not always treated as well as they should have been perhaps, and we have just sent our first pair back for some adjustment. The Customer Service we have received in purchasing them, and now in having them adjusted, will keep us Eagle Optic customers in the future.

The only problem we have had has been in the front lens caps, which might be best removed as they are a bit flimsy and break off easily. Such a minor problem for us and it hasn't changed how we feel about the binoculars at all.

Wonderful binoculars, excellent price and a staff that defines what customer service should mean.

Ranger binoculars - 11/10/2012

by Sue B. from Pace, fl.

I bought Ranger binoculars from Eagle Optics. I am very pleased with these binoculars. They make things very clear and they are lightweight.

Don't mess with a good thing! - 11/02/2012

by Ronald S. from Washington

We bought our first "Eagle Optics Ranger Platinum Class" 8x42 about 10 years ago. We, my wife and grandchildren all use these and in all kinds of weather conditions. One pair isn't enough and we couldn't find any that compared to the bright image,ease of operation and feel. We even looked at binoculars costing over $2,000. I went on-line and was able to buy the "Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42" and other then a very slight change in the outer design they are the same. The field of view is excellent giving you the ability to use them for long periods of time without eye fatigue. We always share the view with others and everyone always ask, who makes these? We tell them and couldn't be happier. We bought them again, you should try a pair! Next pair will be the new "ED" version.

strap failed - 10/09/2012

by Donna from Olympia, WA

I bought the binoculars for my trip to Africa. I spent 11 full days on a Land Cruiser on bumpy roads on safari drives. I installed the strap per the instructions. While riding in the vehicle, the strap slipped through the buckle two times and the new binoculars almost fell to the floor. I finally fixed the problem with safety pins at both ends to hold the strap around my neck. They certainly need to find a better way to hold the strap secure.

Eagle Optic Ranger review - 10/02/2012

by Ann from MN

I was looking for some binoculars as a gift for my husband. An avid birder told me about Eagle Optics. Gave them a call and described how the binoculars would be used. The employee told me that the 8 x 42 Ranger would suit my needs. He was correct and so far they have been the best pair of binoculars we have owned. Thank you!

stands up to student use - 09/21/2012

by glenn from southern vermont

we purchased several pair of 8x42 rangers a few years ago for our high school science dept. they are a joy to use and have held up quite well unlike so many binos we have had in the past. when it came time to add more, we went with 8x42 rangers again. these new ones have the dielectric coatings and yes, they are noticeably brighter, especially in low light conditions. not that i'd ditch the old ones, but this is a major improvement. a rugged, reasonably priced binocular with very good performance and an excellent warranty. thanks eagle!

Pleased so far - 09/14/2012

by K Millward from Seattle, WA

I'm becoming more serious about birding and chose this binocular on a friend's advice. I tried it on a birding trip 2 weeks ago, and it worked well.

Good binocular, right price - 09/07/2012

by Kelly from United States

I bought these after using a similar pair in one of my field courses in college. It's a great pair of binos at the right price. They are simple to focus and adjust, and high quality. The warranty makes them worth it too.

I field tested Atlas Intrepid, Vanguard Endeavor and EO Ranger - 08/15/2012

by Susan from Minneapolis, MN

I found EO Ranger to be the best for me.

Atlas Intrepid
Pros:Nice feel for thumb indentations, open hinge design.
Cons: Heavier than other binocs, slack in focus wheel, drag in focus wheel, lens caps too loose.

Vanguard Endeavor
Pros: Focus wheel very smooth, nice thumb indentations, comfortable grippy enterior, open hinge design, long strap for over the shoulder, very nice case.
Cons:heavier, slight slack in focus wheel, too short focus travel(270 degrees)

EO Rangers
Pros:light weight, nice feel, smooth focus wheel, comprable optics for me
Con : short strap

Special thanks to Ben at Eagle Optics.

Great for Biding - 07/27/2012

by Jeff from Colorado

As a birder, I have about five pair of bino's of all sizes, however, my ranger is the best. BAK4 prisms, waterproof, they are great for any outing. Very sharp optics! Highly recommend.

Nice - 07/17/2012

by Ben from Illinois

Definitely a good purchase and highly recommended. Solid build quality, nice focal range (I can even focus on the pebbles at my feet), clear and bright.

Bird Trip Review - 07/01/2012

by Hazel from Virginia

Took my new Rangers on a 3-day trip in eastern Virginia...they were wonderful. Clear vision, light-weight but provided a wide field of vision. Thanks, Eagle Optics.

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: