Free Shipping

Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular

BIN-EO-RGR-4208
On Sale!
Sale Price: $249.00
List Price: $399.00
You Save: $150.00 (37%)
  • Customer Rating: (277 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 37% $249.00

A nature enthusiast's desire to provide others with quality optics at a reasonable price resulted in the long-popular Eagle Optics Ranger binocular. Well known for its high-performance, the Ranger now includes dielectric coatings that jump reflectivity to more than 99% across the full visible range. That means optimal light transmission and excellent color fidelity. Ranger owners especially favor the superior edge-to-edge sharpness, light weight, durable body, close focus, and affordable price. Eagle Optics provides a Platinum Protection lifetime, no-fault warranty. See for yourself why our customers love taking the Ranger on a hike down the road or a trip around the world.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
Dielectric Prism Coatings Optimize light transmission.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Multi-position Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 341 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 19.5 mm
Close Focus 5.2 feet
Weight 21.8 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.8 x 5.1 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 277

Average Rating:

Great for Birding - 06/03/2014

by Lee from Slatington, PA

I purchased a pair for both my husband and myself, and we are very impressed with the ease of use, clarity of image, and high quality of these binoculars. They present a much larger field of vision than my old binoculars that I replaced. We went birding with a group recently, and we were sighting birds and able to keep up with the group. We would definitely recommend these binoculars. We are also very pleased with the very quick delivery.

Outstanding binocular - light and clear - 05/21/2014

by Ron from O'Fallon IL

Amazing binocular - very clear and bright image. Light and easy to focus.... Well worth the price

Excellent value and quality - 05/16/2014

by Edward S. from Mukilteo, WA

I'm very impressed with the optic quality of the Ranger 8x42 binocular. The colors and sharpness of focus are terrific. They work great in low light situations and they have a solid feel in your hands. I'm getting a second pair for my wife.

good binocs - 05/09/2014

by Bill K. from Nachusa Grasslands

I am enjoying these Ranger 8 42 binocs. They appear to be well built, and the image is clear and bright. I like Eagle Optics.

Excellent bird watching binocular - 05/08/2014

by James W. from Indiana

These are my first good set of binoculars. Didn't know what I've been missing. I took up bird watching and needed a good set and these were perfect. Quick and easy to adjust. Work great with glasses.

Good product - 05/01/2014

by Jason from Utah

I had used these before so I knew what I was getting when purchased. I use them for birding, boating, hunting, flowers and everything else. Great optics, I really enjoy them and would recommend to others.

These binocs really make birding fun! - 05/01/2014

by LJL from Minnesota

I am new to birding—my first time out was in Costa Rica about 6 weeks ago. I'm hooked, even though I was using an old pair binocs that had belonged to my grandpa. They were OK, and our guides had scopes, but I missed a lot of detail—I could tell the difference when I borrowed someone else's binocs. I tried several brands while there, including Eagle Optics. When I got home, I did some research. I decided to get the Ranger 8x42. They're a perfect fit, easy to hold, and work well with my glasses. They provide great clarity and light, and I love the magnification. The warranty was a big selling point too. I'll be using and enjoying these for a long, long time.

2nd Pair of Rangers - 04/29/2014

by Baceliza M. from United States

I purchased a pair of Eagle Optic Ranger 8x42's two years ago. I have enjoyed them so much that I purchased a second pair for my son. The image is clear and focused. Excellent optics for the price.

Quality and diversity - 04/24/2014

by Kenneth P. from Victoria, Minnesota

The Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular was suggested by a family member, a bird watcher who loves his binoculars and harness strap. It was his suggestion that encouraged us to make the recent purchase. We are delighted with the quality of the Ranger 8x42 binoculars and the Vortex harness.
We look forward to many enjoyable years of use.
We live on a lake and have the opportunity to more fully enjoy the many species of birds and wildlife.
Thank you!

A Bird watchers dream! - 04/15/2014

by Mary D from Jacksonville FL

Purchased these on a recommendation from a photographer friend for bird watching in the marshes and at the ocean. They have made the experience amazing in both locations. Watched a pod of dolphins for an hour and had no discomfort in my arms or eyes. They are sized perfectly to be used for extended periods.

Sweet sauce - 04/14/2014

by Luke H. from Vancouver, WA

I was very hesitant in upgrading for better binocs as I have a very tight budget BUT I AM SO GLAD I DID! My birding experience is SO much more enjoyable!

New User - 04/01/2014

by Mart R. from United States

I'm new to binoculars, in my 60s and wear glasses. My new friends at the local naturalist group recommended the 8x42 Ranger for bird watching. It's also amazing how well they work for my backyard butterflies. What a pleasure to use!

Excellent range and compact - 02/24/2014

by Ernest from San Antonio, Texas

These are great binoculars. You can see an ant 10 feet away or a hawk sitting on a cliff face off in the distance. Easy to use and good clarity. All in all this will not be my last pair, although the carry strap included didn't fit (small opps), I like them as adapted and am keeping them!

So User Friendly - 02/18/2014

by KKW from Sarasota, Florida

I have gone through so many binoculars through the years from Opera glasses to clunky ones passed down by relatives. My Eagle Optic Ranger 8x42 have made a birder of me, one who was never interested in joining the ranks of that pursuit.
Customer service was exceptional. I had a problem with the mailing address and the service rep got on the phone and resolved the issue with the shipping company in short order.







Great Binoculars, even better customer service - 01/20/2014

by Raleigh M. from Oakland, CA

My wife and I first got these when we began to volunteer at the Golden Gate Raptor Observatory, our west coast "Hawk Hill". We gave up our cheap binoculars and we could never use them again after having these. We are using them primarily for birding and have found them to be the key to having a great day watching for birds. We love how these binoculars gather light, how absolutely clear and how incredibly sturdy they are. Worth every penny. If there is one single problem we had with them is that the objective lens caps fall off easily, but that's no big problem.

I want to say that the customer service department of Eagle Optics should be singled out for being outstanding in their advice and suggestions. We dropped one pair of Rangers and sent it to Eagle, receiving it back nearly immediately, completely aligned and beautifully adjusted at no cost. It is rare that you can call a company, talk to a real human being, and have something go so right so easily.
Thanks!

satisfied - 01/09/2014

by Mary W. from california

Just what I wanted.. and needed! Perfect ! Loved the service.

I can see! - 12/26/2013

by Jeanne S. from Jefferson

I researched different brands in my price range and then went to the Eagle Optics store to actually get my hands on some. There was actually another pair that seemed to focus for me a bit faster, but the Ranger "felt" perfect when I picked them up. Just right for my small hands. Also, very light, which is important because I usually also have cameras, guides and who knows what else slung over my shoulders or around my neck. It's so nice to finally have a binocular that lets me see what I want as soon as I lift it to my eyes.

Five Stars - 12/23/2013

by Bill from Oakland

I've had my 8x42 Rangers for about 4 years and I thought it was time to give them their 5 star review they totally deserve. I love them and particularly like the 5.2 ft. near focus. They are great for viewing small birds especially now using iBird calls to bring them in closer then ever. The eye relief works great with my progressive lenses.

They seem to bring in a lot of light considering the optics aren't ED or HD. I need(want)a new pair and the only upgrade with the 5 ft. close focus seems to be the Eagle Optics Golden Eagle HD 8x42 Binoculars. I would not recommend a near focus of more than 6 ft.if your more into field birds. For now I'm very happy with my Rangers.

Great Value for an All-Around Binocular - 12/19/2013

by Jim P. from Chattanooga, Tennessee

I recently purchased the Ranger 8x42 Binoculars for my girlfriend who is a beginning birder and tree nut. The bright, crystal clarity makes them great for using in the canopy whether trying to identify a warbler or focusing on tassels at the top of a chestnut tree. Their light weight keeps her comfortable carrying them all day. We also love the three-position eye cups for passing them back and forth. I can't imagine a better binocular for anywhere near the price!

Only binos we'll ever need - 11/30/2013

by mark from Montana

we purchased the 8x42 almost ten years ago. They got a lot of abuse while bowhunting and backpacking. The service form Eagle Optics was great. We just bought a second set so that we both can have one while out in the field. Can't go wrong with these binoculars and the company standing behind them. Thanks for a super product

Good for Birding - 11/20/2013

by Andy from NYC

I have an older pair of the Nikon action series and needed a 2nd pair to go birding with my wife. When you bird, each person needs their own binocs. Figured we would step up and tried a pair of the Nikon Monarch series. First went to a store and then ordered via their web site. Recieved a bad pair and big pain to return.

Then I ordered these. So these seem pretty comparable to Nikon Monarch. Both are mid priced, about twice the price as action series. Kind of hard to compare fairly, because only used these in the field. Not sure what was up with the Monarchs.

What you get for your extra dollars is a brighter and sharper display. These are a nice, mid-priced pair.

Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular - 11/16/2013

by Bob H. from Sarasota Fl

My 8x42 Eagle Optics were missing and I was leading a group of members of The SarasotaCounty
Butterfly Club on a field trip. Boy was I lost without my Binoculars. They are a must to
identify butterflies species. So many look a lot alike. The close focus is wonderful.
We identified 14 species that day. Several of our members were using Eagle Binoculars.
They saved the day.
I ordered a new pair the next day.
PS. They are also great for birding.

Bob

Ranger 8x42 binoculars are great! - 11/12/2013

by Sue from New York

I bought a pair for my daughter to use in the field (fisheries and wildlife conservation biologist). I tried them out myself first on the neighborhood birds and decided to ask for a pair for myself for Christmas! Can focus quickly and see beaks/feathers/everything in great detail. The lifetime guarantee is also a plus.

great birding - 11/02/2013

by tim k. from geneva, il

Excellent clarity, lightweight, sturdy. Great buy!

The Search is Over - 10/02/2013

by Raquel J. from Austin, TX

The Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 binocular is just what I needed. Easy focus and top clarity, just what I needed to see the beauty of the birds and their features. Researched a lot of brands, and I'm glad I settled on the Ranger binolular. Great investment.

Great - 10/01/2013

by Deborah V. from Pentwater, MI

I love these binoculars for the clarity of viewing, size, and weight. I would definitely recommend these to my fellow birders.

Ranger 8x42 review - 09/25/2013

by Mike from Wisconsin

Very durable. Excellent for the use of birding. Very clear and easy to use

Satisfied customer - 08/09/2013

by Zach from California

I purchased the Eagle Optic Ranger 8x42 binoculars based on the many reviews and the price point. I have not been disappointed. I would highly recommend these binoculars for pleasure to serious bird-watching and wildlife viewing. I cannot comment on their durability as I have only had them about a month.

The company provided great customer service. The on-line videos were very helpful. The product I received was as advertised and delivered promptly. I would definitely shop at Eagle Optics again.

Best value binoculars - 08/06/2013

by Kelly from US

I've owned my 8x42 Ranger Platinum Class binoculars for 10 years now, and am a professional biologist who carries them with me roughly 200 days out of the year in rough conditions. They've held up really well, and on the occasion where they were accidentally broken under a very heavy item, Eagle Optics did an excellent job fixing them under warranty! I've been recommending these with more and more confidence over the years, and will continue to do so, as they function at a level that usually costs far more in one of the older name brand products. Way to be top notch on value and performance Eagle Optics!

Met all expectations - 08/04/2013

by MNNature Watcher from U.S.A.

The Eagle Ranger is perfect for Bird and Wildlife watching. Lightweight and easy to focus. Very satisfied.

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: