Free Shipping

Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular

BIN-EO-RGR-4208
On Sale!
Sale Price: $249.00
List Price: $399.00
You Save: $150.00 (37%)
  • Customer Rating: (271 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States
New Save 37% $249.00 - Out of Stock -

A nature enthusiast's desire to provide others with quality optics at a reasonable price resulted in the long-popular Eagle Optics Ranger binocular. Well known for its high-performance, the Ranger now includes dielectric coatings that jump reflectivity to more than 99% across the full visible range. That means optimal light transmission and excellent color fidelity. Ranger owners especially favor the superior edge-to-edge sharpness, light weight, durable body, close focus, and affordable price. Eagle Optics provides a Platinum Protection lifetime, no-fault warranty. See for yourself why our customers love taking the Ranger on a hike down the road or a trip around the world.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
Dielectric Prism Coatings Optimize light transmission.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Multi-position Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 341 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 19.5 mm
Close Focus 5.2 feet
Weight 21.8 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.8 x 5.1 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 271

Average Rating:

Happy camper! - 09/17/2014

by Pamela M. from Wellington, FL

Ordered some new binoculars online and they were here before I expected them. Perfectly packaged, too. An excellent experience.

Alaska trip - 09/06/2014

by Barbara K from California

I bought these bins for my first trip to Alaska. Lite, crystal clear even though it was raining. I would recommend them. Thanks

Great clarity - 08/23/2014

by Kathleen S. from A marsh in South Carolina

These binoculars have great optics and stability, which we love when the ospreys are fishing. The design of the lens covers also makes it easy or protect the lenses. Excellent product!

Love these binoculars - 08/21/2014

by Susan from Wayland, MA

These binoculars came highly recommended by a birder friend, and I am 100% satisfied. The 8 x 42 allows in more light than my 10 x50s. The focusing wheel is super smooth and quick, making them very easy to focus. The image is sharp. I like that the lens caps are attached but do not get in the way. And they are very user friendly for folks with eyeglasses. I also like their weight...light enough to take everywhere.

Terrific addition to our collection - 08/09/2014

by JoAnn H. from Evergreen Colorado

We ordered two pairs of the 8x42 Ranger to keep for grandchildren and guests. They have excellent optics, especially considering the affordable price. Members of our birding group who have been struggling with old, inadequate binoculars find them a fantastic upgrade in image clarity.

Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular - 08/07/2014

by Aaron B. from Santa Barbara, CA

This is the 4th pair of Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular we have bought over the past 3 years. We were delighted with the first two and continue to be delighted with the second two. We only had one issue with the eyecup, but customer service replaced under warranty with no hassle.

For the price this binocular is the "best deal in town", considering its quality performance and workmanship.

A great buy - 08/05/2014

by Alan from United States

We were looking for affordable, high-quality binoculars, with particular interest in watching birds. After intensive use on a two-week vacation, we are very pleased. The adjustable eyecups with dedents and the easy-to-see diopter adjustment make it easy to go back and forth between a user with glasses and without. The focus knob feels smooth and provides a balance between speed and precision that we like. I've had problems with eye strain with cheaper binoculars and feel very comfortable with these.

Very pleased so far - 07/29/2014

by Jean W. from WA state

Got these for our household and I'm pretty amazed at everything we've been missing with our old binoculars. The quality of the view has really opened up a new world. They are easy to focus and adjust. Two things could be improved--the lens caps are a little odd, and the binocular strap doesn't easily fit in the case provided, so you need to deal with two straps at once (the one for the case and the binocular strap). Those are minor points though. I'm really glad we bought this model.

Nice binoculars - 07/27/2014

by Ohio Birder from United States

Happy with this purchase! Will enjoy birding with these binoculars.

Worth it! - 07/26/2014

by Halli Pedersen from Lompoc, CA

I have had my 8x42 rangers for almost 9 years. I used them daily as as a Park naturalist for a few years and now recreationally for bird and wildlife watching. They are fabulous. I just mailed them back to Eagle Optics for a cleaning and repair (loose eyepiece). It was free of charge. All I had to pay for was the shipping (one way). My binos came back exactly one week later. Good as new!

EO Rangers; The best binocular value yet - 07/22/2014

by Kenneth from Minneapolis, Minnesota

As a Minnesota Master Naturalist I take people on nature adventures. I own three different binoculars in the same price range. The best is the EO Ranger 8 x 42 which not only produces a great image but also has close focus for looking at those butterflies, insects, and plants that are just off the trail. They are light, easy to hold and adjust, and fog-proof. These are the binoculars I recommend as "best value" to anyone getting seriously interested in exploring the natural world. I'm always happy to let someone try them out.

Wow! Very happy with purchase! - 07/08/2014

by M.K. from Illinois

We have been using our new binoculars for almost a month now - mainly for birding, butterflies and wildlife. The Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 was a huge upgrade from the binoculars we had been using. We have no regrets with this purchase. Binoculars are lightweight, comfortable grip, super smooth fast focus and crisp clear bright viewing. Exactly what we were looking for. Customer service was outstanding. We called with a few questions before purchasing online and received friendly knowledgeable service. Shipping was speedy too!

Great eyes! - 07/07/2014

by Jamie K. from Norwalk, CT

I bought these binoculars for my boyfriend because I knew the quality of your work and the price was good. I have some binoculars you made for Audobon, and these are a close cousin. I love them, and so does he!

I am also very encouraged by your company's continued warranty to stand behind the binoculars. I would not buy from any other company and I recommend you to everyone who asks.

Jamie

Superior binocs - 07/02/2014

by Nancy V. from Fruitport, MI

Very pleased with the quality of both construction and optics.

Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binocular - 07/01/2014

by Ronald T. from SSI Ga

Very Clear and light weigh , focus in easy. Wife has a Nikon 8X42 Monarch, The rangers are clearer and less expensive…Thanks

Eagle optics - 06/28/2014

by Suzi G. from Oakland, CA

Great binoculars for bird watching

Ranger 8x42 - 06/25/2014

by Doug from Georgetown ME

Needed a decent binocular for intro bird watching. A friend told me about Eagle optics and I took the web sites advice and purchased their ranger 8 x 42. I have nothing but good things to say about them. Well worth the price. My friends kept asking about where I got them.

8x42 Ranger binocs: GREAT - 06/19/2014

by carol j. from milwaukee, WI

Using these 8x42 Ranger binocs was like seeing clearly with a new pair of glasses. WOW! EVERYTHING WAS SO CLEAR.
i finally can see some of the markings on the birds I'm viewing.
It took a bit of adjusting to not get a shadow with viewing. I wear glasses and find I can't press my glasses on the lens or else I get a shadow. They are not too heavy for me and the padded strap is really comfortable. I like the convenience of the attached lens covers and rain protectors. It was very easy to purchase them on line and they came within 24 hours. Amazingly efficient.



Product and Service - 06/16/2014

by Karl M. from Waldorf Maryland

My wife recently lost her 10 year old binoculars and needed a replacement set. There was only one place to buy in our opinion, Eagle Optics. Excellent Price, Excellent Service. I had to send my pair of binoculars back once due to water damage. Seems like I had received a new pair after their cleaning and restoration! MARVELOUS Company!

Clear and bright - 06/15/2014

by Jill from northern California

I recommend the Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binoculars to those people who want good quality birding binoculars at a cost below $300.

I purchased my new Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binoculars for an all day birding outing with a local group with the idea of seeing and identifying several birds for my life list. I have been using not-so-good, but adequate binoculars for many, many years, and wanted to work on upgrading my equipment and my birding skills to a more advanced level. Quality binoculars are extremely expensive and there are so many on the market which makes the decision process very confusing. The Eagle Optics Rangers fit my budget and my assessment of all the available reviews greatly helped my decision making process. I found the binoculars to be easy to adjust and lightweight. I have small hands and they were comfortable and easy to hold steady. I also really got a kick out of the fact that they made the identification of birds easy because the view is so bright and the colors and identifying marks really stand out. Overall, I am very pleased with my new Eagle Optics Rangers. I should have bought them years ago. I know that they will be my constant companion on many birding excursions in the coming years. Thank you Eagle Optics.

Great Binoculars for the price - 06/14/2014

by Baceliza M. from United States

I use these binoculars for bird watching. I have purchased three in the past three years: 1 for myself and two as gifts. I feel these are the best binoculars in this price range. Images are clear and crisp and these is very little color distortion around the edges of the images as is possible with other binoculars in this price range. Great pair for beginning birders and a great pair to keep in your car as the spare pair.

Great Binoculars - 06/14/2014

by F from Ohio

We love our new Eagle Optics Ranger 8x42 Binoculars.
Eagle Optics has been great to work with. I certainly have no fears of encouraging someone to purchase these binoculars… and to do business with Eagle Optics.
They are just wonderful people to deal with… Thanks!

new binoculars are excellent - 06/11/2014

by m k reed from United States

I replaced an old but satisfactory Bushnell 7x35 with the Ranger 8x42. The difference is startling: clear, very bright,light in the hand, quick focus, compact. Birders recommended them and I'm not disappointed.

Pluses and minuses of ranger 8 x 42 binocular - 06/06/2014

by marilyn h. from bethlehem Pa

The light weight of the glasses is excellent. I wear glasses and have eye pieces in the down setting and I had no trouble adjusting to the placement of the focusing. Close focus is good. One drawback is the straps do not stay closed on the side brackets because the slide tab that is supposed to stabilize the straps keeps moving. This increases the chance of glasses falling to ground. I don't know why with the quality of the glasses that this is so poorly done. I have gerryrigged a strap clasp to prevent glasses falling. Otherwise the price is right and the quality of the viewing is excellent.

Great for Birding - 06/03/2014

by Lee from Slatington, PA

I purchased a pair for both my husband and myself, and we are very impressed with the ease of use, clarity of image, and high quality of these binoculars. They present a much larger field of vision than my old binoculars that I replaced. We went birding with a group recently, and we were sighting birds and able to keep up with the group. We would definitely recommend these binoculars. We are also very pleased with the very quick delivery.

Outstanding binocular - light and clear - 05/21/2014

by Ron from O'Fallon IL

Amazing binocular - very clear and bright image. Light and easy to focus.... Well worth the price

Excellent value and quality - 05/16/2014

by Edward S. from Mukilteo, WA

I'm very impressed with the optic quality of the Ranger 8x42 binocular. The colors and sharpness of focus are terrific. They work great in low light situations and they have a solid feel in your hands. I'm getting a second pair for my wife.

good binocs - 05/09/2014

by Bill K. from Nachusa Grasslands

I am enjoying these Ranger 8 42 binocs. They appear to be well built, and the image is clear and bright. I like Eagle Optics.

Excellent bird watching binocular - 05/08/2014

by James W. from Indiana

These are my first good set of binoculars. Didn't know what I've been missing. I took up bird watching and needed a good set and these were perfect. Quick and easy to adjust. Work great with glasses.

Good product - 05/01/2014

by Jason from Utah

I had used these before so I knew what I was getting when purchased. I use them for birding, boating, hunting, flowers and everything else. Great optics, I really enjoy them and would recommend to others.

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: