Free Shipping

Eagle Optics Ranger 10x42 Binocular

BIN-EO-RGR-4210
On Sale!
Sale Price: $259.00
List Price: $409.00
You Save: $150.00 (36%)
  • Customer Rating: (117 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 36% $259.00

A nature enthusiast's desire to provide others with quality optics at a reasonable price resulted in the long-popular Eagle Optics Ranger binocular. Well known for its high-performance, the Ranger now includes dielectric coatings that jump reflectivity to more than 99% across the full visible range. That means optimal light transmission and excellent color fidelity. Ranger owners especially favor the superior edge-to-edge sharpness, light weight, durable body, close focus, and affordable price. Eagle Optics provides a Platinum Protection lifetime, no-fault warranty. See for yourself why our customers love taking the Ranger on a hike down the road or a trip around the world.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
Dielectric Prism Coatings Optimize light transmission.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Multi-position Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 10x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 314 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 16 mm
Close Focus 5.2 feet
Weight 21.6 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.8 x 5.1 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 117

Average Rating:

The Right Choice - 05/17/2011

by J. B. from Sierra Vista, AZ

I bought these on the recommendation of my birding instructor. He told me these were as good as his expensive $$$$! binoculars. He was right - these are great. Plus, the Eagle personalized customer service is fabulous. Thanks for the free shipping and warranty!

Exceeded expectaitons - 04/28/2011

by Richard S. from Grass Valley California

I purchased the Eagle Optics Ranger 10x42 after a life time of cheap inexpensive glasses. The staff at Eagle Optics were very helpful in zeroing me in on the type of binocs that would suit my need. Absolutely on the mark with these glasses. The optics are crisp sharp, bright and focus quickly and accurately with no second guessing. Armor clad rubberized weatherproof sure grip lightweight with a heft of quality. As an eyeglasses wearer I no longer need to remove them to use these binocs. the eye relief is great. You cannot beat the quality of these glasses for the price. Everything about these binoculars exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend them to anyone

A Great Binocular at a Very Reasonable Price - 04/26/2011

by John W. C. from Daytona Beach FL

A few years ago my Swarovski 10 X 42 EL binoculars were stolen. I felt I shouldn't spend the amount of money for replacing them. I saw the Eagle Optics 10 X 42 Ranger and was favorably impressed with the cost, but had wondered what the optical performance would be. They came and I could hardly believe how clear the image was. I compared them with my daughters Swarovski EL 10 X 42 binoculars and truly couldn't tell the difference in the image of either. I have used these Eagle Ranger Binoculars ever since and wouldn't think of replacing them for a more expensive binocular.

Eagle Optics Ranger 10X42 Binocular - 04/22/2011

by D. McMahan from Knox,,TN

I would recommend this binocular because the focus is quick and sharp. Image is good in a wide variety of lighting situations. The bino fits my hands well and is easy for me to use. The field of vision seems good for 10 power optics.

Outstanding Birding Tool - 03/17/2011

by Tom D. from Chambersburg, PA

My first pair of binoculars were given to me by my Dad in 1965. He bought them at Sears, and lasted me about 20 years. The next pair I won in a “subscribe now to a birding magazine” contest. I still use them; they are an Audubon/Bushnell pair, magnification 10 X 42. They have been in Iraq, Cambodia for a year during their first elections in 1993, and Iraq twice and Kosovo...they held up well through all those trips. I decided since I am looking to retire, again, and I wanted a great pair of binoculars, but the luxury brands are out of my price range, so I chose the Eagle Ranger brand. These are outstanding, priced well, great construction and a real easy pair of binoculars to use in the field...these deserves a look if you are in the market for a new binocular, and your budget right now may not allow a "luxury" pair. Check out the Eagle Ranger series! I would buy them again or give them as a gift if I knew someone would appreciate a fine birding tool. I look forward to taking this pair on as many worldwide birding adventures as possible.

Great Service - 01/20/2011

by Gayla from Horseshoe Bay, Texas

I really like my binoculars. They are easy to use and have a clear sharp image. I like being able to focus on distant objects as well as those that are up close like butterflies. Thanks for being prompt in sending them for Christmas.

Simply the best! - 01/11/2011

by Mellen from Westchester,OH

I have owned many pairs of binoculars the last 50 years or so - all makes, all ranges and sizes - most of which I still own and which reside in vehicles, in day packs, and on window sills - but until dear friends of mine from Louisville,KY introduced me to their pair of Eagle Optics Rangers 10 X 42 I did not know what I was missing! I tried them first at St. George Island and next at Pawley's Island watching all the birds and wildlife - they were the first pair I grabbed if I had a choice - 10 yrs ago I had laser eye surgery to correct my long distance vision - a miracle surgery in my estimation that released me from my dependence on contact lenses and coke bottle glasses! I told my surgeon I wanted "eyes like an eagle" before he started and he did the best he could do - now my eyesight combined with the Eagle Rangers do just that and I could not be more thrilled with the result - Thank you Eagle Optics, my eye dr. and my dear friends

great binoculars - 01/10/2011

by Cheryl from wisconsin

I heard of your product a couple of years ago when my brother bought a pair of your binoculars and we were able to watch an eagle tear a fish apart on the shore from the boat.

I purchased the Ranger SRT 10x 42 as a Christmas gift for my husband who loves to bird watch and is an avid hunter. He has shopped around for binoculars for about a year but was unable to find a pair he really liked. Our son said he went to a sporting goods store to check out their binoculars and was very disappointed in the quality and they were priced much higher than the binoculars we bought. He was amazed on Christmas morning when he opened the box and saw his binoculars. He is extremely surprised with the clarity of the view and the ability the binoculars have in magnifying the closeness. He can' wait to really get out and use them. I am anxious to use them when we go to the lake this next summer to watch the loons. We are extremely happy with our purchase and wish we had done it sooner.

Eagle Ranger SRT 10 X42 - 01/04/2011

by Gary from Katy, Texas 77450

We are very pleased with the product. We are new bird watchers and the light let in for viewing is wonderful. 10X42 alows us to see the bright colors of the birds.It makes the back yard more fun. Ths size is perfect. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.

A good step up! - 12/19/2010

by Adele from Massapequa, NY

I had been using an ancient 7 X 35 binocular that was heavy. This bino is all that was advertised: light weight, easy to use, feels good in my hands, love the fact that you can use with or without glasses. A nice surprise was the lense covers that are attached, even when not covering the lenses...I can't loose the covers!
I didn't have time to go to a store and compare...I just knew I had to order 10 X 42's for better birding. I call it my "light weight scope"!! And the price was very fair and affordable. Thanks for a really nice product!

Oh! The birds these Rangers will see! - 12/15/2010

by Pat from USA

I'm a world wide birder, travelling with birders using name brand binos. I've looked through them all over the years. The high priced binos may get a slight edge in color reproduction, but not in the clarity or ease of adjustment of the Ranger series. And the Rangers are certainly lighter to carry. My wife has the 8X42 model and is very satisfied with them.

Terrific binocular - 12/15/2010

by Pat from Surprise, AZ

This is our second pair of Rangers. The first was an 8X42 which continues to perform flawlessly. No problems in the 8 years since purchase. We have used them extensively for birdwatching and nature viewing. I have compared them side by side with Swaroskis and found them to be very nearly just as good in all respects, so for $1500 less these are an amazing buy. Excellent resulution, field of view, color brilliance and accuracy, and all with a lifetime warranty. I highly recommend them.

I'm really happy - 12/06/2010

by Paul from Chicago

These are my first pair of good binoculars (ie: more than $30) and I am really happy with them. They were recommended to me by a birder whose had a pair for more than 10 years, and I'm really happy with them.

Good for the Money - 12/04/2010

by Mike from Utah

I was looking for a new set of binoculars to replace my Nikon Travelite III 10x25 compacts for birding. I did a LOT of research on paper and emailed customer service with a list of questions (which they promptly answered). They indicated that the Atlas' had the best optics among a list of binoculars < $400 I sent them, including the EO Rangers and Nikon Monarchs.

I decided to order two pairs - Atlas Intrepid ED 10x42 and the Eagle Optics Ranger 10x42 to compare them side-by-side and return the one I didn't keep.

Eagle Optics - Smaller, lighter, fairly good resolution; had trouble getting them adjusted to create a clean circle of light (vs. crescents); noticed significant purple/green fringing from chromatic aberrations on high contrast subjects (like the edge of snow drifts), even in the center; some visual blurring around the edges

Atlas - longer, 5 ounces heavier, felt sturdy/solid; noticeably clearer and lighter picture; significantly less purple green fringing; cheaper carrying case though; $100 more expensive (EOs were on sale) but probably worth it

In either case, both were better than what I have. I'm happy to report that snow is now 'white' with my new binoculars (instead of cream-colored on my old Nikons).

All rounded best in class - 12/04/2010

by Quinn from Manu Biosphere Reserve, Peruvian Amazon

Our reserve has over 420 birds species currently listed, and with each occupying different habitats, from dense regenerating forest, bamboo patches to open forest clearings, the 10X42 Ranger provides excellent functionality across all habitats and environments. The intense moisture is not a problem with this model and their light weight compact size makes them excellent for longer forest walks. All round excellent binoculars, a definitive must for forest birders.

Great binocs - 11/21/2010

by WB from PA

I upgraded from a pair of Nikon Sportstar 10x25s to these a few months back. The improvement was dramatic, especially in light-gathering. I struggled with my Nikons at dawn/dusk and in bad weather: I don't have that problem with the Ranger SRT. Image clarity's outstanding, no fogging so far (even on cold mornings), they're fairly light weight. In short, I don't have a single complaint about these binoculars.

my first field glasses - 11/17/2010

by Daniel from AK/ mobile

Previous to this I have used the high powered scopes on our boat, which are good for the job - but I needed field glasses. Field Biologist friend recommended these. Good color, smooth focus and comfortable in hand. Have used them everyday for month plus, and hope they hold up for the long run!

Buy quality now, cheap in long haul - 11/17/2010

by Trent O. from Windsor, WI

In the past I have always purchased and used more economy based optics for hunting and wildlife watching but after a few years, I was always looking for a new pair of bi's. I stepped outside my comfort zone and parted with more money than usual to get into a pair of Eagle Rangers and am elated I did. The picture is crisper and just handling them I notice a big difference and know these are a long-term investment and will be cheaper than my previous pairs. Cheers to the Eagle Ranger 10 x 42!

Superb for birding - 11/16/2010

by Judy from Indiana

Love these binoculars! The Ranger SRT 10x42 is the best I've ever looked through. Birding just got much, much better.

I love these binocs! - 11/15/2010

by Graham W. from Longwood, FL

I purchased a pair of these a few months ago and I absolutely love them! I had a pair of decent Nikon binocs that these replaced and the difference in image quality between the two is night and day. I am thoroughly impressed. I decided to go with this pair based on lots of other birders comments and the excellent Eagle warranty (and price of course). The size and weight makes them convenient to carry and I love the close focus ability for butterflies and dragonflies. I would highly recommend these binocs!

Had a successful hunt opening day Deer season - 10/25/2010

by David from US

I am really pleaseed with these eagle optics (Ranger SRT 10X42) I would recommend these to anyone that I know and have reccomnded these bino's to alot of friends already.These Bino's are great they are clear, they gather so much light, and bring the deer upclose and clear.The price was great. I have hunted for about 30 years and have always had inexpensive binoculars and have only spotted about three or four deer with with my old bino's, and the very first day that I hunted with these bino's I spotted seven deer, and one of them was my buck that I harvested. Thanks Eagle optics so much.What a top notch product.I would buy this product again!!!!

No Fog - 09/22/2010

by Paula from Kennedale, Tx

I went on a birding trip to River Legacy Park in Arlington, Tx. It was very humid that morning and got hotter as the morning progressed. Every so often as he group was viewing a bird someone would remark how their 'nocs were fogging and it was hard to see. And I'm thinkin', "What fog?." And alot of their 'nocs were pricier than mine, but not better!

Great Binoculars - 07/31/2010

by Will from Onancock, Va.

I bought these after borrowing a pair from a friend, I have found that the image is clear and bright and for the price I have used nothing better. I have enjoyed using them , and every one who has used them has been impressed.

Love my new Eagle Rangers - 07/16/2010

by Hilary from Tucson, AZ

Great service on receiving my Rangers. I took them on vacation and really enjoyed being able to see more of what I was looking at than with my previous bins. I was especially pleased at the speed with which I received the Rangers as I wanted to take them with me to view the Total Solar Eclipse on July 11 in the South Pacific. They performed very well. My brother in law did the research for me as he is a serious (life list) birder.

Thanks

Great Buy - 07/07/2010

by Paula Channell from Texas

I would definiely recommend these 'nocs. The difference between 8.5 and the 10 x was surprising. The viewing was clear and the focus quick and sharp as were the colors. Great lighting, I love these!

Ranger 10X42 - 06/25/2010

by Mark A. Brogie from Creighton, Nebraska

For the price, this is an excellent optic. The close focusing ability of these binocs is amazing. I bird with them almost every day and am extremely pleased with them. I have recommended them to others and know they are also pleased with their purchase.

Great noc's - 06/24/2010

by Paula C from Kennedale Tx

Just received my 'nocs and they are great! I am having to think twice about what I'm looking at since I was used to 8.5x42's. The size and clarity difference is tremendous. I would recommend these to all!

Tough Housing, Great Warranty - 06/23/2010

by Matthew Alexander from Portland, OR

I have a pair of EO Ranger 10x42's that I bought in the late 1990's and used up till mid 2010. As a professional ornithologist, I have used those binos in every habitat from the desert, to north pacific rainforests, to tropical islands, to the Rocky Mountains, to Costa Rica, and on numerous pelagic trips - for point count surveys, nesting surveys, aerial raptor surveys, and casual birding. Aside from minor scratches, those binos are still in tip top shape. In 2008, we bought two pairs of the EO Ranger SRT 10x42's for my consulting company. They have really taken a beating and still work great. My co-worker even ripped the eyecup off his pair. He sent it back to EO and they fixed the eyecup and cleaned out approximately a thousand hours of Great Basin Range dust and grime free of charge!
Pros - tough housing, light weight, close focus, great warranty
Cons - depth of field always seems small making it tough to get the "perfect" focus, dull color reproduction compared to some binos slightly more expensive.

These are great binos and I have numerous friends and associates that have bought Ranger's after trying mine. My real complaint is that EO doesn't make a better model with ED glass.

A Good Buy - 06/12/2010

by Donald J Treacy from Arnold, MD

We wanted a good but moderately priced set of binoculars for bird watching. We own several pairs and found that this set ranks with the very best of them in optical quality but is at least five times less expensive than ones of similar optical quality. The advertisements were accurate. Thank you.

Eagle Optics Ranger SRT 10x42 - 05/06/2010

by Linda from OH

This is the third pair of Eagle Optics Ranger SRT 10x42 Binoculars I have purchased.
The first pair was 8+ years ago for our son who works in jungles. His pair has seen extremely hard use and been cleaned and tuned up by Eagle Optics for return to the same wet, muddy conditions with no slip in quality.
The second pair was for my husband- a replacement for a trusted brand which finally wore out and could not be repaired.
I enjoy the weight of my new binocs which replace a pair of very fancy 10x42s that are too heavy for me to use for extended periods. The brightness is superb, and focus is very sharp. In all respects these are excellent for all types of field work.



What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: