Free Shipping
Sibley Promotion

Eagle Optics Ranger 10x42 Binocular

BIN-EO-RGR-4210
On Sale!
Sale Price: $259.00
List Price: $409.00
You Save: $150.00 (36%)
  • Customer Rating: (110 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 36% $259.00
ABA

Take a big step on your birding path by joining the American Birding Association! For a limited time, Eagle Optics makes it even easier and more affordable by giving you a $45 annual membership for just $15! To add a $15 membership to your purchase of this binocular, use the coupon code ABAMEMBERSHIP during checkout.


A nature enthusiast's desire to provide others with quality optics at a reasonable price resulted in the long-popular Eagle Optics Ranger binocular. Well known for its high-performance, the Ranger now includes dielectric coatings that jump reflectivity to more than 99% across the full visible range. That means optimal light transmission and excellent color fidelity. Ranger owners especially favor the superior edge-to-edge sharpness, light weight, durable body, close focus, and affordable price. Eagle Optics provides a Platinum Protection lifetime, no-fault warranty. See for yourself why our customers love taking the Ranger on a hike down the road or a trip around the world.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
Dielectric Prism Coatings Optimize light transmission.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Multi-position Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 10x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 314 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 16 mm
Close Focus 5.2 feet
Weight 21.6 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.8 x 5.1 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 110

Average Rating:

Best bang for the buck - 07/13/2012

by Pat from Bemidji, MN

I just purchased a new Ranger 10x42 binocular after having my previous one stolen. Also stolen were my Ranger 8x42. I had been using these previous ones for many years and they are an excellent value. I have recommended this binocular to many people over the years. The clarity is great, even in dim light situations and I love the close focus when butterflying. They are durable and easy to focus.

A whole new world - 07/10/2012

by Peggy from Baraboo, Wisconsin

I just purchased my first pair of Eagle Optic Rangers on the advice of many experienced birders. I am a new birder and was using very tiny binocs with very little depth. Since I have been using my new Rangers, a whole new world of birds has opened up for me. I can now see a great distance with a clear crisp view. There is no comparison in the colors I can now see, it is truly amazing.

Excellent pair of Binoculars - 05/22/2012

by Lynn from Costa Rica

I use these binoculars for birding and viewing a wide variety of wildlife here in Costa Rica. I find that the optics and light are a perfect fit for what I use them for. I often view from my balcony looking at marine life as well as marine birdlife. The focus is quite accurate and fast. I would definitely recommend these binoculars for anyone who wants a wide range of viewing options.

Ranger 10x42 Binocular - 05/10/2012

by Gary from Colorado Springs, Colorado

I am a beginning birder with just over 1 year's experience. I am delighted with these binoculars. I wear thick eyeglasses, but have no trouble adjusting the focus quickly. Even very remote, very small birds can be seen clearly. The Ranger is lightweight and sturdy. The view is much more precise that the results I got with the Nikons I borrowed from the birding class instructor.

Sight for Sore Eyes - 05/07/2012

by Valarie from MD

These binoculars were a Christmas gift. After years of trying to watch birds with inferior binoculars, these have brought sight to sore eyes. Quick and easy to focus, great focal range, and lots of light inside provide for clear and crisp vision. They are better than I had ever imagined.

Eagle Optics Ranger...YES. - 04/03/2012

by Kenny from Austin, TX

I tried out both the 8 and 10 powered Rangers before I purchased mine- so I new what I was getting. But, after a few weeks of owning them- I like them better than I imagined. Bright and clear optics, easy focusing, fits nicely in my hands. Enjoyed some Couch's Kingbirds and Prothonotary Warblers with them today. You'll like them.

Exceeded Expectations - 04/03/2012

by Donald from Arkansas

As a beginning birder, these binoculars were recommended by friends who are expert birders. I found the focusing knob to be easily accessible and needed for rapidly changing distances. The light-gathering ability of the binoculars was also spectacular. The sharpness of the image is equal to much higher priced optics. I have already enjoyed many hours of observing both birds and butterflies.

Birthday gift - 03/27/2012

by Aileen from California

My son is an environmental biologist and bought a pair of your binoculars for his field work. We had a chance to use them on a trip to Ano Nuevo, California to view the elephant seals. They were great. As we are National Park travelers and live on the California coast, a good pair of binoculars with exceptional depth perception and easy focus makes road trips and every day life much clearer. A great product at a fair price.

Wipe Out - 02/16/2012

by Mary from London,Ontario

A couple of weeks ago I was out'n'about hiking in the snow and wanted to get a closer look at something and down I went in a snow bank, my binoculars got covered in snow and I was quite worried that I ruined them, but I got all the snow out off the eye caps and so forth couldn't see for a bit until they dried out but within 15 minutes or so I could see perfectly, I was very surprised how well they did with all the snow on them, very impressed, love my binoculars and glad they are okay since I am doing the GBBC this weekend and would not be able to do so without them.Thanks

See the birdie! - 12/01/2011

by charles from California

These are excellent binoculars. Very good clarity and lightweight.

Good Value - 11/15/2011

by Leslie from Republic of Panama

I borrowed a pair from a friend and was so impressed, bought a pair as a backup. The light weight is impressive for clear, bright and high contrast image. My only con is the depth-of-focus is shallow and focus wheel takes a few extra movements to adjust focus as compared to my B&L Elites.

Shipment was fast and the fellows on the phone are intelligent!

Did buy a second pair, but with the ED glass. See review under that model.

Great for field work - 09/21/2011

by Angelica from Fontana, CA

These do an excellent job in helping me identify birds and other animals in the field.

Great bins! - 08/04/2011

by Linda from Maine

These great bins are light, bright and sharp, easily equal to the Leica 10x42's I've given up because of their heavy weight. Fast shipping as well as an ironclad guarantee are good selling points. This is an excellent, durable product that also features very good close-in focus. Love the price point, too.

Great for the hike - 08/03/2011

by Don from Davis

I loved these binocs, they are light weight and the harness makes for an easy hike. They work very well in low light situations and add a whole new dimension to my fledgling career as an amateur birder. However, the best surprise comes when I turn the focus on wild flowers. Every flower in focus becomes a wonderful piece of artwork with a impressionistic background of colors.

Birding with the Big Eye - 07/12/2011

by Robert from Austin, Texas

The Eagle Optics binocular is great for distant resolution and
bringing even the smallest bird so close you can almost count the feathers on the tail.
these EOB were highly recommended by my birding bud. I tried his and immediately wanted a pair!

A bit closer! - 06/27/2011

by Betty from Boerne, TX

Binocular is a reasonable weight for field use, and is good at light gathering even in poor light. Brings those distant birds into closer focus for better ID. Only limitation is the short depth of field, which makes tracking fast moving birds challenging.

Happy Camper - 06/16/2011

by Cliff from Southeastern PA

I've had a Ranger 10x42 for just about a year now, and I've been very pleased with it. The field of view is very wide and very bright, especially given that it's a 10 power bino. The eye relief is very deep, which allows me a full field of view even though I wear eyeglasses.

The neck strap is very comfortable, and the eyepiece covers are just about impossible to lose.

These are 42mm binos, so they aren't light-weight. But that's the price one pays for their terrific light-gathering power.

My only complaint is that my objective covers have a little rubber strap that became brittle and broke about 6 months after I started using the binoculars. But that's just a quibble given how terrific these binos are otherwise.

I highly recommend these binoculars for birding (especially in twilight conditions) and astronomy.

birdwatching - 06/12/2011

by Gail from california

My husband just started birdwatching. After reading the reviews I bought these. He is trilled with how easy it is to follow the hawks in our area. Very happy with the purchase.

great glass - 06/08/2011

by Al from Illinois

Purchased a pair of ranger 10x42 about 9 years ago. I spend all year outdoors between archery competition and hunting. over the years I've tried binos costing hundreds more but after trying my eagles i'm convinced there is not a better bino buy on the market! I'm hard on equipment and my eagles have held up to everything i've thrown at them. Toss in the great factory warranty[that i've never had to use] and you've got a winner!

Brilliant! - 06/07/2011

by Jay B. from California

I have seen a six year old pair, used in the field, still clearer and brighter than similarly priced binoculars.
The new pair, with the dielectric coatings are even brighter.
The durability of the Ranger 10x42, the clarity and brilliance of the optics has won my choice in binoculars.
Life time quality.

Love 'em! - 06/04/2011

by Mary from Chicago

My husband was very happy with his new binocs - thanks!

Perfect - 06/01/2011

by Mike from Washington DC

They are exactly what I was looking for. Great for birdwatching.

Dollar for dollar the best binoculars in the world - 05/24/2011

by Richard from OHIO

I have been a birder since I was 13 years old and have had the same pair of 7x35 the entire time. I have never been happy with them and have always strained to see anything. This spring I decided that it was time to upgrade to a quality pair of binoculars. After reading the reviews of this website, I ordered a pair of ranger 10x42. I was a little worried about spending $300 bucks on something I had never actually held in my hands. But when they arrived a few days later, I was more than happy with my investment. These binoculars have added an edge to my birding game that was missing for the last 10 years.

The Right Choice - 05/17/2011

by J. B. from Sierra Vista, AZ

I bought these on the recommendation of my birding instructor. He told me these were as good as his expensive $$$$! binoculars. He was right - these are great. Plus, the Eagle personalized customer service is fabulous. Thanks for the free shipping and warranty!

Exceeded expectaitons - 04/28/2011

by Richard S. from Grass Valley California

I purchased the Eagle Optics Ranger 10x42 after a life time of cheap inexpensive glasses. The staff at Eagle Optics were very helpful in zeroing me in on the type of binocs that would suit my need. Absolutely on the mark with these glasses. The optics are crisp sharp, bright and focus quickly and accurately with no second guessing. Armor clad rubberized weatherproof sure grip lightweight with a heft of quality. As an eyeglasses wearer I no longer need to remove them to use these binocs. the eye relief is great. You cannot beat the quality of these glasses for the price. Everything about these binoculars exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend them to anyone

A Great Binocular at a Very Reasonable Price - 04/26/2011

by John W. C. from Daytona Beach FL

A few years ago my Swarovski 10 X 42 EL binoculars were stolen. I felt I shouldn't spend the amount of money for replacing them. I saw the Eagle Optics 10 X 42 Ranger and was favorably impressed with the cost, but had wondered what the optical performance would be. They came and I could hardly believe how clear the image was. I compared them with my daughters Swarovski EL 10 X 42 binoculars and truly couldn't tell the difference in the image of either. I have used these Eagle Ranger Binoculars ever since and wouldn't think of replacing them for a more expensive binocular.

Eagle Optics Ranger 10X42 Binocular - 04/22/2011

by D. McMahan from Knox,,TN

I would recommend this binocular because the focus is quick and sharp. Image is good in a wide variety of lighting situations. The bino fits my hands well and is easy for me to use. The field of vision seems good for 10 power optics.

Outstanding Birding Tool - 03/17/2011

by Tom D. from Chambersburg, PA

My first pair of binoculars were given to me by my Dad in 1965. He bought them at Sears, and lasted me about 20 years. The next pair I won in a “subscribe now to a birding magazine” contest. I still use them; they are an Audubon/Bushnell pair, magnification 10 X 42. They have been in Iraq, Cambodia for a year during their first elections in 1993, and Iraq twice and Kosovo...they held up well through all those trips. I decided since I am looking to retire, again, and I wanted a great pair of binoculars, but the luxury brands are out of my price range, so I chose the Eagle Ranger brand. These are outstanding, priced well, great construction and a real easy pair of binoculars to use in the field...these deserves a look if you are in the market for a new binocular, and your budget right now may not allow a "luxury" pair. Check out the Eagle Ranger series! I would buy them again or give them as a gift if I knew someone would appreciate a fine birding tool. I look forward to taking this pair on as many worldwide birding adventures as possible.

Great Service - 01/20/2011

by Gayla from Horseshoe Bay, Texas

I really like my binoculars. They are easy to use and have a clear sharp image. I like being able to focus on distant objects as well as those that are up close like butterflies. Thanks for being prompt in sending them for Christmas.

Simply the best! - 01/11/2011

by Mellen from Westchester,OH

I have owned many pairs of binoculars the last 50 years or so - all makes, all ranges and sizes - most of which I still own and which reside in vehicles, in day packs, and on window sills - but until dear friends of mine from Louisville,KY introduced me to their pair of Eagle Optics Rangers 10 X 42 I did not know what I was missing! I tried them first at St. George Island and next at Pawley's Island watching all the birds and wildlife - they were the first pair I grabbed if I had a choice - 10 yrs ago I had laser eye surgery to correct my long distance vision - a miracle surgery in my estimation that released me from my dependence on contact lenses and coke bottle glasses! I told my surgeon I wanted "eyes like an eagle" before he started and he did the best he could do - now my eyesight combined with the Eagle Rangers do just that and I could not be more thrilled with the result - Thank you Eagle Optics, my eye dr. and my dear friends