Free Shipping

Eagle Optics Ranger 10x42 Binocular

BIN-EO-RGR-4210
On Sale!
Sale Price: $259.00
List Price: $409.00
You Save: $150.00 (36%)
  • Customer Rating: (118 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 36% $259.00
Demo Save 44% $229.00

A nature enthusiast's desire to provide others with quality optics at a reasonable price resulted in the long-popular Eagle Optics Ranger binocular. Well known for its high-performance, the Ranger now includes dielectric coatings that jump reflectivity to more than 99% across the full visible range. That means optimal light transmission and excellent color fidelity. Ranger owners especially favor the superior edge-to-edge sharpness, light weight, durable body, close focus, and affordable price. Eagle Optics provides a Platinum Protection lifetime, no-fault warranty. See for yourself why our customers love taking the Ranger on a hike down the road or a trip around the world.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
Dielectric Prism Coatings Optimize light transmission.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Multi-position Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 10x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 314 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 16 mm
Close Focus 5.2 feet
Weight 21.6 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.8 x 5.1 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 118

Average Rating:

ranger 10x42 - 12/09/2012

by celia g. from lakewood, co

Choosing a pair of binoculars is very personal. I had bought Eagle Optics Ranger 8 x 42 years ago and have been very happy with them. I wanted another pair and decided to go with 10 x 42. Although the optics are very good quality, the focus wheel is too stiff for me to use comfortably. I would be using the binoculars for bird-watching and would miss out in the time it takes me to focus, which I can do easily with my current pair with one hand. I was sorry to have to return the 10x 42s.

Ranger 10x42- good binos - 11/21/2012

by Jeff M. from North Carolina

The Ranger 10x42 binos shipped quickly and arrived in good shape. I like the clarity and ease of focusing. They are a little bit heavier than I like for all-day field work.

Great bins for a great price! - 11/06/2012

by Joel P. from Maine

As a wildlife biologist, birder and hunter I spend most of my time in the field and a lot of that time making observations through binoculars. My new Ranger 10x42's have made my "job" even more enjoyable. The ability to identify, sex and age raptors is a crucial aspect of good data collection and the Eagle Optics Rangers are up to the task. Sure, you can spend more $$$ on high end glass, but in my experience the rugged nature of my job leads to a need for a rugged pair of binoculars that aren't going to make you cry when, inevitably, they're dropped or drown during a fierce day in the field. I highly recommend the Ranger 10x42's to anyone that is interested in a quality pair of binoculars that are comparable to units 5x as expensive.

Great binoculars! - 10/30/2012

by John K. from San Antonio, TX 78232

These are the best binoculars I have ever owned. The optics are fantastic with great clarity and no chromatic aberration. In addition they are very easy to focus. My wife and I expect to have great experiences with these binoculars.

Great Binoculars - 10/09/2012

by D. Dunn from United States

This is our second pair of Ranger 10x42s. We purchased our first pair after birding in the Rio Grande Valley of Texas last winter and noted that most of the other birders had Eagle Optics Rangers. After receiving the first pair and using them for birding, watching butterflies, and wildlife viewing, we were so impressed with their clarity and ease of focus that we purchased this second pair. They compare favorably with our friend's Swarovskis at significantly less cost.

well rounded binoculars - 10/08/2012

by Ryan from wenatchee wa

I purchased the eagle optic rangers for work use, they are a fair priced clear optics well rounded set of binoculars would highly suggest these to anyone that is not wanting to spend allot of money for clear optics.

Very Pleased - 08/08/2012

by Peter from Roanoke, VA

I am very pleased with this purchase. The binoculars are light, attractive, and provide clear, bright views. The clarity is absolutely amazing to me. I'm sure that I will enjoy them for years to come.
Thank you for an excellent product at an affordable price.

Tough and clear - 07/31/2012

by Kan from Guam

I was a Wildlife Ranger for the National Park Service in California. I had the Ranger 8x32's issued to me and I kept them in the case in my pack I used everyday. I was careful to put them back in the case every time, but after using them daily and sometimes being in a hurry, I stopped putting them in the case. Over the years this evolved into me just throwing them in my pack and being rough with the pack and so on (I was ALWAYS careful not to be TOO rough!!). Every time I used those binoculars they were ready to go and crystal clear. Getting them wet was no issue either. I am now looking at these 10x42's for all the above reasons. I just wish they came in camo!!

Best bang for the buck - 07/13/2012

by Pat from Bemidji, MN

I just purchased a new Ranger 10x42 binocular after having my previous one stolen. Also stolen were my Ranger 8x42. I had been using these previous ones for many years and they are an excellent value. I have recommended this binocular to many people over the years. The clarity is great, even in dim light situations and I love the close focus when butterflying. They are durable and easy to focus.

A whole new world - 07/10/2012

by Peggy from Baraboo, Wisconsin

I just purchased my first pair of Eagle Optic Rangers on the advice of many experienced birders. I am a new birder and was using very tiny binocs with very little depth. Since I have been using my new Rangers, a whole new world of birds has opened up for me. I can now see a great distance with a clear crisp view. There is no comparison in the colors I can now see, it is truly amazing.

Excellent pair of Binoculars - 05/22/2012

by Lynn from Costa Rica

I use these binoculars for birding and viewing a wide variety of wildlife here in Costa Rica. I find that the optics and light are a perfect fit for what I use them for. I often view from my balcony looking at marine life as well as marine birdlife. The focus is quite accurate and fast. I would definitely recommend these binoculars for anyone who wants a wide range of viewing options.

Ranger 10x42 Binocular - 05/10/2012

by Gary from Colorado Springs, Colorado

I am a beginning birder with just over 1 year's experience. I am delighted with these binoculars. I wear thick eyeglasses, but have no trouble adjusting the focus quickly. Even very remote, very small birds can be seen clearly. The Ranger is lightweight and sturdy. The view is much more precise that the results I got with the Nikons I borrowed from the birding class instructor.

Sight for Sore Eyes - 05/07/2012

by Valarie from MD

These binoculars were a Christmas gift. After years of trying to watch birds with inferior binoculars, these have brought sight to sore eyes. Quick and easy to focus, great focal range, and lots of light inside provide for clear and crisp vision. They are better than I had ever imagined.

Eagle Optics Ranger...YES. - 04/03/2012

by Kenny from Austin, TX

I tried out both the 8 and 10 powered Rangers before I purchased mine- so I new what I was getting. But, after a few weeks of owning them- I like them better than I imagined. Bright and clear optics, easy focusing, fits nicely in my hands. Enjoyed some Couch's Kingbirds and Prothonotary Warblers with them today. You'll like them.

Exceeded Expectations - 04/03/2012

by Donald from Arkansas

As a beginning birder, these binoculars were recommended by friends who are expert birders. I found the focusing knob to be easily accessible and needed for rapidly changing distances. The light-gathering ability of the binoculars was also spectacular. The sharpness of the image is equal to much higher priced optics. I have already enjoyed many hours of observing both birds and butterflies.

Birthday gift - 03/27/2012

by Aileen from California

My son is an environmental biologist and bought a pair of your binoculars for his field work. We had a chance to use them on a trip to Ano Nuevo, California to view the elephant seals. They were great. As we are National Park travelers and live on the California coast, a good pair of binoculars with exceptional depth perception and easy focus makes road trips and every day life much clearer. A great product at a fair price.

Wipe Out - 02/16/2012

by Mary from London,Ontario

A couple of weeks ago I was out'n'about hiking in the snow and wanted to get a closer look at something and down I went in a snow bank, my binoculars got covered in snow and I was quite worried that I ruined them, but I got all the snow out off the eye caps and so forth couldn't see for a bit until they dried out but within 15 minutes or so I could see perfectly, I was very surprised how well they did with all the snow on them, very impressed, love my binoculars and glad they are okay since I am doing the GBBC this weekend and would not be able to do so without them.Thanks

See the birdie! - 12/01/2011

by charles from California

These are excellent binoculars. Very good clarity and lightweight.

Good Value - 11/15/2011

by Leslie from Republic of Panama

I borrowed a pair from a friend and was so impressed, bought a pair as a backup. The light weight is impressive for clear, bright and high contrast image. My only con is the depth-of-focus is shallow and focus wheel takes a few extra movements to adjust focus as compared to my B&L Elites.

Shipment was fast and the fellows on the phone are intelligent!

Did buy a second pair, but with the ED glass. See review under that model.

Great for field work - 09/21/2011

by Angelica from Fontana, CA

These do an excellent job in helping me identify birds and other animals in the field.

Great bins! - 08/04/2011

by Linda from Maine

These great bins are light, bright and sharp, easily equal to the Leica 10x42's I've given up because of their heavy weight. Fast shipping as well as an ironclad guarantee are good selling points. This is an excellent, durable product that also features very good close-in focus. Love the price point, too.

Great for the hike - 08/03/2011

by Don from Davis

I loved these binocs, they are light weight and the harness makes for an easy hike. They work very well in low light situations and add a whole new dimension to my fledgling career as an amateur birder. However, the best surprise comes when I turn the focus on wild flowers. Every flower in focus becomes a wonderful piece of artwork with a impressionistic background of colors.

Birding with the Big Eye - 07/12/2011

by Robert from Austin, Texas

The Eagle Optics binocular is great for distant resolution and
bringing even the smallest bird so close you can almost count the feathers on the tail.
these EOB were highly recommended by my birding bud. I tried his and immediately wanted a pair!

A bit closer! - 06/27/2011

by Betty from Boerne, TX

Binocular is a reasonable weight for field use, and is good at light gathering even in poor light. Brings those distant birds into closer focus for better ID. Only limitation is the short depth of field, which makes tracking fast moving birds challenging.

Happy Camper - 06/16/2011

by Cliff from Southeastern PA

I've had a Ranger 10x42 for just about a year now, and I've been very pleased with it. The field of view is very wide and very bright, especially given that it's a 10 power bino. The eye relief is very deep, which allows me a full field of view even though I wear eyeglasses.

The neck strap is very comfortable, and the eyepiece covers are just about impossible to lose.

These are 42mm binos, so they aren't light-weight. But that's the price one pays for their terrific light-gathering power.

My only complaint is that my objective covers have a little rubber strap that became brittle and broke about 6 months after I started using the binoculars. But that's just a quibble given how terrific these binos are otherwise.

I highly recommend these binoculars for birding (especially in twilight conditions) and astronomy.

birdwatching - 06/12/2011

by Gail from california

My husband just started birdwatching. After reading the reviews I bought these. He is trilled with how easy it is to follow the hawks in our area. Very happy with the purchase.

great glass - 06/08/2011

by Al from Illinois

Purchased a pair of ranger 10x42 about 9 years ago. I spend all year outdoors between archery competition and hunting. over the years I've tried binos costing hundreds more but after trying my eagles i'm convinced there is not a better bino buy on the market! I'm hard on equipment and my eagles have held up to everything i've thrown at them. Toss in the great factory warranty[that i've never had to use] and you've got a winner!

Brilliant! - 06/07/2011

by Jay B. from California

I have seen a six year old pair, used in the field, still clearer and brighter than similarly priced binoculars.
The new pair, with the dielectric coatings are even brighter.
The durability of the Ranger 10x42, the clarity and brilliance of the optics has won my choice in binoculars.
Life time quality.

Love 'em! - 06/04/2011

by Mary from Chicago

My husband was very happy with his new binocs - thanks!

Perfect - 06/01/2011

by Mike from Washington DC

They are exactly what I was looking for. Great for birdwatching.

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: