Free Shipping

Eagle Optics Denali 8x42 Roof Prism Binocular

BIN-EO-D082
Our Price: $179.99
List Price: $229.00
You Save: $49.01 (21%)
  • Customer Rating: (94 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 21% $179.99

The Denali's solid chassis is built to keep pace with the avid outdoor explorer. Weighing only 21.9 ounces, with a generous 18 mm eye relief, the Denali 8x42 is easy to carry and comfortable to use when scanning for long periods. Don't worry about the rain or temperature—the Denali is protected with waterproofing and fogproofing. Covered by the Eagle Optics Platinum Protection unlimited, unconditional lifetime warranty, the Denali will keep you company on all of your adventures.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Adjustable Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 408 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 18 mm
Close Focus 7.0 feet
Weight 21.9 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.4 x 5.0 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 94

Average Rating:

Great all-around binocular for all levels - 02/15/2011

by Clay from Pennsylvania

About a year and a half ago, I ordered many of these for use by students in my department (Biology). I was initially attracted to them by the price, generalist magnification and objective. We use them in several courses including Field Ornithology, Vertebrate Zoology, and Wetlands Ecology. Hence, we have put them through the ringer and they have withstood some amazing punishment. Students love them; several have purchased the same model since using them in class. They come in a rugged yet soft case and are a great size for backpacks and in the hand. They are solid but not too heavy to carry for long periods of time. The relatively large central focus adjustment is easy to use with one hand and delivers a quick, sharp image. The diopter ring is nice and tight and not easily disturbed during general use. I am surprised by the quality of them given the very affordable price and the weather resistance. There is only one really negative thing about them and that is while the neck strap is comfortable, the straps tend to unravel. Hence, I would recommend, either burning or binding the cut ends of strap or the tying a securing half-hitch around the strap adjuster. All-in-all a great product.

Denali binoculars great for the budget - 02/03/2011

by Lesley R. from Jacksonville, FL

We purchased some Denali binoculars from Eagle Optics. The binoculars are used by people new to birding that don't have any or good optics. What a surprise for me. I currently use Nikon Monarchs, and these Denali binoculars are very good. I highly recommend these binoculars.

Very good quality for the price - 01/04/2011

by Carol C. from Lakeland, FL

I bought these as a Christmas gift and wanted a good quality binocular but didn't want to spend a fortune. I used my own Equinox binoculars which cost about twice as much as a guide because the gift recipient had used them and really liked them. When I received the Denali's I compared them to mine before wrapping them up. They were just as clear and even a little brighter and definitely have more contrast! The receiver of this gift is ecstatic and now I am thinking of buying another pair for myself and just use my Equinox bins as a backup. This Eagle Denali binocular is definitely a good product for the money and worth getting to keep or give!

Gift of binoculars. - 12/30/2010

by Nancy from Churchville, NY

The clarity of looking close up as well as far away is very sharp. Easy to handle and use. Thank you.

Excellent Binocular - 12/21/2010

by Tracy from Palm Coast, FL

I am new to bird watching and started with a cheap pair of Bushnell Falcons. I learned about eye relief for eye-glass wearers from our local Audubon Society and began looking online for the best options for the best price. I know I've found just what I was looking for. Today, I went out birding and my vision was never better. Wearing glasses does not hinder the experience at all, and I no longer have to remove them and see blurry birds! They are compact, comfortable to grip, easy to focus quickly, and lightweight, making bird watching a pleasure. The case is a nice canvas bag with a comfortable strap. Lens cups allow the option of hanging from the binocular, or removing them entirely while out in the field. I opted to purchase a harness rather than use the neck strap that comes with it although it also looks well-made and comfortable. Overall, I would purchase these again and would recommend these to any birder wanting binoculars that will provide excellent vision without paying the price.

Good buy - 12/12/2010

by Carol from Tillamook, Oregon

These binocs are a good buy. They are a good starter pair, or like me, if you need a spare while others are being repaired.They would be a good choice for children. I like the lens covers. It would be good if the right eye fine focus adjuster locked in place.

great buy - 11/09/2010

by L. M. from mesa, az

I have these binoculars, fit my hand well, light weight,and can see things well. Great price.

Best Bins for the price! - 11/08/2010

by Michael A. from Jamestown, ND

Got a pair for my wife, We really like them. Very clear, good colors, great in low light.
I will buy more when my kids are old enough.

We bought a gift for our daughter - 10/30/2010

by Gloria from Clinton WA

We already had a pair of binoculars from Eagle and really like them so we decided to buy a pair for our daughter who lives on a lake in California. There aare lots of beautiful birds in the water and around the lake. She really enjoys the clarity of the glasses. Thanks for a good product.

Satisfied with binocs, but case needs work - 10/28/2010

by Jim from Cedar Rapids, IA

The binoculars exceeded my expectations, but the case that comes with them is too small. Once I put the American Birding Harness strap on the binoculars... the strap + binoculars does not fit in the case.

Great Product - 10/27/2010

by Joan from West Bend, WI

I was very pleased with the reviews of the product regarding the binoculars. I wanted a comfortable strap, soft case, easy adjustments of lens and light binoculars that were easy and comfortable to use. Also easy to return if not satisfied and quick receipt after order placement. So far the company and product has met my expectations 100% and I am completely satisfied and have already recommended them to a couple of friends.

Happy with purchase - 10/21/2010

by Amy from New Orleans

I bought this binocular based on the good reviews I read. So far I am very happy with my purchase.

Great binocs for the price - 10/12/2010

by Sandy from Hilton Head Island, SC

I bought these binoculars because I needed a pair for a Master Naturalist class I was taking. They are light enough, easy to focus, and great for viewing birds, and nature. The price was attractive and I am very pleased with this purchase.

Very nice product! - 10/03/2010

by R Rogers from California

I am very happy with my Denali 8x42 binoculars. My first priority was binoculars that focus clear and easily with my glasses on, and these work great with glasses. I tried a couple of other brands with similar twist up and down eye pieces for use with or without glasses, but none of the others worked well for me. Next priority was binoculars that were light weight with a bright clear field of vision and a reasonable price tag. Again these binoculars do it. The construction seems very sturdy and the focus is easy to use and smooth. Even in low light situations these binoculars are bright and clear. In stores I tried a few pairs of very expensive binoculars and these stand up very nicely next to those. These are really nice quality binoculars and I would definitely recommend them to anyone.

Eagle Optics Denali 8x42 Roof Prism Binocular - 09/23/2010

by auntiestrophe from Marin, CA

I used these at dusk to watch Great Horned Owls in West Marin. Very happy overall with the sharp detail and lighting. Focus knob easy to manipulate. These were much better than a horrible pair called Parks Wave that I bought from a SF scope store as part of my newbie errors in this new hobby. Image was totally blurry with those. Also, I love the return policy. Overall, I would recommend these to other newbies who are looking in spend in the 150-175 range.

Buy Them - 09/19/2010

by John H from Topeka,KS

You will not find a better set of comparable Binoculars for less money. Even the neck straps for the case and Binoculars are great. They are not the cheap thin plastic straps. I would not hesitate to buy the 10x42 Denali or any other Eagle Optics binoculars. Bottom line I highly recommend these.

Challenging First Impressions - 09/14/2010

by John from Dunedin, FL (Pinellas County)

Having received my Denali 8x42 binoculars in the late afternoon, I was tempted to leave them home when I attended our high school football game on a hot, humid, and rainy evening. My concern was about exposing new binoculars to the extreme fogging conditions and rain drop issues encountered in our tropical summers and with getting acquainted with new equipment under such taxing conditions. I wear progressive lens eyeglasses and have never a glass with enough eye relief to make viewing tolerable without removing them. To my surprise, there were absolutely no problems with lens fogging or the dispersion of rain drops on the objective lenses. Moreover the retracting eye pieces made direct viewing with glasses a truly pleasurable experience. The clarity across the full field of view was amazing and the brightness exceeded all expectations, even with a poorly illuminated high school athletic field in the fog and rain. Since so many of the reviews that convinced me to order these binoculars were based on nature study and bird watching, I thought some observations under less than ideal conditions in viewing an athletic event might prove helpful to many. Congratulations on a wonderful product and a very attractive price!

Eagle Optics Denali 8x42 - 07/26/2010

by Tony D from Newark, De

I purchased a pair of Eagle Optics Denali 8x42 roof prism binoculars last year, mainly for birding. Since I'm new to birding I decided to get an inexpensive binocular and upgrade later.
Wow was I surprised with the overall performance of these! Sharpness, even towards the edges was very good, and color accuracy was right on. All controls had just the right amount of 'give' to make using the binocular easy. The light overall weight means I can carry them all day. Focusing only required a couple turns to lock in. Even low-light viewing was impressive.
These are good enough that I won't need to upgrade for a long time. Just a great product at a great price!

Great service - 06/01/2010

by John from Canada

I purchased a pair of Denali bins about a year ago for birding and was very happy with their performance. A bit weak in low light or against gray cloudy skies, but otherwise I could easily make out bird features.
Unfortunately I had problems with the diopter setting while I was traveling in Mexico, so I had to use the bins as monos for several months. On my return home, I sent them in for repair and was extremely pleased with the quick service: same day in and out. I was birding again in less than 2 weeks.
I am once again a happy birder.

Denali 8x42 Roof Prism Binoculars - EXCELLENT - 05/09/2010

by Nolan Stokes from Falls Church VA

Having already purchased Swarovski 10x42s ($1600 or so) and Stokes DLS 8x42s ($800+) and loving them both, I wanted to buy very good entry level binoculars to get the children into birding. I figure that the best way to get kids into birding is to get them excellent optics so they have a great chance of seeing the birds. Too often I see folks buy cheap optics and get disappointed that they can't see the birds as well as they'd like. I want my kids to SEE the birds. I bought four pairs of these Denali 8x42 Roof Prism Binoculars in April 2010. Each of my kids has a pair and we also have extra pairs for other folks who happen to go birding with us. My kids can't put them down and they are ID'ing birds left and right. Yesterday my son and I went on a walk and he watched a Green Heron for 15 straight minutes. Take that Pokemon! The quality of these glass are exceptional for the price. If you own an older pair of porro prism binoculars and you don't yet own a pair of roof prisms then you owe yourself an upgrade, and these Denali roof prisms are a GREAT place to start. For about $150 I don't think you can beat them. Are the Stokes DLSs better? Of course. But are they 4 times better? Yes, I think so. Absolutely. BUT, I doubt most people would truly appreciate the difference. For the price these are fantastic binoculars and you won’t be disappointed one bit. In fact, i think you'll be very surprised at how high quality these binoculars really are. The amount of light they bring though to the eye is amazing. I highly recommend these Demali binoculars.

Eagle Optics Denali 8x42 binoculars - 04/01/2010

by Howard Merrick from Phoenix,AZ

I have a budding birder in my 11 year old granddaughter and wanted a decent cost effective pair of binoculars for here to use. I had read some reviews of the Eagle Optics Denali and was persuaded to try them. I was very pleased with the result and would recommend them to other beginner birders.

Spectacular optics - 03/29/2010

by T. H. from Santa Barbara

This 8x42 pair of binoculars finally gets it all right: wonderful brilliance and sharpness, ideal eye relief, and not very heavy. A birder's dream come true. If you wear glasses, you owe yourself something like this.

Extremely satisfied - 03/29/2010

by David from Texas

Clear, bright light transmission. Light weight, but very well made. Very easy to focus and find the subject quickly. I wear glasses and the turn down eyecups are great. They even have a great guarantee.

You can spend thousands more and if you get your jollies from having the expensive brand name in your hand these probably aren't for you. But I guarantee you won't get thousands more in functionality, ease of use and viewing pleasure.

You'll love using these guys and you'll love knowing you paid so much less than the stuffed shirt sap who paid so much more for nothing more than a name.

A review - 03/29/2010

by Gene from Ohio

I am very pleased with my purchase of my Denali binocular. They have met my expectations and are priced correctly. I recommend then to anyone who is in this price range as they provide excellent quality for the dollar spent. Gene

Well worth the investment! - 03/29/2010

by DL from Sarasota, Florida

Bought these to have for our Costa Rica trip which we took in February. Shortly after we purchased the first one, we knew we would need a second one to prevent fighting over view time. These are no doubt an excellent investment for those who really want to see wildlife up close and with great clarity. No color washout either. We were both amazed at the difference between the Denali and our old binoculars. Comfortable neck strap kept the fatigue factor way down during the long treks we took on the trip. We shared them at times with other tourists and they were impressed as well. No doubt, these binoculars made a huge difference in our enjoying the most incredible trip I've ever been on.

Excellent Value and Quality - 01/07/2010

by Glenn Huang from California

For what can be considered an entry level price, these are exceptional binoculars. They are comfortable to hold, smartly designed and feel lightweight.

They accompanied me on a cruise to Mexico, Guatemala, and Belize and were excellent companions for birding and sightseeing in general.

No problems with my eyeglasses and the eye relief. The optics were crisp and bright and a joy to use, easily making my other binoculars seem dull by comparison.

Little things matter: The included neck strap was not just an ordinary nylon strap with a hard rubber pad; this was a comfy padded neoprene-like strap that lessened the apparent weight.

Their attached lens caps and twist up and down eye-cups do away with the annoying/lost lens caps or roll-down cracking rubber eye-cups.

They focus quickly enough and are just a great introduction to the Eagle Optics line. I am so impressed that I am now interested in trying other models now!

Good for the price. - 09/18/2009

by Nathan from Pennsylvania

Image and clarity of these binoculars is very good for the price. When compared to $100 binoculars at major big box stores they blow them away. If you're on a budget or looking for a pair of binos for your spouse, these are worth the price.

Great Experience - 08/19/2009

by Kenneth S. Perlman from Chicago

I purchased these for a trip to Southern Africa from which I just returned. These are the first pair of decent binoculars I've ever used and the first I've ever used extensively. They were light and provided great views of animals and birds throughout the trip. Without them the experience would have been vastly inferior as animals came alive with detail and birds became actual, beautiful creatures instead of mere dots. I haven't had enough experience to compare them to other brands or models but they seemed clear and bright to me and were well worth the price I paid.

Quality&Affordability - 08/19/2009

by Hershel Poe from Tiverton RI

I recently received and have been using my new Denali 8x42 extensively.They have a solid and comfortable feel to them.The clarity and brightness is terrific and focusing is a breeze. I would recommend them to anyone.

Great for the price - 08/19/2009

by Jacob Segarra from Olean, NY

I bought these 3 years ago and couldn't be happier. I looked at all the specifications for binoculars costing 3x as much. Why spend $500-$700 or more when the Denalis come with all the same features! Customer service has been excellent as well.

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: