Free Shipping
Sibley Promotion

Eagle Optics Denali 8x42 Roof Prism Binocular

BIN-EO-D082
Our Price: $179.99
List Price: $229.00
You Save: $49.01 (21%)
  • Customer Rating: (87 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 21% $179.99
ABA

Take a big step on your birding path by joining the American Birding Association! For a limited time, Eagle Optics makes it even easier and more affordable by giving you a $45 annual membership for just $15! To add a $15 membership to your purchase of this binocular, use the coupon code ABAMEMBERSHIP during checkout.


The Denali's solid chassis is built to keep pace with the avid outdoor explorer. Weighing only 21.9 ounces, with a generous 18 mm eye relief, the Denali 8x42 is easy to carry and comfortable to use when scanning for long periods. Don't worry about the rain or temperature—the Denali is protected with waterproofing and fogproofing. Covered by the Eagle Optics Platinum Protection unlimited, unconditional lifetime warranty, the Denali will keep you company on all of your adventures.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Adjustable Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 408 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 18 mm
Close Focus 7.0 feet
Weight 21.9 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.4 x 5.0 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case
  • Eagle Optics Platinum Protection unlimited, unconditional lifetime warranty

Total Reviews: 87

Average Rating:

Great binocs - 06/26/2012

by K from New York

The binoculars seem well made and light. They function extremely well and are a huge improvement over the heavy old ones I was using.

I like it. - 06/16/2012

by Sharon from Texas

So far I have only used mine for bird watching. Plan to use it on the beach and kayaking down river. Still have some trouble using my glasses and seeing black crescents. I like how it brings in light.

A good experience - 04/21/2012

by David from Chicago

We had been using our fathers' binoculars to birdwatch. Our new Denalis have made it much more rewarding. Service was very fast and we are quite happy.

Fantastic buy... High Quality and Durable in affordable package! - 04/16/2012

by David from South Carolina

I have been an Eagle Optics customer for many years. While I worked as a field biologist I got the old Ranger Platinum 8x42 and 8x50's and they worked incredibly well. When I became Director of an Environmental Education Center, I realized a dire need to upgrade the class stock of binoculars and realized that I couldn't afford 18 Rangers, so I tentatively went down to the Denali's. I am so glad that I did. Yes - there is a difference, but for the price you pay you truly can't find a better deal out there than the Denali's. THANK YOU EAGLE OPTICS!

More details... 1000's of children have used these binoculars on sandy beaches in rain and shine, and only one binocular set has a small scratch on the lens. The rubberized armor provides incredible durability. To put it another way - I willingly let 2nd graders carry these binoculars (always with a full bino harness though!).
Additionally, I regularly take these 8x42's sea kayaking, where saltwater will totally saturate the outside of the binoculars. I have never had a leak in these, and as long as you rinse it with freshwater, they haven't rusted yet.

Quality at your finger tips - 04/07/2012

by john from torrington, ct

Overall Q.C. is superb. Fit and finish are excellent. 18mm of eye relief is perfect for eye glass wearers (myself). Images are bright and clear "A+" Thank You Kate!

Highly recommend - 03/31/2012

by Lisa from Colorado

I work outside as a biologist and needed a pair of rugged, lightweight binos for field work. I didn't need anything fancy, just functional. The Denalis were a great choice for me. I can use them with or without glasses (huge plus!), they are waterproof, and fogproof - perfect for the uneven terrain and weather patterns of the Rockies! They are crystal clear and best of all, they fit my face! I have a small face and most binos I can never adjust close enough to provide a clear field of vision. So if you have a smaller head, wear glasses, and need a hardy pair of binos, these are the ones for you!

Great Value - 02/17/2012

by David from Oregon

I purchased these binocs for friends to use when we go birding and as a backup for my Leicas. For an entry level binocular they are well made and have a fairly crisp image. For less than $200 it's hard to find anything suitable after being spoiled by Leicas for 15 years, but these seem to fit that bill. These binocs are a great choice for those on a limited budget.

Great First Binoculars - 02/09/2012

by Jamie from Denton, TX

I bought the Denali 8 x 42 Roof Prisms on the advice of two friends of mine who are hard core birders. They said that for the price, they were the best binoculars I could buy, and I haven't been disappointed! Very easy to focus, comfortable to adjust, and not too heavy to carry. I am thrilled with them and they will get LOTS of use.

I'd definitely recommend these binoculars to a person looking for high quality bins at a great price!
Thanks Eagle Optics!

Great Binocular! - 02/08/2012

by Cindy from Cary, NC

Great binoculars for bird watching. Good clear image and gathers light as well as the much more expensive binoculars. Love them!

Denali 8x42 - 01/31/2012

by John from Modesto, CA

I recently purchased the Denali binocular as a gift for a family member because I have the same binocular which I purchased a number of years ago, and I have been very satisfied with it, in fact, I often comment to my wife about how much I enjoy using my Denali binocular; I use mine daily!

Had to buy two - 01/30/2012

by Jim from Rio Grande Valley Texas

My lady friend bought a pair for herself and let me try them.I liked them so much I bought a pair for myself.Enough said.

good stuff - 12/30/2011

by mike from new hampshire

i have owned 2 different bino's made by Nikon in the same price range as the Eagle Denali's . i was always satisfied with the Nikon's and would continue to own them. the Eagle Denali's were a unexpected Christmas present that are every bit and maybe better than the Nikon's. the clarity is exceptional, the best.
i would recommend them to anyone looking to purchase good glasses.

Great Purchase! - 10/02/2011

by Sue from CA

Would highly recommend this product. Used them for game viewing in Namibia and they were easy to focus. The eye cups were easy and very quick to adjust for users with or without glasses. Several other people in the group tried them out and were impressed with the field of view and good sight picture. Close up was great for good bird viewing.

Our second pair - 09/23/2011

by Angela from Canada

Last year we bought a pair of these binoculars for our oldest son's tenth birthday. He is an avid birder and has really enjoyed his Denali's. (Mom and Dad have enjoyed them too whenever we get a chance to use them when they're not around his neck!) This year, our next son, who was turning nine, requested a pair of binoculars "exactly" like his big brothers for his birthday. And he got them. We are very happy with this product.

Review of Denali 8 x 42 Roof Prism Binocular - 08/05/2011

by Elizabeth from Lansing, MI 48915

I recently made an online purchase of the Denali 8 X 42 Roof Prism Binocular. This I did after reading the online detailed specifications and comparing with the next most expensive binocular (Eagle Optics Ranger 8 X 42 at $299.99 in the same general optical category -- for bird watching use). Overall, I think they are adequate but nowhere as good as the previous binocular I received from Eagle Optics some years ago. (Sorry, I cannot remember what they were other than they carried the brand name "Eagle Optics".)

The good features of the Denali are that they are lightweight, optics easy to adjust and nicely armored. The features which I find less than ideal are: the multiple anti-reflective coatings, the overall optical clarity and the strap (it's a bit too skinny). I wish I could have afforded a somewhat more expensive binocular as I think it's just a matter of using less than stellar components on the Denali. I thank you for the opportunity to provide this review. Thank you -- Elizabeth

Review with Grandson - 08/02/2011

by Larry from Garland, TX

We talked a buddy into loning me his Binoculars to review while my six year old grandson watched everything. I noticed things I like lens which enhance light transmittion due reflective coatings on glass.The roof prisms enhance resolutions.
They have a great shape to avoid hitting the string of a bow. The light mist of rain did not affect the non-slip grip. The eyes of a six year old are better than a 66 year old grandfather;thus the adjustment barrels keep game from observing movement

Nice Denali SuPRIZE - 07/16/2011

by DAVE ARBON from Ontario Canada

Well this is a first for me, I won these from Eagle Optics as a prize for reviews on previous purchases from them.I was able to compare these with a Atlas Radian bought a few months earlier , very similar in spec and performance.
This glass comfirms what a great step up Chinse binoculars have taken over the last few years.No longer do you have to spend a major amount of money to get a very good usable optical instrument,I can,t fault the Denali even if I had paid the full price for it.
In all honestly having too many binocuars in the house I had intended to sell it, however its going to be kept,simply because I like it,and also because of the fact that the good people at E.O. made a lousy week for me so much brighter.

Eagle Optics Denali - 06/22/2011

by Carole from LaPorte, TX

OMG! These binoculars are fantastic. I like to do some backyard bird watching and have always used department store binoculars. I recently went to a bird sanctuary and Eagle Optics was recommended by one of the visitors there. I had no idea what a treat I was in for when I ordered your binoculars. I can see my hummers so clearly and it is so easy to focus in or out. Highly recommend your product. There is no comparison to the department store binoculars.

Best we've ever had - 06/01/2011

by Robert from San Antonio TX 78210

A serious birder recommended Eagle Optics and a roof prism binocular that had a quotient of 5 or more when the first number is divided into the second, 42/8=5.2. We chose the Denali which was within our price range. With it we are able to spot birds in the bush and on the wing easily. It is the best binocular that we have ever owned.

Good Binos - 05/12/2011

by Danny from Boulder,CO

These Binoculars are great! Basic and simple to use with excellent clarity! I do recommend them! They also come with an excellent carrying pouch and sturdy lens covers!

Great binoculars - 04/05/2011

by Sadie K. from Illinois

I am enjoying my binoculars so far. I have filled in my e mail address above as you requesed however since you sent me the e mail you already know my e mail address. I am requesting you please take me off your e mail list as I do not wish to receive any more e mails from you. If by a miracle I should win anything you can use the United States mail to contact me - they need the money, so they say. I will use your web site should I need anything further. Please respect my privacy. Thank you.

S. Kelly

Excellent optics and ergonomics - 03/27/2011

by Dan Wiley from Caliornia

I was interested in finding an alternative to my clunky 10X50s. Those are great for astronomy work, but literally a pain in the neck for extended walks during the day. I wanted something light and compact, but with good image quality.

After much online research, I decided that 8x42s would be the perfect size for bird watching, hiking, and other outdoor activities. I also wanted to find binoculars with a roof prism since they are more compact than the Porro prism type.

I discovered the Eagle Optics Denali 8x42s were quite affordable, lightweight (half a pound less than my 10x50s!) and received many glowing reviews.

When I received my Denali's, I was very pleased. Everything about them seems to be rugged and well made. The optical quality is superb: high-contrast images, sharp from edge to edge, and very little colored edges.

But along with the excellent image quality, it is the ergonomics which make these a real winner. At only 21.9 oz, they are very comfortable around the neck. The shape fits my hand perfectly with a nice cushy feel- not to big and not too small. The focus, eyepiece spacing, and diopter adjustments are very smooth with no backlash, and just stiff enough to stay put.

A huge plus for me is the diopter adjustment knob design. It is almost impossible to accidentally knock it out of adjustment, unlike my other binoculars. There is nothing worse than trying to quickly see something only to discover one eyepiece is completely out of whack.

The eye relief is excellent as well. I am a glasses wearer, and I find I can hold the eyecups a good half inch from my glasses and still focus fine.

I have discovered that I can easily operate these binoculars with just one hand. I am frequently holding my dog's leash with the other hand. If I spot something of interest, I can quickly and easily hold the binoculars up to my eyes and focus rapidly with the same hand, all with very little shaking. Nice!

Eagle Optics sells these with their unlimited, unconditional lifetime warranty. I don't recall seeing this kind of guarantee with other binoculars I evaluated.

All in all, I am very happy with this purchase. I carry them with me any time I'm outside enjoying nature.

Eagle Optics Denali 8x42 Roof prism binocs - 03/15/2011

by Lois from MT

GREAT binoculars at a very reasonable price. Great service from a great company. This is my second pair....we got tired of sharing!

Great all-around binocular for all levels - 02/15/2011

by Clay from Pennsylvania

About a year and a half ago, I ordered many of these for use by students in my department (Biology). I was initially attracted to them by the price, generalist magnification and objective. We use them in several courses including Field Ornithology, Vertebrate Zoology, and Wetlands Ecology. Hence, we have put them through the ringer and they have withstood some amazing punishment. Students love them; several have purchased the same model since using them in class. They come in a rugged yet soft case and are a great size for backpacks and in the hand. They are solid but not too heavy to carry for long periods of time. The relatively large central focus adjustment is easy to use with one hand and delivers a quick, sharp image. The diopter ring is nice and tight and not easily disturbed during general use. I am surprised by the quality of them given the very affordable price and the weather resistance. There is only one really negative thing about them and that is while the neck strap is comfortable, the straps tend to unravel. Hence, I would recommend, either burning or binding the cut ends of strap or the tying a securing half-hitch around the strap adjuster. All-in-all a great product.

Denali binoculars great for the budget - 02/03/2011

by Lesley R. from Jacksonville, FL

We purchased some Denali binoculars from Eagle Optics. The binoculars are used by people new to birding that don't have any or good optics. What a surprise for me. I currently use Nikon Monarchs, and these Denali binoculars are very good. I highly recommend these binoculars.

Very good quality for the price - 01/04/2011

by Carol C. from Lakeland, FL

I bought these as a Christmas gift and wanted a good quality binocular but didn't want to spend a fortune. I used my own Equinox binoculars which cost about twice as much as a guide because the gift recipient had used them and really liked them. When I received the Denali's I compared them to mine before wrapping them up. They were just as clear and even a little brighter and definitely have more contrast! The receiver of this gift is ecstatic and now I am thinking of buying another pair for myself and just use my Equinox bins as a backup. This Eagle Denali binocular is definitely a good product for the money and worth getting to keep or give!

Gift of binoculars. - 12/30/2010

by Nancy from Churchville, NY

The clarity of looking close up as well as far away is very sharp. Easy to handle and use. Thank you.

Excellent Binocular - 12/21/2010

by Tracy from Palm Coast, FL

I am new to bird watching and started with a cheap pair of Bushnell Falcons. I learned about eye relief for eye-glass wearers from our local Audubon Society and began looking online for the best options for the best price. I know I've found just what I was looking for. Today, I went out birding and my vision was never better. Wearing glasses does not hinder the experience at all, and I no longer have to remove them and see blurry birds! They are compact, comfortable to grip, easy to focus quickly, and lightweight, making bird watching a pleasure. The case is a nice canvas bag with a comfortable strap. Lens cups allow the option of hanging from the binocular, or removing them entirely while out in the field. I opted to purchase a harness rather than use the neck strap that comes with it although it also looks well-made and comfortable. Overall, I would purchase these again and would recommend these to any birder wanting binoculars that will provide excellent vision without paying the price.

Good buy - 12/12/2010

by Carol from Tillamook, Oregon

These binocs are a good buy. They are a good starter pair, or like me, if you need a spare while others are being repaired.They would be a good choice for children. I like the lens covers. It would be good if the right eye fine focus adjuster locked in place.

great buy - 11/09/2010

by L. M. from mesa, az

I have these binoculars, fit my hand well, light weight,and can see things well. Great price.