Free Shipping

Atlas Optics Radian 8x42 Binocular

BIN-AL-R38
On Sale!
Sale Price: $99.00
List Price: $329.00
You Save: $230.00 (69%)
  • Customer Rating: (73 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 69% $99.00

Surrounding you with the radiant details essential for discovery, the Atlas Optics Radian features all the desired optical features needed to deliver impressive light transmission and color resolution. The wide field of view will impress you with edge-to-edge sharpness found in more expensive binoculars. Eagle Optics sweetens this already great value by providing the Eagle Optics Platinum Protection unlimited, unconditional lifetime warranty for the Atlas Optics Radian.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Polycarbonate Body Is lightweight.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Adjustable Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 375 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 17.5 mm
Close Focus 6.5 feet
Weight 23.0 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.4 x 5.0 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 73

Average Rating:

birdwonderful - 03/28/2011

by cathie from flagler beach fla.

terrific just a begining bird ..love them...radain 8x42

Great right out of the box - 01/28/2011

by Ann from Springfield, MA

I can't believe what a great value these binoculars are! They were perfect right out of the box. The field of view is huge, and I'm able to go from mid to far very easily. I have myopia and astigmatism and a very high eyeglass prescription, so was surprised at how easily the binocs fit my eyes. Will be using them for birding, and can't wait for the spring migration.

A Radian Suprise - 01/11/2011

by David from Ontario Canada

Well the first thing you see is a plain white box,nothing fancy, but inside is a great bang for the buck.
The case is a well made clamshell style with a good stout zipper and the the bino sits in a nice pocket, rather like a Steiner case. This binocular itself is one of the great buys out there, no doubt in my mind that if this had a high end name on it , say Nikon or Pentax you would pay a lot more, Eagle optics deal with the factory direct, cut a middle man out, hence the saving.
Everything works as it should with smooth adjustments, the body is nicely finished, the views are crisp and clear, better in fact than another similar spec roof that I own and paid more for.
This will spend a lot of time around my neck, for the price I can,t think of anything better. Anyone looking for a nice roof for say around $200-225 should take a look at these instead and save a pile of money, highly recomended.

An excellent binocular. Period. - 12/26/2010

by Glenn from Pacifica, CA

I got these as a present for my wife that would be a comparable pair to my other new (more expensive) Vortex 8x42 Diamondbacks. I'm afraid to say that these are, in many subtle ways, better. And while the Vortex's (which I really like BTW) are about $70-80 more, they are so strongly challenged by these Atlases, that I would not hesitate to recommend the Atlas Optic Radians as a viable alternative.

The differences are all minor but noticeable in controlled A-B comparisons. The Atlas's are slightly shorter, have a slightly brighter rendition of white in dim inside light, tighter lens caps, a narrower field of view, a slightly easier turning focus knob, and a slightly farther near focus than the Diamondbacks.

I am really impressed for the difference in cost between the two. Of course, had I not seen the differences, they would be very subtle and not that noticeable in field. So my question is, if you can barely see the difference, why pay more for this value and quality? I highly recommend these.

Great for birds - 11/02/2010

by Mycuppajava from TN

I was looking for something inexpensive, light, and easy to use in binoculars. I think I have found them. I have been well pleased as I sit and watch the birds from my window. I would recommend.

So Far, So Good! - 08/19/2010

by Mark T. from Newfoundland, Canada

Shopped around for an inexpensive, quality binocular, and am pleased that I decided on the Radians. Have used them for whales and birds on our Northern Penninsula and Labrador Straits for the past two months; clear, bright, and waterproof. So far, so good! I would recommend them to friends. Cheers!

Birthday Present for Birdwatching Daughter - 07/20/2010

by Elaine and Richard from Cary, NC

The Binoculars were delivered promptly and met our expectations from our past experience with Eagle Optics. Our son-in-law and we duplicated the gift for our daughter's birthday present. He bought a pair of Nikon binocs which were heavier and harder to focus. They were higher priced than the Atlas Optics Radian Binocular from us. We let her choose the pair she wanted and she picked the pair we gave her. She felt they were lighter weight and easier to focus and fit her eyes better. She used them at our beach vacation and was very pleased with them. They have a perfect bird-watching yard and get a great deal of enjoyment from that hobby. We especially like the life-time guarantee. Thank you.

Great value - 06/23/2010

by sean from Philadelphia

I was worried that binoculars in this price range would be flimsy and have just passable optics, but I was very pleased to see that they are anything but that. These are great for beginning birders or as a backup pair.

Nice binoculars but prone to breaking - 06/20/2010

by Ryan from Santa Cruz, CA

These binoculars are great when they work. Within a couple months under normal use my pair had both lenses pop out, so I've been unimpressed with how they're put together--they're good optics for the price but I guess you still get what you paid for. The warranty makes up for it though--they've fixed them for me both times.

Great bins, great price - 06/16/2010

by Becky M from Rochester, NY

I have started birding with my 2 sons, aged 11 and 9. My older son and I have been fighting for my Eagle optics ranger 10x42's when we go. The other old, cheap bins we were using were not that good. I wanted something that was as clear as the Rangers which I love, but less expensive, given his age and ?commitment. We both think these are fabulous-- very clear, easy to focus, great light,and being 8x-- easy to find the birds. They're comfortable to hold, but feel a little heavier than the Rangers (though only 2 oz more). Still for $200 less,they're perfect for our needs and I think the high quality will keep him more interested in birding.

First Major Birding Trip - 05/11/2010

by Janice Narracci from Parker, Colorado

We took a trip to Southeastern Arizona for the bird migration in the spring. The Atlas Optics Radian 8x42 enabled me to see birds up close for clear bird identification. The size of the binoculars was perfect to fit in a vest pocket for quick access and the easy focus allowed for efficient spotting.

GREAT - 01/04/2010

by Val from San Diego

I bought these as an upgrade to my current binoculars. I have serious birding friends who recommended them as a great every day pair. I have borrowed and carried Nikkon Monarchs and Swarovski as well and really am happy with the quality of the Atlas. They are lighter than the Monarchs and have equal or close to equal in the amount of light coming in. I could not be happier. I am a beginning/ intermediate birder and use them almost every day. I really love the warranty, but hope I never have to use it. They are a terrific value, and I recommend them highly, especially to someone who wants a great pair of binoculars at a reasonable price.

birding optics - 12/07/2009

by bob anderson from redmond, or.

I purchased the 8x42 atlas for going on a trip to the galapagos. have used them for birding on hikes and in back yard. I am very pleased with the clarity, ease of operating and with low light conditions. great for picking up birds in motion. a very high quality product and a great price

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: