Free Shipping

Atlas Optics Radian 8x42 Binocular

BIN-AL-R38
Our Price: $129.99
List Price: $329.00
You Save: $199.01 (60%)
  • Customer Rating: (69 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 60% $129.99

Surrounding you with the radiant details essential for discovery, the Atlas Optics Radian features all the desired optical features needed to deliver impressive light transmission and color resolution. The wide field of view will impress you with edge-to-edge sharpness found in more expensive binoculars. Eagle Optics sweetens this already great value by providing the Eagle Optics Platinum Protection unlimited, unconditional lifetime warranty for the Atlas Optics Radian.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Polycarbonate Body Is lightweight.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Adjustable Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 375 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 17.5 mm
Close Focus 6.5 feet
Weight 23.0 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.4 x 5.0 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 69

Average Rating:

Happy with Atlas Optics Radian 8x42 Binocular - 04/02/2013

by Long from Raleigh, NC

I'm happy with the delivery time and the binocular. It becomes a necessary accessory for our routine walk and bird watching. The image is crystal clear.

Great value - 03/26/2013

by David B. from Amelia island

For the price best binoculars I've ever had . All around great binoculars.

Good for beginner birders! - 03/18/2013

by Erica S. from Morgantown, WV

I am very impressed with these binoculars. I am a beginning birder, and the Atlas Optics Radian 8x42 Binoculars are perfect for starting out, especially at such a fair price. They are slightly heavier than I expected, but still a nice light pair of glasses. The sights are great, and easily adjustable. The case is nice, and the straps and lens protectors are of great quality. All in all, I highly recommend these binoculars for the beginning birder, or as a spare pair.

Excellent - 02/24/2013

by Shane M. from Findlay Ohio

These binoculars are excellent. A friend recommended them to me and now I owe him several rounds of drinks with the money I saved. These bins are light and the quality of the views are incredible. For the price you can't find a better set of optics.

Sweet deal!! - 02/12/2013

by James from Georgia

There is no way you could find a better binocular for the money! Clear, crisp and consistent! The smooth focus wheel just makes it that much more enjoyable. Thanks to the awesome staff at eagle optics and happy birding!

A real bargain! - 10/24/2012

by Shelley P. from Houston, TX

I bought these binoculars - my first "real" ones - because I am taking a naturalist class in Houston. My class members had been sharing theirs with me, so they all wanted to check these out when I showed up with them. The first person said, "Wow, these are better than mine." The second said, "You only paid how much for these?" And so on. I am very happy with their optics and weight, and enjoy them as much watching birds at my feeder as I do on field trips. They got here fast and have been in use ever since.

Great Value - 08/14/2012

by S. Leavitt from Cumberland, Maine

If I'm in the house, the binoculars are in the truck. If I am in the truck, I left the binoculars in the house. I bought these binoculars to have a spare set so I always have a pair at the ready. They are an incredible value for what you pay! They are light weight and the optics are better than other binoculars that cost more. You won't be dissappointed if you pick up a pair.

8x42 Atlas binoculars - 08/03/2012

by Ana from Florida

I am amazed at the sharpness and clarity of these binoculars. Price is fantastic!

great binoculars - 07/04/2012

by Meredith from Florida

I love the binoculars and take them with me in the car. My grandson loves them and we have used them on the beach watching birds and boats. Great price, easy to use, easy to focus and the case works well too.

Good decision - 06/30/2012

by Seth from Washington

I searched and read many reviews for a good beginner birding binocular. These were perfect they are light clear and easy to focus. I have no complaints. I love the close focus ability. I highly recommend these.

Eagle Optics - The Best - 06/22/2012

by Thierry from Rockton, IL

I am new to the world of "birding" and I wanted quality optics at a resonable price. Surfing the net I kept on reading about EO and what great products they offer us "working for a living" folks. These Atlas binoculars are very well built with a smooth one finger zooming action and a crisp image in low light situations, they will probably outlast me.
Eagle Optics - Quality Products @ Affordable Prices and to boot extremely fast shipping.

optics - 01/17/2012

by horace from mississippi

I purchased these Binoculars just before Christmas. They are a great bargain for the money. Focus easy, clear at the edges, field of view is great and have the lifetime warranty. These Binoculars are just what i needed for hunting at low light and the armor coating feels great (the weight is not heavy) Thank you very much for a fine product, and I will definitely purchase from Eagle Optics again.

Great beginning birder optics - 01/17/2012

by Warren from Atlanta, GA

I just started birding and needed something better than the $20 department store binocs. I looked online a lot and found the Eagle Optics site. After reading the reviews of these optics both here and on other web sites, I chose the Radian 8x42. They really provide a bright image. I have used early them in the morning, at dusk and on very overcast, stormy days and am very pleased with the views.

I am glad I choose the 8 power. enough power with good field of view. The field of view is REALLY important when you are looking at objects that are only 50 to 100 feet away.

I would recommend these to anyone looking for an inexpensive optic, especially for beginning birding.

Very Happy - 01/05/2012

by Karen from Idaho

I purchased these binoculars for our 9-yr-old daughter. She is an avid bird watcher. They are excellent for her needs. They are very clear and provide ample viewing range so that she can easily focus on what she is trying to see. She appreciates their size and that they are easy for her small hands to handle. We've used them so far in freezing snowy conditions and they remained clear. We like them so much, we are purchasing a second!

just right - 01/03/2012

by richard from san antonio texas

I wanted to buy a nice binocular for birding. the eagle optics info help was spot on. I bought the atlas optics radian 8x42. It is exactly what i needed. The light was brighter than any other binoculars i have had.
thanks for the advice
I love 'em

Wonderful binoculars! - 12/16/2011

by Robert from Massachusetts

I bought these as an upgrade from my cheap 8 x 21 pocket binocs. I'm glad I did. I did several weeks of research, both in brick and mortar stores and online. Although I had heard positive things about Eagle Optics I had never heard of Atlas Optics prior to finding the reviews on the Radians. I was cautious. But the large number of very positive reviews and the miniscule number of negative comments, plus the unbeatable guarantee, persuaded me.

The Radians are sturdy and all parts work smoothly. This is the first set of binocs that I've been able to use both with and without glasses; the adjustable eye relief works quite well and the diopter adjustment stays in place even after repeated returns to and extractions from the case. I've not experienced that with other binocs that I've tried, including some that were much more expensive.

Most importantly, the optics in these binocs are amazing. In very low light (nighttime with only walkway lights for illumination) I was able to see details on a flock of Canada geese gathered around a small pond. In all levels of light the color rendition and sharpness of the image are impressive. I could not detect any distortion. I'm very sensitive to color distortion, so much so that my optician knows I'll accept only a true gray lens in sunglasses.

In short, these binocs outperform many that are at least as expensive and some that are considerably more expensive.

Atlas Radian 8x42 comparision - 11/05/2011

by Phil from North Florida

I bought two pairs of these Atlas 8x42 binoculars to have as spares for us or visitors. They are entirely acceptable as binoculars for this purpose. I compared them to my wife's Nikon Monarch 8x42 (also from Eagle Optics), and my own Canon 10x30 IS binoculars. The Radians are very similar in feel to the Nikon; ergonomics of both are good. The strap is not as good as the Nikon strap. The Canon is distinctive in shape and feel, and it requires batteries. The Atlas bins have a slightly wider field of view, slightly darker image, and equal resolution (CoF) to the Nikon. I did not check edge resolution. They are good binoculars and very useable. They are somewhat brighter than the Canon IS, but it obviously provides much better, and much more "useable" detail, with a only slightly smaller FoV. All considered, for the price and warranty, these are an excellent binocular for a child, a beginning birder, or as a spare for non-birders, visitors, and accidents. Highly recommended for this purpose.

on sale for $100, there's nothing that can beat the value - 10/22/2011

by Renee from Alexandria, VA

I bought these on sale for $100 on Eagle Optics and they are everything you could want for that price. My go-to pair of binocs are the similar Nikon Monarchs (which I absolutely love). I wanted a back-up pair for friends and these Radian are fantastic. They're designed the exact same as the Monarchs (great for people that have eyes closer together than some binocs fit), and are slightly heavier, by about 2 oz. When comparing the optics, the Monarchs were slightly wider and brighter, but for $100, the Radian were extremely worth the value. A solid pair of binocs. I've only had them for a couple weeks, but I'm thrilled with the purchase already. I've bought inexpensive/affordable binocs before as backups, and they've never been usable. The Radian fit the bill and I'd be proud to use them as my go-to binocs if the situation presented itself.

Excellent value - 10/13/2011

by Tom from Columbus, Ohio

I've only owned these binocs for a short time, but I am very impressed with the quality for the money. I bow hunt and need to see objects in low light situations, and without the lenses fogging. These binocs are great. I looked at spending a lot more money until I saw all of the features offered on the Atlas 8x42. For $99, and a lifetime guarantee, what a bargain.

great binoculars - 10/12/2011

by David from Shreveport LA

I first purchased the 10x42 Atlas Radians and found them to be a great pair of utility binoculars for bird watching. I wanted to have 8x42s for my great nieces and nephews. They are novice binocular users and I thought that they would need a wider field of view for finding birds, etc. When I received the first pair of 8x42s, I knew they would work well for the kids (and for me when I'm searching for warblers). They are easy to focus, have close focus down to 6-7 feet, are bright, have good optics and are waterproof/fogproof. Since they are such a good deal, I have ordered several more to have enough for family outdoor adventures where everyone can have their own pair of binoculars.

Great pair of Binoculars! - 06/15/2011

by J. from Illinois

I purchased the Atlas Optics Radian 8x42 Binoculars for bird and wildlife veiwing. Since, this is my first pair of binoculars I read the reviews and found the price appealing. I am very satisfied with the purchase, the binoculars are easy to focus, provide a clear view in both distance and close up, are light weight and feel very sturdy. I am sure they will provide many years of viewing enjoyment.

A whole new view - 05/27/2011

by Susan from Bastrop Bayou, Angleton, Texas

We have lived on Bastrop Bayou for over a year now and have several pairs of binoculars, but I have never been able to enjoy the detail of the wildlife as well as with this new pair of Atlas Optics Radians. Whether I am focusing on birds on the decks and feeders near the house or alligators, herons and egrets across the bayou the view is sharp and clear. They have made all the difference in enjoying the local wildlife!!

Good product at a good price - 05/21/2011

by Lee from Lake Worth, FL

I was very pleased with the binoculars I recently purchased from Eagle Optics. The product exceeded my expectations at the price I paid. I am considering purchasing another pair just like it for my husband.

I can see clearly now - 04/22/2011

by burrhead from Missouri

I purchased these binoculars to bird with and they are perfect for that. I wear glasses so the feature of adjustable eye cups really help. The view is very clear and well lit. The only negative I have is that the information sheet was poorly written and was hard to understand. I guess they assume that everyone knows the how to do of a pair of binoculars.
I highly recommend these binoculars as they are well made and were an excellent price!

Great Quality Binocular - 04/17/2011

by Joline from Maine

The Atlas Optics Radian is a great quality binocular--an outstanding bargain for the price. I bought these as an extra pair for my husband and was pleasantly surprised with the brightness and clear views. A nice case was included with the purchase. I have always been very satisfied with all my Eagle Optics purchases. I highly recommend these binoculars.

Great Binoculars - 04/11/2011

by j utter from Washington state

This is an awesome binocular - it has all of the attributes that I looked for - large field of vision, clarity, ease of use, light weight, small, solid, powerful. Close up or long range viewing comes in crystal clear. I rate them a 10+ on a scale of 1 - 10 with 10 being the BEST.






birdwonderful - 03/28/2011

by cathie from flagler beach fla.

terrific just a begining bird ..love them...radain 8x42

Great right out of the box - 01/28/2011

by Ann from Springfield, MA

I can't believe what a great value these binoculars are! They were perfect right out of the box. The field of view is huge, and I'm able to go from mid to far very easily. I have myopia and astigmatism and a very high eyeglass prescription, so was surprised at how easily the binocs fit my eyes. Will be using them for birding, and can't wait for the spring migration.

A Radian Suprise - 01/11/2011

by David from Ontario Canada

Well the first thing you see is a plain white box,nothing fancy, but inside is a great bang for the buck.
The case is a well made clamshell style with a good stout zipper and the the bino sits in a nice pocket, rather like a Steiner case. This binocular itself is one of the great buys out there, no doubt in my mind that if this had a high end name on it , say Nikon or Pentax you would pay a lot more, Eagle optics deal with the factory direct, cut a middle man out, hence the saving.
Everything works as it should with smooth adjustments, the body is nicely finished, the views are crisp and clear, better in fact than another similar spec roof that I own and paid more for.
This will spend a lot of time around my neck, for the price I can,t think of anything better. Anyone looking for a nice roof for say around $200-225 should take a look at these instead and save a pile of money, highly recomended.

An excellent binocular. Period. - 12/26/2010

by Glenn from Pacifica, CA

I got these as a present for my wife that would be a comparable pair to my other new (more expensive) Vortex 8x42 Diamondbacks. I'm afraid to say that these are, in many subtle ways, better. And while the Vortex's (which I really like BTW) are about $70-80 more, they are so strongly challenged by these Atlases, that I would not hesitate to recommend the Atlas Optic Radians as a viable alternative.

The differences are all minor but noticeable in controlled A-B comparisons. The Atlas's are slightly shorter, have a slightly brighter rendition of white in dim inside light, tighter lens caps, a narrower field of view, a slightly easier turning focus knob, and a slightly farther near focus than the Diamondbacks.

I am really impressed for the difference in cost between the two. Of course, had I not seen the differences, they would be very subtle and not that noticeable in field. So my question is, if you can barely see the difference, why pay more for this value and quality? I highly recommend these.

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: