Free Shipping

Atlas Optics Radian 8x42 Binocular

BIN-AL-R38
Our Price: $129.99
List Price: $329.00
You Save: $199.01 (60%)
  • Customer Rating: (97 Reviews)
  • Shipping: Free Ground Shipping on orders over $50 to the 48 contiguous States

Availability: In Stock - Items usually ship within 24 hours

New Save 60% $129.99

Surrounding you with the radiant details essential for discovery, the Atlas Optics Radian features all the desired optical features needed to deliver impressive light transmission and color resolution. The wide field of view will impress you with edge-to-edge sharpness found in more expensive binoculars. Eagle Optics sweetens this already great value by providing the Eagle Optics Platinum Protection unlimited, unconditional lifetime warranty for the Atlas Optics Radian.

Optical Features
Fully Multi-coated Lenses Increase light transmission with multiple anti-reflective coatings on all air-to-glass surfaces.
Phase Correction Enhances resolution and contrast through roof prisms.
BaK-4 Prisms Optimize light transmission.
Construction Features
Roof Prisms Appreciated for a streamlined shape and durability.
Polycarbonate Body Is lightweight.
Rubber Armoring Provides a secure, non-slip grip.
Adjustable Eyecups Twist up and down for comfortable viewing with or without eyeglasses.
Center Focus Wheel Adjusts both binocular barrels at the same time.
Right Eye Diopter Adjusts for differences in a user's eyes. Located by the right eyepiece.
Tripod Adaptable Can be mounted using standard ¼-inch threading. Adapter sold separately.
Design Features
Waterproof Optics are sealed with O-rings to prevent moisture, dust, and debris from getting inside the binocular.
Fogproof Barrels are filled with nitrogen gas to inhibit internal fogging.
Magnification 8x
Objective Lens Diameter 42 mm
Field of View 375 feet/1000 yards
Eye Relief 17.5 mm
Close Focus 6.5 feet
Weight 23.0 ounces
Dimensions (HxW) 5.4 x 5.0 inches
Weatherproofing Waterproof/Fogproof
  • Rainguard
  • Tethered objective lens covers
  • Neck strap
  • Case

Total Reviews: 97

Average Rating:

Good product - 03/22/2016

by C G from Michigan

I am a novice birdwatcher so I did not want to spend a lot of money on binoculars. I was very satisfied with the clarity and sharpness. One problem though, I have close-set eyes and even when I folded the binoculars as far as I could, it was not enough. Also, the binocular case is next to impossible to get the glasses in and out.

Birding - 03/15/2016

by Mary Lou from NC

I am very pleased with the Atlas Binoculars. Easy to adjust for your eyes and quick and clear when adjusting for close or distance viewing. Light weight and nice size. Worth the price.

First "serious" binoculars - 03/10/2016

by Bob C. from Long Beach CA

I ordered the Atlas Optics Radian 8 x 42 after several days of on-line research. My primary needs centered on enjoying the lively activities of hummers, finches, jays, etc. around my patio feeders. In addition to much improve clarity compared to my older inexpensive pair, two features of special note are: (a) the very close minimum distance focus and (b) the comfortable use while wearing eye glasses. This turned out to be the right choice.

Atlas Optics Radian 8x42 Binocular - 02/02/2016

by Warren from Texas

My first binoculars over 30.00 and wow what a difference! They feel sturdy but not too heavy. I would not hesitate to recommend them to a friend.

WOW! - 01/03/2016

by Deborah S. from Watervliet NY

Ordered these binoculars as a gift for my husband, we both enjoy bird watching. The binoculars arrived fast and were very securely packaged. The sale pricing on this product fit my budget and I'm extremely pleased with the quality! We're enjoying watching the winter birds now and can't wait for spring & summer. I would highly recommend this product!!

Atlas Radian - 12/20/2015

by Fred A. from Florida U.S.A.

I have only had these a month. I found the optics to be good. They are a little heavy for their size and after only a week the trim around the left lens is coming off. Note: Eagle Optics contacted the customer and will be replacing the binocular.

Swapped for a Little More Magnification - 12/15/2015

by John J.E. from Portsmouth, NH

I exchanged my Atlas Radian 8X42 bought at Eagle Optics for an Eagle Optics 10X42, not because there was anything wrong with the Atlas, but because I wanted slightly more magnification. I remembered my Pentax 10X50 from years ago in Kenya, where the distances within the Rift Valley were vast with marvelous opportunities for viewing animals and birds. The problem was that the Pentax was really heavy and difficult to hold steady. I wanted what the Pentax could do but in a lighter format. Now I'm getting the same distance, sharpness, and color in a much more portable, beautifully designed Eagle Optics binocular. Service superior at Eagle too.

The Best Binocular for the Money anywhere! - 12/10/2015

by Dave L from Joshua Tree CA

I wanted a quality binocular for birding at the National Park and at Big Morongo Preserve, but I didn't want to spend too much. I could not have done better! The Atlas Radian 8x42 far exceeded expectations. I could not believe how bright and crisp the details were! I recently used a nice pair of Swarovski binoculars and I had a tough time justifying the added expense. The Atlas Radian is a quality respectable product. The numerous positive reviews are not just hype. These are great binos!

Fabulous Binocular for the Price! - 10/20/2015

by Amy G. from Santa Fe, NM

I had hoped to get a decent binocular for under $250, so I was thrilled to see the excellent reviews of the Atlas Radian 8x42—along with a price point of $130. These bins are every bit as good as other reviewers have stated, and I'll probably be buying a second pair to keep handy in the house to keep an eye on our birders. Good weight, great sighting, and they work beautifully for people with glasses.

Atlas Optics Radian 8x42 Binocular - 10/14/2015

by Jon from Los Angeles

Love these binos. Excellent clarity and light. The colors are some much more vibrant than my old pair of compact binos. Can not beat these for the price. Eagle Optics was great to deal with. Great website and very easy transaction, quick shipping , etc. Would not go anywhere else. Very happy.

EXACTLY what I needed! - 10/08/2015

by Dawn from Marietta, Ohio

I needed a binocular for my office windowsill—nothing fancy, nothing expensive—to show me the birds in the treetops 100 yards away. These bins will never be used outdoors, and only between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. They will never experience rain or granola bar crumbs or high humidity. These Atlas Radians are EXACTLY what I was looking for. The clarity is perfectly good; they're not too heavy; they focus easily; and they were exceedingly affordable. Thanks for the good advice, Tom, Adrian, and Ben! I'm grateful that you didn't try to up-sell. I am a very happy customer!

great purchase - 06/05/2015

by steve from illinois

wanted to take my birding to a new level but didn't have a lot of $ to spend. This was a great purchase. quality product. and a warranty, can't beat it. customer service was great too, if you have questions, don't hesitate to call them.

Great binoculars - 06/03/2015

by Linda from Saint Paul, Minnesota

I love my new binoculars. I enjoy birding, and these are just right for me because they have all the features I wanted and they were very reasonably priced. Couldn't ask for more!

Great! - 06/02/2015

by Cynthia D. from Florida

Finally treated myself to new binoculars for casual bird watching, and I really like them! I needed close up focus as well as distance, and these do a good job. Easy to focus.. They are a comfortable size, not too heavy.

I am glad I bought these binoculars - 06/02/2015

by Sally from Rhode Island

I bought these binoculars for birding. I am very happy with them. The view is very clear. I decided to buy them after reading the reviews.

Great Bins for the price - 05/30/2015

by Melodie from Marion, IN

Great bins for the money. Use them for birdwatching. Would recommend them to anyone. Did great even on an overcast day. Color and sharpness were very good.

Great Product!! - 05/25/2015

by Erica from New York

The binoculars I purchased were incredible. They got me comfortably through 2 weeks of an intensive field ornithology course and were easy to use and navigate for a first time birder. The optical quality was great; I did have to wipe down the optics often but that could have been my preference for complete clarity (comes with a re-usable wipe). The focus knob was easy to use. Thank-you for a great product!

Quality at a great price - 04/28/2015

by Elton C. from United States

I purchased these as a birthday gift for our 12 year old grand daughter who is interested in birding. My wife and I have Eagle optics 10 x 42 rangers. I think these are very comparable for the price.

Super value for the money. You won't be disappointed. - 03/03/2015

by Rick from Temecula

Highly recommend! Excellent quality, especially for the price. The image is crisp and clean, no spurious glows around the object being viewed. (I noticed this in my old, hi-quality binos only after comparing with the Atlas Optics Radian.)Reasonable weight. Special features: Comes with cup covers for front and rear lenses, a carrying case... plus focuses in on objects as close as 6 feet. Super value for the money. You won't be disappointed.

8x42 Binocs - 02/18/2015

by David from St Louis MO

The 8x42 Binocular - it's a workhorse binoc for birding. We discovered them through our high school - standard issue for all ornithology classes. Rugged, easy to use, crystal clear viewing. Great, solid instrument. Understandable why the high school selected this manufacturer. We bought two, based on school's recommendation.

Very satisfied customer - 01/11/2015

by Kathy from Florida

I am so pleased with my Atlas Radian 8 X 42 binoculars! Everything about my experience with Eagle Optics has been exceptional. I was looking for a spare pair of binoculars in the $100 range. I am an intermediate birder on a budget. I also teach middle school students and take them on monthly birding walks and I wanted an extra pair that were student friendly. These binoculars have exceeded my expectations! The person I spoke to at Eagle prior to ordering was so helpful and recommended these Atlas binoculars . I love these bins! They are easy to focus , light weight and give me a great view. They are an excellent value for the price.

Project FeederWatch - 01/06/2015

by Elizabeth O. from Staten Island, NY

These binocs have enhanced my feeder watching. The up close focus is way better than my old ones.

Thanks - 12/27/2014

by Barbara C. from Montello

I purchased these binoculars for my husband on the advice of a friend, Daryl. My husband used them yesterday on a hike and was MOST pleased. He said he could even see the individual needles on branches. And, was able to spot birds much more quickly, without removing his eyeglasses. Daryl had said this was a big feature.

So, THANK YOU!
Sincerely,
Barbara C.

good binos - 12/20/2014

by orv from Va

Very sharp view, excellent value

Excellent value for beginning birders. - 12/10/2014

by Trinidad R. from Pittsburgh, PA

Since Eagle Optics was out of an Celestron 8x42 I originally wanted, they suggested these instead. I'm quite happy with them and couldn't tell the difference in quality between these and a Celestron 8X32. I got them for a great price, and I love them. Some off-lighting issues every once in a while (I don't know the technical term) that doesn't interfere with my birding. Easily adjustable for my eyeglasses. Not heavy and can hold them still without tiring (have gone on all-afternoon birding sessions). Smooth focusing mechanism for near or far sighting. Lens covers are attached to the binocs or through the strap. A nice protective case, too. A good investment for beginning birders and will still be useful when you're ready to upgrade. Great customer service by Eagle Optics, too. Glad I went for the x42 instead of the x32. Would I buy them at their full price of $300? Not on my budget. But with a good sale, I think beginning birders will find this to be a good investment. My plan is to save up for good camera equipment for birding.

Christmas present - 12/07/2014

by Brian J. from Kent, Ohio

good gift

Excellent - 12/02/2014

by JR from Texas

This is the best binocular that I have ever owned, anywhere close to the price that I purchased this pair for. These 8x42 Radian's are clear, easy to focus, built well & have the only snap on objective lens caps I have used....that really stays snapped on. I have owned & used binoculars that cost 2-3 times the price of this one, that are outshined by this 8x42 Radian. Very good value, & the best quality that most people will ever need. Liked my first one so much, I ordered another pair. For the price & quality, you can't beat it.

Very happy with our Radian binoculars - 11/26/2014

by Steve from Massachusetts

We are casual binocular users but after using several different inexpensive types over the years I decided to try to find a good quality pair for a reasonable price. I did all the research, learning about binocular characteristics on the Eagle website as well as 4-5 others, mostly related to birding as the 8x42 is very popular for that purpose. We've had these for a few weeks now and are very happy with them. The magnification and brightness are very good, allowing us to see deep into the trees behind our house to watch for wildlife. The field of view is just right for our needs.

We have a bird feeder 10-12 feet from the house so getting a nice, clear closeup of the songbirds has been a treat. We are not birding experts, but what we thought was a Fox Sparrow was really a White-throated Sparrow thanks to the clear close-up provided by the Radians. And we are very happy with the eye relief - we both wear glasses and we're able to have a full view at the same setting. There are no local stores to check out optics so we're glad we were able to find a nice pair online. The 30-day money back guarantee and lifetime warranty sealed the deal.

Atlas Optics 8x42 Binocular - 10/14/2014

by David B. from St Louis MO

IF.... you're looking for a good, solid quality binocular with a great price point, strongly consider the Atlas Optics Radian 8x42. Our high school has made these standard issue for the ornithology class. Reliable, excellent optics, very rugged. For these reasons, Eagle Optics is a great purchase!

Sturdy Optics - 08/29/2014

by David F from Washington

Pros: Sturdy, well constructed binoculars. All movement is smooth and controlled. Great clarity and easy focus, I'm using for bird watching and the definition is first rate.
Cons: I find they are a bit narrow for my big head so I have to have them positioned correctly to be able to see out of both eyes. I also haven't been able to use them with my glasses on effectively, not a major concern as the independent focus allows me to compensate.
Others: These are weighty, surprising so on first use.

What customers are saying about Eagle Optics: